We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of Queens Hotel Porthmadog - CLOSED

Queens Hotel Porthmadog
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing food”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

as we were staying in the queens we decided to eat in their restaurant one night...so the watress seated us in the restaurant and handed us the menus we decided on the tapas and we had the tiger prawn skewers chicken and chorizo skewers and the duck the food was out of this world and only £16 for 3 plates bargain will definately be coming again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurenw12314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    3
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connahs Quay
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Two visits in two days, both were great”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Whilst holidaying in Porthmadog this week my wife and I called in here with my parents on Wednesday and enjoyed it so much we returned on Thursday with her parents. Other reviewers have mentioned that this isn't the most enticing venue from the outside and they may be right but the old saying about 'books' and 'covers' rings true in this case. The customer service and food are both exceptional. From the minute we walked in nothing seemed too much trouble. Our two year old son is at the stage were he thinks he is too big for highchairs so the largest standard chair was brought to our table with cushions for him and a colouring book and crayons soon followed. These helped to keep him amused while we waited for our food and the wait was more than worth it. Great steaks, the most generous portion of (homemade) onion rings I've ever had (complete with chilli dip) and a portion of fish so big it should have had its own postcode!
To top the evening off this place is amongst the most reasonably priced I've eaten in so I left with a wallet almost as full as my belly. We returned the next night and enjoyed it just as much. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveConnahsQuay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Food good, don't be put off by shabby exterior!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch here with family, food freshly cooked and prepared. I had steak which was tender, we also had two gammon steaks which were good and a kids chicken meal - all good. Would recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mickmickmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent food”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

i have had all the food there and it is grat and the suff are grat the aswall i wood tall all my frends to go there and flamly

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank spoon354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Ok but looks bit shabby”
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Service and good quite but not amazing for price. Dated tho ...just ok I think. Go to the Ship much more impressive and similar price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HolidaygalCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Hotel Porthmadog also viewed

Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Tremadog, Porthmadog
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing