We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Caerwylan Hotel(Criccieth)
$162
$157
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
$139
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George IV Hotel(Criccieth)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Y Branwen(Harlech)
$111
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ty Mawr Hotel(Llanbedr)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Royal Goat Hotel(Beddgelert)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveler rating
314
268
101
28
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
268
101
28
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomcovered car parkexcellent foodno liftunder coverlocal producefamily roomboth nightslambcomfortable hotelpienorth waleshigh streetcooked breakfastthe welsh highland railwaycooked to perfectiontwo night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 734 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We only stayed 1 night, but would definitely have stayed longer if we'd had the time. Great location right in the centre of town, within easy walking distance of the Railway station and all attractions. Rooms are warm, cosy and spotlessly clean, and prices are cheaper than many of the surrounding accommodation options. Our experience was made all the more enjoyable due to the friendly and helpful staff. The manager Louis really went out of his way to help us when we lost our car keys, and even let us keep our car in the hotel carpark after we'd checked out so we could more fully enjoy our day. I'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just a 3-night break. We know the area quite well, but the hotel was new to us. We enjoyed our stay very much, and certainly plan to return.
The room was big, warm and very pleasant. The bathroom was well-appointed and much larger than most en-suite conversions. Staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming.
But the food was really excellent. The March menu may appear short, but there was a good variety, and the presentation and service were first rate. How nice to use crisp white tablecloths and napkins, and how pleasant to receive trained professional service.

Room Tip: Book by telephone, and ask!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Two_SeniorsIlkeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Due to snow, we stayed one night at the hotel. The bedroom was large, very comfortable, warm, and all the staff - from the waiters to the general manager - were extremely helpful and pleasant. We also had an excellent anniversary meal at the Hotel and thought the quality of the locally sourced food on the 2 rosette menu was superb. The cheaper dinner menu and choice at breakfast was very good too. We would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fran t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Comfortable and friendly hotel with good facilities. Well placed for exploring a large area of North Wales and good value for money.
Our room was cold on arrival - as though it had been empty for a while, and it was March - but the receptionist quickly provided an electric blower to supplement the central heating radiators. The room was warm by the time we returned an hour later and an engineer next morning checked to make sure all was well.
Our room in the main building had been refurbished 8 weeks earlier and so was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkie963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel, was clean, the staff were very friendly, the food was excellent, but a little too pricey! We stayed in one of the courtyard rooms, it was very small, the pillows were too thin, it was just worth the £45.00 a night that we paid, but in peak season it looked like they were charging double that, which is too pricey.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms walls very thin!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayneNrMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews