We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Period Hotel with Exceptional Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Good Period Hotel with Exceptional Food”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed in a larger family room which was both comfortable and spacious. New bed, pillows, duvet, carpet and bathroom; exceptionally clean throughout

Staff all very friendly and welcoming and many nice new touches since my last visit.
Breakfast was excellent and dinner on one night included local Welsh Lamb and Belly Pork which was exceptional in presentation and taste. For the quality, I thought the prices were cheap!

A highly recommended hotel for those that appreciate good food and service but not for cheapskates.

Room Tip: A larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tulcea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay, we are glad to hear you found it comfortable and the food exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    253
    91
    27
    23
See reviews for
95
331
43
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of December in a small double as part of a KGB deal. The bedroom was clean and adequate in size and the shower room quite tight for space. My partner, who is a rugby type couldn't fit his shoulders between the shower and the wall to properly shave in the morning, but once I discussed this with a house keeper, who in turn told the manager, he quickly got on the phone to me and offered us a free upgrade to a larger room. This room was great and the manager and his staff so friendly, we were very grateful for his concern. We ate in the hotel one night and were impressed with the quality of the food, although I did feel it was quite expensive. Maybe offering a fixed 2 or 3 course menu with a fixed price might be a better incentive for diners. All in all we were happy with our stay and reckoned it was great value for money with the deal we got. It is also very handy for walking straight into the town. A big thank you to all the staf for being so caring and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saralg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
We were glad to be able to help with your genuine need and very pleased to hear you were impressed with the food from our AA Rosette menu. We do hope you chose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This is an old hotel with terrible 70s decor. Some of the rooms are ok with fresh bathrooms and flatscreen tv, but god help you if you get an old one, the bar is a bit agricultural, we did not sample the food. The room was cheap tho but had i have known i would have spent a bit more. Sorry sportsman you need some tlc.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Royal Sportsman Hotel is a period building dating from 1862 that has been and continues to be maintained to a very high standard with dedicated maintenance staff. All 28 rooms are fitted to the exact same finish as advertised on the website with 28 newly installed en-suite bathrooms.
This exacting standard is maintained throughout the hotel with annual inspections carried out by AA and Visit Wales. The last AA inspection carried out in August and Visit Wales in November both placing the hotel in extremely favourable light.

You really should have tried the AA 2 Rosette menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

For this price we weren't expecting anything special and we were very impressed by the effort the friendly and professional staff made. Some of the reviews below are very 'interesting'. Surely if you take advantage of 'a deal' you should anticipate slips of paper determining your entitlements; it took all of 50 seconds to issue ours. The Chef makes a good effort with the Rosette menu, but if you know in advance you don't like this level of food... Well, stands to reason, doesn't it?! And if you don't like chewy bits in rib-eye steak, I think the secret is to avoid rib-eye steak altogether. I don't need to point out that every steak us different, and because one steak is disappointing... I suspect some of these comments are born of disappointed clients looking for negatives, but then I also suspect these clients' expectations may have been too high. Whatever, as I say, our experience was fine. Lovely staff at all levels did all they could to make us comfortable. Our courtyard room wasn't large, but we didn't expect to hold a dance; the shower-room was small, and the shelf over the tiny hand basin made it almost impossible to use the latter, but it was only for two nights. The insubstantial fabric of the rear building gave us the feeling that we were in one of a pile of packing cases, with little soundproofing, but this isn't a haunt of 'ravers' and this won't be a problem unless you retire especially early or rise particularly late. All in all, as it say, it was fine. The bar was so welcoming and filled with friendly locals that we dined here both evenings. The food is a bit heavy, but the menu is imaginative and there's plenty of choice. The real joy for me was our first breakfast: we sat down at 9.40 and were told they stop serving cooked breakfast at 9.30. This is stated quite clearly on the hotel's literature and we missed it, so fair enough! No call for complaint. But we must have looked crestfallen because the waiter ducked into the kitchen and returned just a moment later: "Is that the full Welsh breakfast you want?" It's things like this, the helpful manner of reception staff and the cheerful 'nothing's too much trouble' approach of the bar staff that make up for shortfalls elsewhere. This hotel would have been grand of its type in its heyday, a stylish 'commercial hotel', but the building is now dated and nothing can change that. However all the staff went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable and we did begin to feel quite at home. And this, let's face it, is an impression one finds only rarely in hotels these days.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are pleased to hear about the level of customer service you received and that you found your stay with us comfortable.
On booking a room there are three sizes of double rooms. You are able to chose the smaller double, as you did, with the option to go for a larger double (more ample in size) and the substantially larger family rooms, which accommodate a family of four. The larger rooms come with a bath and shower.
We do hope you chose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Spent 2 nights here during half term. Should have been 3 but we'd had enough! Courtyard room was small, and smelt strongly of disinfectant. We'd spent a fair amount of time booking in being given a handful of slips of paper for breakfast, dinner, a bottle of wine with dinner if we had so many courses, a list of do's and don'ts, do we want to book local activites, etc etc. Every money making scheme that could be thought of. However the food was very good -- if quite expensive - but the quality of the surroundings in no way lived up to the quality of the food. A very disappointing few days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alibar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
As far as we are aware, these guests had a 2-night special break voucher - including a dinner, complimentary bottles of house wine, 10% off the second nights' dinner, and some exclusive money-off vouchers to nearby visitor attractions - and inquired about staying for a third night. So they did not book and then 'leave early' as implied. We do our utmost to ensure guests on special offers get the very most from their stay here, while keeping our welcome and check-in as short as is necessary: simply highlighting only the key points on their welcome card, such as health and safety and dining arrangements. Just goes to show you cannot please everyone all of the time. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had a 1 night stay last week at the Royal Sportsmans. My friends both use wheelchairs and they were allocated room 3 and they were delighted with it. The handy car parking space was ideal too. A friendly greeting, comfortable rooms, good food and a central location in Porthmadog, what more can you ask for? The hotel also helped us a book our trip on the Ffestiniog Railway. The short stay went exceedingly well and we will return to the Sportsmans for a longer stay in the future. The Moose was well received too.
Don Reeve

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don_reeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We particularly welcome feedback from guests who have special requirements because we really do like to go the extra mile for those who genuinely have struggles in life. These guests really appreciated our facilities and services, made the most of places to visit in the area, and were a pleasure to deal with. We sincerely hope they will return as soon as they can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon and Peterborough, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I took my wife to this hotel as an anniversary trip. The hotel needs to be brought up to date a bit. the room was decent but much like a Travel Lodge room to be honest, there was nothing special about it to warrant the price paid for it. although i must admit the bathroom was a really decent size and had a 'over the bath' shower. there was some sealant missing from around the bath and the side panel kept falling off, but i forgot to mention this to the hotel staff. we were on the third floor and there are no lifts, so, we had to hike to the top with our luggage, with no offer of help at all from the staff. when we arrived the person beind the counter seemed a little perplexed that i wanted to pay cash, so i offered to pay in advance if that would suit, it seemed to so i was happy. the resturant was nothing special to look at, but the food although very very good, was not really to our liking as we don't eat all this rosette style food, but as i say the food we did order was excellent and tasty. The breakfast was very good too, there was a choice of cereals and fruits, yoghurts and croissants etc and a vast array of hot food on the menu, i highly recommend the Full Welsh Cooked Breakfast. I do not however recommend the rib eye steak, it was tough and full of gristle. All-in-all a very nice hotel but i have given it an average rating as i didn't think it was worth the money i paid. £150 per person per night although that included £30 per person per night to use in the restaurant for the evening meal. even at £120 pppn was, in my opinion, too expensive for this hotel. The restaurant staff were very friendly, smart and helpful. Didn't really see anyone else!! The area is wonderful and the hotel is fairly central to places like Portmerion, Snowdonia, Swallow Falls, Betwys-a-Coed etc..

Room Tip: Take one of the new rooms on the ground floor if you can, they look better from the outside, but be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Inspection of all rooms is carried out daily by our AA inspection praised housekeeping team. Management inspection carried out today could not identify any fault with any bath panels. Full installation of all our new bathrooms was only completed in April of this year.

The hotel has a second floor and as part of our check in all guests are asked if they require help with their luggage, if this was not mentioned on your arrival a member of our delightful team would have been more than happy to help with a request.

We feel the package of £240 for 2 nights for 2 people is excellent value for money. It includes 1 night dinner in our restaurant with food cooked by our AA 3 rosette chef, all at a cost of just £60 per person per night. So the price mentioned in the review is incorrect.

Thank you for commenting that all-in-all the hotel was very nice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,441 reviews
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
285 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
13.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Property: Royal Sportsman Hotel
Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing