We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and accommodation, rural but not...”
Artist's Cottage, on the doorstep of Portmeirion.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Artist's Cottage, on the doorstep of Portmeirion.
Views from the villa towards the Estuary Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Artist's Cottage, on the doorstep of Portmeirion.
Views from the villa towards the Estuary
Lounge area
Lounge area
Large kitchen with table and chairs leads through to the dining room
Dining room area
Estuary and Mountain View from the conservatory
Newly refurbished conservatory with magnificent views
Conservatory with estuary views
The en-suite bedroom has a kingsize and small single with views of Snowdonia on the 1st floor
Spacious double bedroom on the ground floor
The double bedroom on the ground floor has lovely views
Twin bedroom on ground floor
Single bedroom on ground floor
Views from the patio towards the estuary and snowdonia mountains
Private and enclosed garden with large lawns, elevated patio with dining furniture, BBQ and views
Garden at Artist's Cottage
Parking space at Artist's Cottage
En-suite shower room
Downstairs shower room
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Porthmadog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gordon H
Pembroke Dock, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and accommodation, rural but not remote.”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The property was in a really quiet location with superb views over the estuary and countryside but only five minutes drive from the town of Portmadog. Dog friendly, with countryside walks direct from the door down to the beach meant we all had a great holiday, would certainly book this holiday again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
855sue
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful location”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Nice, well equipped property with plenty of room. Great location with lovely views from all windows and garden. Very peaceful. Perfect location to visit Portmerion which is easily reached by foot via the lane from the gate. Property is very spacious and comfortable.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The cottage was in a fantastic setting and catered for all ages”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our party consisted of a total of 8, ranging in age from 3 months to 91 years (plus chocolate Labrador!) The cottage easily catered for the whole family with plenty of parking for our 3 cars and room for us to have our own space if we needed it! The few steps in the living area were very visibly marked and there were useful handrails in place. As most of the bedrooms were downstairs, and there were also two toilets/bathrooms on this level, the accommodation catered perfectly for the more mature members of the family!
The far reaching views from the cottage were outstanding and we spent most of our time in the conservatory or on the patio. We enjoyed the peaceful setting watching the wildlife, including the bats in the evening, and walking on the various adjacent footpaths, some of which take you down to the estuary. With the Italianate village of Portmerion practically on your doorstep and Porthmadog within easy reach it was a great base to explore the area.
The process of booking the cottage was easy and the owners kindly left us milk, sugar, tea, coffee and delicious bara brith to start our holiday with, which was very welcome after our long journey. We would all love to visit the cottage again in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and space in the cottage
Liked least: The week went too quickly!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrsj
Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is a lovely cottage with fabulous views - you can sit in the sun lounge and enjoy the scenery. The accommodation is spacious and well equipped. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2014
Thanks for your kind words. We how to see you again soon. Gwen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert J
Haverfordwest
1 review
“Wonderful scenery”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The views from Artist's Cottage are stunning.....always changing with the weather and tides. The cottage is easy walking distance from the Ffestiniog steam railway and the main line, so we took the opportunity for a day out by train. Everything was clean and tidy, and there's plenty of space to spread out. The owners are friendly and helpful. Would definitely come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watfor
Reviewed April 29, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2013
Thank you. We are glad you had a peaceful time. We spend most of our time in the conservatory watching time go by too. Hopefully we will see you very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing