We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed September 22, 2008

This is a very comfortable hotel and the largest in Porthmadog. The facilities are excellent, particularly the annexe bedrooms. However, there is no lift to upper floors. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the food is excellent but the restaurant menu is a little expensive. For those who like a drink in the bar, the bar prices are very competitive. Overall this is an excellent hotel with friendly staff and excellent food. Your stay will be a very pleasant one indeed.

  • Liked — The food
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Greenhoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    253
    89
    27
    23
See reviews for
94
326
43
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Staffs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2008

We recently spent 6 days here. It was clear from the outset that the policy of this family owned hotel was to make their visitors feel like honoured and valued guests.We were so well cared for at all times.My husband is disabled and our ground floor room was ideal- quiet, spacious, very clean and off a delightful covered patio area, bright with tumbling geraniums and very near to the covered car park. The beds were very comfortable with good quality Egyptian cotton linen, the towels white, fluffy and abundant. Breakfasts were exceptionally good with an extensive buffet, home-made bread and preserves and beautifully cooked grilled items. The evening meals were superb, expertly cooked using good quality locally sourced ingredients. We particularly enjoyed the mushrooms in a creamy bacon and garlic sauce and we would have had the chocolate brulee every night had it been on the menu. It is obvious that the staff here are well treated and happy in their work and this reflects in their cheerful, good natured attention to their guests. We would unreservedly recommend this hotel to anyone. Neil and Celia Picken

  • Liked — The superb care and attention.
  • Disliked — Can't thik of anything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickenswolstanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Good standard, comfortable hotel in an area where such hotels are rare. The rooms are a good size and well furnished and fitted. The bar is busy and buzzing. The food in the restaurant is well prepared and includes a lot of local produce. For a bunch of golfers in a wet week, the drying room was a godsend. The highlight was the staff who are very friendly and efficient.

  • Liked — Friendly, efficient staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Porthmadog is an ideal location from which to explore N. Wales and The Sportsman Hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Porthmadog.
The first point of contact was the covered hotel garage which was a lovely surprise.
The hotel itself achieves old world charm with modern convenience - we've never had so many towels!
All the staff made us feel welcome and the cuisine was outstanding.
North Wales was the last sector of a round Britain coast retirement project and so we've had plenty of experience of British coastal hotels. We certainly left the best until last.

  • Liked — Service and food
  • Disliked — Limited Real Ales in bar
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank S_DevonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERTFORDSHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We have just spent 3 enjoyable days at the Sportsman Hotel, Porthmadog.
To say we were pleasantly surprised would be an injustice. From the very first friendly greeting when we checked in to the painless settling of the account this is some Hotel. A family hotel with real value for money and old fashioned service at the heart of their business.
The restaurant served food the like we have not enjoyed for many years, the rooms comfortable and homely and the bar prices for once not taking advantage of customers unwilling to wander the town looking for a cheap price.
We enjoyed a 3 day all inclusive deal and found a genuine bargain.
" This hotel exceeded our expectations and we could not fault it in any way"

  • Liked — The Food
  • Disliked — No lift
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DandKHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Hotel had very creeky floor boards in all 4 bed rooms I stayed in. The service was VERY slow and we ended up waiting up to an hour before having dinner.

Breakfast was ok, what we ordered we got but as said in previous revue was blocked cooked so food quite dry.

Staff were either very helpful or very negative. Manager very knowledgable but sometimes very bossy.

I used this hotel for business and the facilities available to me where not comfortable.

Bar prices were quite expensive and broadband was restricted to the bar area only.

  • Liked — location, leaving behind
  • Disliked — expensive, old, rude staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

A group of 16 golfers stayed here for 3 nights in July 08 and found all the rooms to be clean and tidy. The food was superb, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,423 reviews
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
283 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Property: Royal Sportsman Hotel
Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing