We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Literally one of the best hotel stays ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here for two nights with extended family. Altogether we had five rooms (all in the courtyard). At the age of 54 I am fortunate to have stayed in hotels and b&bs on numerous occasions (work and pleasure), all over the world. For service, this was second to none from reception staff to catering staff to cleaning staff - all friendly, helpful, courteous and efficient. The meals (including dinner) were superb. The bedrooms were spacious, clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. My opinions are shared by all family members that stayed. Ok, it's a bit dated in parts (woodchip in bar) but if you can see past this then you should have a great stay. Besides I'm sure this aspect was reflected in the price as the rates were excellent value for money. Overall, I cannot praise this hotel enough, nor recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Wow, what can we say but thanks!!!
Yes we remember this family fondly. They really joined in the home-from-home character of this place!
"Service among the best enjoyed in the world; superb breakfasts and dinners; and our new beds among most comfortable ever slept in!" We agree.
We are keen to retain the bar's traditional character during a modernisation process, while also keeping our prices/rates extremely competitive and excellent value for money.
We are thrilled to receive this reviewers highest praise and recommendation, and really look forward to even more of their family staying next time. . !
See on our Facebook or hotel website pages just how much the Gould family from Somerset love coming here every year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 719 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The food is outstanding. The roast beef and Eton mess I can highly recommend. The barman was a great character. Lovely experience. Dogs are very welcome. The reception lady showed us to the court yard. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank JagJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you so much for this, just what we love to hear!
An outstanding lunch (on Fathers Day), welcoming and helpful staff who go the extra mile for customers/guests - and especially their dogs - and a great experience overall! Hope you were offered - and if not please apply for - our free-and-forever Privilege Loyalty Card, so when you return you get 10% off our food!
Also many thanks to this reviewer for putting the same on our hotel Facebook page, and for liking us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed for one night, thank god we hadn't booked for longer. First, the car park was full, so we were instructed to park up the road outside a derelict cinema (with a bunch of teenagers sitting on the steps) and move the car early in the morning. The checking in staff were ok. The courtyard was very pretty. The room though, was painted a dreadful shade of pink, on anaglypta, with all the electrics on the outside in trunking. Depressing. Bathroom was clean, but they only left one towel for 2 people. Yes, I could have complained to reception, but this lack of detail should be obvious without people asking for the basics.

We walked up the road looking for a place to eat, and it is really the most depressing town ever. Nothing was open. We stopped by a pub, and were the only ones in there for 2 hours. Depressing. Back to the hotel to eat. I had steak, which wasn't cheap (£20) and it had tons of fat on it. Horrible. My fella had pie, which he enjoyed immensely.

The bed was like sleeping on concrete, and the pillows made of the same stuff. But it was clean. Neither of us slept well due to other guests greeting each other loudly in the courtyard.

We had to get breakfast there, as we were worried that there wouldn't be anywhere else. It was £10 and the usual cold buffet was available. The full Welsh had one sausage, one tiny bit of bacon, one dried up fried egg, a mushroom, and a spoon of beans. No button mushrooms as advertised on the menu. Definitely not worth £10.

We got the bill, and found that we had been tricked by booking.com into thinking we'd got a cheaper late booking. The person on reception told us to never use companies like that, as they are usually more expensive. Why do they use them then? On the way out, I noticed the bar tarrif, white wine £2.90, on my bill I had been charged £6.

Other than the nice flowers in the courtyard, I am struggling to find positives here. I know the horrible little town isn't their fault, but hey ho! We won't be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anney-marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Car parking: all our listings, information and terms/conditions state very clearly that hotel parking is limited and first-come first-served, except for those with walking difficulties. We would have advised this couple of other free and safe places to park such as the old cinema where we know people can stay all day without moving early in the morning.

Room: decoration is a matter of taste and again all our information states this is a traditional building with no pretensions of being modern or boutique. Re the towel, if housekeeping made a mistake we are sorry; and a simple request – rather than a complaint – to have another is easily remedied. Beds can either be too soft, too hard (but‘concrete’?) or just right for most guests –again it’s a matter of taste.

Food: we advise all guests to have evening dinner with us – especially midweek and out-of-season - as we are aware other town pubs/restaurants may be closed. Remarks about the town being the most depressing ever can be viewed as a gross exaggeration or a misrepresentation when compared to the vast majority of positive reviews.

Regarding our steak, we doubt our 2 AA Rosette chef would accept one with “tons of fat” from our butchers, let alone serve it. Again, ask for a replacement?

Breakfast: ours are usually very highly-commended by the vast majority of reviewers– especially those who pay less for it by booking B&B direct with us. If it was lacking on this occasion, again we are sorry and a simple request would have resolved it.

Bill & Wine: ‘Tricked by a third-party agency into not getting a cheaper deal’. We advise all agency-referred guests on arrival to book direct next time – unless they have a special arrangement with said agencies or no other alternative – because our rate includes breakfast and no commission nor card fee.

Regarding the wine, our tariff for 125ml is £2.90 - but £6 on this guest’s bill was for 250ml.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Friendly staff, good breakfasts with attentive staff in the dining room, warm comfortable room, good beds and large fluffy towels!

However our room was situated above the Gelerts Bar which was a problem around 11.30pm each night when the bar staff were obviously clearing up - a lot of banging and crashing which lasted about half an hour. Also if the bar was busy we could hear everything.

Our last breakfast time was different - change of staff in the dining room and, we think, change of chef in the kitchen.

Room Tip: Avoid room above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

We are pleased to hear that you found your room comfortable, warm and the beds good too. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the travelling noise from our bar and we will take this into consideration.
Breakfast during the week is severed between 7.30am-9am and during the weekends the timings are 8am-9.30am (allowing guests the option of a leisurely start). A change of chefs would not affect this. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and found staff attentive.
We do hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in room 3. This is in a courtyard which is covered and easily reached from the outside. There is undercover parking at the side of the building from where you can carry luggage etc without problem. It is such a good idea. Booking in was painless and quick. From the reception to our room was easy to find. The corridor has floral displays and is light and airy. There's an outside area enclosed with tables where smokers can sit . Our room was beautifully decorated and spacious, it was a family room. There was a door which we discovered led to a small outside patio with table and chairs, each separated by a small wooden wall for privacy. The view from this room was walled and fenced but you could see and hear from the buildings beyond. The beds had wooden headboards that squeaked at every movement it was annoying the first night but hardly noticeable the 2nd. We ate in the restaurant the first night. The meals are small and pricey but I think they are going for quality rather than quantity. However the 2nd night the meat was very undercooked and I had to return it to the kitchen. I had the same as the previous night so knew the difference. The waiter took it away discretely and brought it back cooked perfectly. I have now lost my taste for lamb though and couldn't face breakfast the next morning. The meal deal was very confusing it is £30 per person per night, It's a nice place to stay, a bit over priced and after the meal problem we were still charged full price for it and the breakfasts we didn't eat. Porthmadog is lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for your overall good review and I do remember speaking with you both (lovely guests). People do very much like all our courtyard rooms, as mentioned with easy access from the car park. With the food, we aim to have the best quality whilst ensuring the portions are to a good size.
I was sorry to hear about your lamb, but pleased to hear it was rectified straight away. Being on a voucher package it was difficult for us to do anything about the breakfast that you missed. Porthmadog is lovely and promoted as the gateway town to Snowdonia. Tourists staying with us are able to benefit by using our money off vouchers to the local attractions throughout the year.
We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stopped here for a bit of lunch today, what a great choice, food was lovely, my broccoli soup was the best I have ever had, and I am 60+ yrs old....the barman was excellent, knew his stuff and efficient, a credit to this establishment.....thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWILBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

We are glad you found us. Thank you for your praise on the food being ‘the best you have ever had’ we will be sure to pass your comments on to our chefs and kitchen staff, as with your comments for our barman too!
We do hope you stop by if in the area again, perhaps to sample the other offerings on our menus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My wife & I spent 3 nights here with a group of friends last week, and although first impressions were a little unimpressive, we had a very good time and were well looked after. The owners have done their best to improve and update an old building and the result is a very comfortable hotel which produces some excellent food.
We had a large and well appointed room at the front of the hotel, which meant that we faced a busy main road. With the windows closed we barely heard the traffic, but if, like us, you like a little ventilation at night the noise of lorries passing is a nuisance. The bathroom was large and well modernised, but the water pressure for the shower was poor.
The hotel prides itself on its food and rightly so. Breakfasts were outstanding, with excellent choice and everything cooked freshly to order.
Evening meals included some outstanding dishes (the lamb got universal approval, as did the liver) though given the prices, charging extra for veg seemed a bit much. It would have been good to see a salad or two offered as a "main".
Staff were friendly and cheerful and we would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for your review of your break at the Royal Sportsman.

We are glad to have exceeded your expectations, that you had a good time, felt well looked after and found your stay a comfortable one.

The hotel is centrally located to many of the attractions that Snowdonia has to offer.

It is great to hear you enjoyed our food and will be pleased to hear our new menu has launched this week which can be found on our website, as we continue to aim to provide the best we can offer.

We do hope you chose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,525 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
15.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,363 reviews
13 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range: $105 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing