We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Caerwylan Hotel(Criccieth)
$162
$157
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
$139
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George IV Hotel(Criccieth)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Y Branwen(Harlech)
$111
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ty Mawr Hotel(Llanbedr)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Royal Goat Hotel(Beddgelert)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveler rating
314
268
101
28
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
268
101
28
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomcovered car parkexcellent foodno liftunder coverlocal producefamily roomboth nightslambcomfortable hotelpienorth waleshigh streetcooked breakfastthe welsh highland railwaycooked to perfectiontwo night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 734 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

clean and tidy and does what it says on the can, the room was basic, what i did notice was not once did i hear a welsh accent from a member of the hotel staff, which was strange with the high unemployment in the town. but all in all a safe bet. just overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterpan4477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Warm and informative reception on arrival , was a problem with the booking through money supermarket but this was quickly resolved by the owner.
Room a bit on the small side, and long way from main reception, and the bathroom a bit small to manoeuvre , we also found the bed to be noisy and not very comfortable.
The food was excellent and the best breakfast I've had for a long time , couldn't stop eating the lovely home made bread and marmalade . Word of warning........... If you fancy trying the home made pie don't have the gorgeous soup starter, or it will be a challenge. Never seen such a large pie for one person. The eating area was lovely when the fire was lit, very cosy.good location lovely part of the country to visit, countryside very pretty, hope to return again in the summer

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillyjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

well a hundred years ago as a thriving Victorian holiday destination maybe I'd have expected Porthmadog to have an excellent hotel, but honestly in 2013 it was a pleasant surprise. The restaurant especially rewarded our fairly basic menu choices with truly lovely food, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We'd chosen the smallest double room which was well appointed and quite adequate despite sharing it with our two labradors. Well impressed - very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have just returned from our weekend away at the Royal Sportsman, Porthmadoc. I can really recommend the evening meals, which were served in the lounge, alongside a wonderful log fire. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, attentive but not fussing. The small double room was modern and sufficient for out needs, and the breakfast was the best we have ever had away. The healthy option we had on the first day, was extensive and very enjoyable, the second morning we thought we should try the cooked breakfast which certainly didn't dissapoint, although we did have to walk it off afterwards!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A return visit to this excellent and distinctive hotel surpassed our high expectations.

Staying for a wet winter weekend, we found roaring log fires and a warm welcome - and the food was outstanding, from breakfasts with freshly prepared fruit and and beautifully cooked and original hot food (try the 'special') - to evening meals which amply justified the hotel's reputation for excellence. Our courtyard room was cosy and had a newly refurbished bathroom, and its location on what felt like a mediterranean terrace fitted the idiosyncratic quality of this interesting hotel. Every one of the staff, from owner to restaurant and bar staff, was helpful and thoughtful - from the smile of the breakfast waitress, to the barman who lit the log fire for us in the lounge.

Staying on a winter offer, we visited Portmeirion on an unexpectedly sunny Sunday (using a discount voucher provided by the Hotel) to discover that the garden walks have been refurbished. And with its new bypass Porthmadog has become an even more interesting place to discover - with many distinctive shops.

On our next visit we hope to walk some more of the Wales Coast Path, and to travel on the railways, which were (unusually) closed to allow rebuilding work at the Welsh Highland Terminus. Let's also hope the group trying to reopen the Coliseum cinema have some success - then this could definitely be a destination which offers everything!

The Royal Sportsman is an ideal destination for a refreshing break. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viatorNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews