We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont bother”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2008

rooms were clean and fairly good size
dining arrangements were weird, as we went into the large dinner area where there was only one other couple eating, only to be told to go back out into lounge area as we had to wait to be seated.
we then chose from the menu only to be told we had to eat in the lounge because we had chosen from the pub menu. even though there was about 15 empty tables in the dining area

The restaurant prices were expensive for the area but the food was quite good but not worth the price.

The town is not quaint or pretty but just what i can only describe as a run down poor high street in a very working class area.

If you take your dog then its great until your dog needs a run about somewhere. you will find that the town is concrete and tarmac and no greenery.

Port Meirion is absolutely diabolicle and the best bit is the beach when the tides out which most people make there way to. as port meirion is run down and tatty and as most people go there because of 'The Prisoner' but you wont find hardly anything to do with the cult TV program which is a shame cos I certainly am not interested in the overpriced pottery or the [-] fact that the architect designed the place to show that an area of beauty could be developed without taking away the natural beauty of a place.

All in all if you never go there you wont miss a thing out of your life.

I most definitely will not go back.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank WWtravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croiala, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2010

This customer obviously did not like Porthmadog which is a pity as it is one of the prettiest and most popular towns in Snowdonia to visit for a varity of reasons-trains, beaches, walking, scenery etc. I rarely meet a customer who feels like this one. Porthamadog is not a working class area at all-it is vey service orientated and there is considerable greenery within 5 minutes walk of the hotel, in and around the town, but not down the long High Street. As a dog owner, there are many many places nearby to take a dog for a walk and Portmeirion is one of the area's major attractions.

When customers wish to eat in our restaurant, we ask them to sit in the adjoining lounge wherec they look at menus in comfort, order drinks and then food. Tables are prepared according to orders and customers are then seated when the meal is ready. This is quite normal in hotels that serve Rosette food. Occasionally, we will get a customer who disagrees with this approach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 716 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2007

Rooms are very comfortable and clean.
Fantastic location right in the middle of the main street of Porthmadog.
The restaurant is excellent. Highly recommended for dinner.
Breakfast was superb: buffet continental breakfast and choose a hot breakfast option from the menu.
Definitely worthwhile.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbiespice99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

GOOD.......
- Nice Clean Room
- Staff very friendly
- Undercover Carpark at the side of the hotel
- Breakfast good - but I do love the option to have 2 eggs at Breakfast.

BAD......
- Prices high for room & also evening meals.
- Owners knowledge of alternative eating places very poor (the pub meals that we had within a 5 minute drive from the Royal Sportsman were fantastic and quite a bit cheaper than the RS.
- Standard Room £78 - other places much cheaper such as the Tudor Lodge (AA 4*) around the corner, around £20 less per night.

UGLY......
- No HOT Water for a shower! - after watching a documentary on hotel bath tubs, I really didnt want a bath. There was a note on the back of the bathroom door advising to run the water for a while.... 5 minutes later......10 minutes later...... 15 minutes later......... 20 minutes later......

The Shower problem was reported to Reception. We had to chase up the problem the next day only to find that there was no engineer available to fix. On checkout, Reception now didnt know about the Shower problem, but thanked us for "bringing it to their attention". No offer of an alternative room was offered so we didnt get to shower. Double check if you stay in Room 30 if you think you may want a shower.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Sleepy_Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croiala, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2010

A rather mixed review with unfair comparisons. If the customer wanted 2 eggs at breakfast, all that is required is to ask. Why raise this on Tripadvisor?

There are otherv places cheaper than this hotel and the one to which the customer refers is a Guest House with a travelodge breakfast, no bar, no restaurant and completely different quality throughout.

Nothing wrong with the shower as it was checked and the common problem in this room is improper use by the customer. We have plenty of hot water at all times. When the customer reported the matter to reception, it was checked and found to be fine!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Probably a good hotel for northern Wales, but the garden room was a bit small, and the resturants had some unusual policies about where to sit. The food was good, and the covered parking garage was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lipadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

I was travelling in North Wales and happened upon The Royal Sportsman Hotel in the historic town of Porthmadog, which is within the beautiful area of Snowdonia.
I was accommodated in a most attractive and comfortable room which had direct acceess to a quiet and very pretty courtyard within the hotel garden. I imagine this famous hotel has been tending to the needs of travellers in North Wales throughout the ages. In the summer of 2007 I found it provided everything one could wish for whilst travelling. It offers an excellent selection of local beers in the bar and has an extensive wine list in the restaurant. This is clearly well patronised by local people and it was not hard to see why. My wife and I both enjoyed truly delicious gourmet food at sensible prices at dinner and had a splendid breakfast as well. I found all the staff most welcoming and friendly, making special mention here of the proprietor and his wife who could not have been more accommodating of all requests for advice and assistance about places to visit in the locality. They both seem to take an active role in the daily running of their hotel and have clearly worked very hard to restore it to its current levels of excellence. I recommend this hotel without hesitation to all who might be planning a visit to North Wales

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank mrpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

We had not planned any hotels on our 5 days through Wales, just wandered into towns looking for interesting places. This was the best yet. We stayed over an extra day because the food was so good. Traditional Welsh, they told us, but with a "continental" twist. We just know it was too good to leave. When we had to travel on to meet family, the staff did a "mapsearch" to get us from door to door in Glascow. Can't say enough good things about the Royal Sportsman. Hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PDXtravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

My daughter, I and our dog Jake went for a long weekend at the Royal Sportsman Hotel in Pwllheli. It was a fabulous stay, the weather was on our side but what made the weekend was the Hotel. Very friendly staff who were, upbeat and very helpful. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable but best for us was the food. A fantastic menu of choices (especially at breakfast) and all wonderfully cooked - It was stunning!

It was a great change to be welcomed by a hotel with a child and a dog. There is also a beach 5 minutes from the Hotel called Borth y Gest. That was like stepping back in time. A beautiful beach with lots of little private coves, soft white sand and fantastic views. We ate well and gosh did we sleep well! Heartily recommended

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Sara010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,506 reviews
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
302 reviews
15.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,344 reviews
13 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range: $103 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing