We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2009

This hotel is quite a find. I am fortunate enough to have travelled extensively, and can readily appreciate that it is the little things which differentiate the excellent from the mediocre. All too often hotels merely go through the motions, aiming to impress on a superficial level. True hospitality requires a more ambitious scope, which this hotel clearly embraces. In the same manner that a memorable dish requires careful preparation, a warm welcoming environment is a product of meticulous planning and a deep seated understanding of knowing what your clients value.

All this pays off in the result: welcoming common areas lead to a well appointed room, airy, simple yet charming in a way which seems to elude minimalist designs. Comfortable bed, high quality linen, bathroom fixtures etc - in other words the money has been spent where it counts and where others are tempted to cut corners. Spotlessly clean (even the top of the door is dusted - I checked!).

The dining is exceptional. Choice ingredients, locally sourced (again the attention to detail), expertly put together to produce a dining experience that will last long in the memory. Not a 'cheap' option, but exceptional value for money for the quality on offer. You can pay twice as much in other (sometimes ludicrously pretentious) establishments and not even get close to matching what this kitchen is capable of turning out. I would recommend you try this restaurant even if not staying at the hotel but are in the vicinity - it is that good, and repeat local business is testament to that. Service is genuinely friendly, but unobtrusive, Excellent breakfast by the way.

Finally a word on the manager. Some have commented on him coming across a trifle brusque. I found him pleasant, efficient and self-assured. He is clearly no fool, and perhaps won't suffer any gladly, and to some this 'intellectual' character type can be misinterpreted as being 'difficult'. I find it refreshingly honest and straightforward. I can't comment on his willingness to sort out problems, because in my case there were none.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank speedbirdone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 716 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2009

We booked a family room at the Royal Sportsman Hotel for my brother in laws wedding.

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome and the staff were lovely.

We had a family room of a double bed and bunkbeds. The room was lovely and clean and warm with everything you need from a cup of tea and telly to a warm shower and room service.

The food at the Sportmans is fantastic. They use local produce and the 'Chefs Special' breakfast is amazing. You must try it.

This was our first taste of North Wales and after our visit here . it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luckylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend break at this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our garden room was clean and comfortable (if a little too cool for November!) We were made to feel very welcome and the food was really good. We had booked bed and breakfast for 2 nights with the evening meal on the first night but were so impressed with the food we ate there again on the second night. Breakfast was also a treat. I believe that the restaurant is due to be re-furbished soon and it is in need of doing. Overall a very positive experience and would recommend for food and location to anyone wishing ti visit the area.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthWalesDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We only had dinner in the restaurant at this hotel, and it was rather disapointing. For the prices they charge you would expect something special, but our starters were awful (the soup was like dishwater), the main courses average, and the desserts were poor. Add to this that the place had no atmosphere whatsoever - the dining room was a throwback to the chintz days of the 80's and the lighting was on full - it made what should have been a special evening for a birthday rather flat and a let down. For good food and a friendly, cosy atmosphere, go down the road to the Golden Fleece at Tremadog.

Stayed: October 2008
5  Thank PrettyKitty1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

This is a very comfortable hotel and the largest in Porthmadog. The facilities are excellent, particularly the annexe bedrooms. However, there is no lift to upper floors. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the food is excellent but the restaurant menu is a little expensive. For those who like a drink in the bar, the bar prices are very competitive. Overall this is an excellent hotel with friendly staff and excellent food. Your stay will be a very pleasant one indeed.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Greenhoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

We recently spent 6 days here. It was clear from the outset that the policy of this family owned hotel was to make their visitors feel like honoured and valued guests.We were so well cared for at all times.My husband is disabled and our ground floor room was ideal- quiet, spacious, very clean and off a delightful covered patio area, bright with tumbling geraniums and very near to the covered car park. The beds were very comfortable with good quality Egyptian cotton linen, the towels white, fluffy and abundant. Breakfasts were exceptionally good with an extensive buffet, home-made bread and preserves and beautifully cooked grilled items. The evening meals were superb, expertly cooked using good quality locally sourced ingredients. We particularly enjoyed the mushrooms in a creamy bacon and garlic sauce and we would have had the chocolate brulee every night had it been on the menu. It is obvious that the staff here are well treated and happy in their work and this reflects in their cheerful, good natured attention to their guests. We would unreservedly recommend this hotel to anyone. Neil and Celia Picken

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickenswolstanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Good standard, comfortable hotel in an area where such hotels are rare. The rooms are a good size and well furnished and fitted. The bar is busy and buzzing. The food in the restaurant is well prepared and includes a lot of local produce. For a bunch of golfers in a wet week, the drying room was a godsend. The highlight was the staff who are very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pennpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,507 reviews
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
302 reviews
15.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,345 reviews
13 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range: $103 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing