We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel is located in a commercial part of the town but handy to main shopping centre of Porthmadog. Supermarket nearby. Friendly staff. Our room was clean and comfortable. No noise issue at night. Car parking available. The tip aspect wasn't a problem for us as our room faced the other way.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMac2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    159
    62
    22
    9
See reviews for
129
192
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights with friends for my husband's birthday. Rooms were clean and airy and the staff extremely helpful. We were on the 2nd floor (there is a lift) and it was very quiet. There is no 'attached' eating facility, but there is an excellent place to eat breakfast within 1 minute of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up North
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Basic but functional. Comfortable rooms.
Unfortunate location.
Staff, however, exceptionally helpful and friendly.
Outside noise wasn't really an issue as daytime activities ensured a great night's sleep. Near enough to shops to buy provisions.

Room Tip: Back of hotel (even numbers, I believe) overlook tip and builders yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BahHumbug123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This travelodge in Porthmadog satisfies a very basic requirement because of a lack of other suitable accomodation locally. Finding the Travelodge was difficult we had to ask a local person. The lodge is sdituated in an industrial area with the Council tip behind.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank geoffrey572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Two night stay. Building site and tip with many loud seagulls not far from our window we were awake very early by them. The bathroom was dated and extractor caked in dust and the shower curtain and bath seals had mold. The bed was a new one, but nothing else about the room was 'refurbished' TV was all wrong, very few channels no subtitles, no guide etc. Was told that the manager said that most travel lodges had TV s like that. Kids in evening when we got back, not impressed.
We would not stay here again ever. The Breakfast Cafe on the industrial estate was the best thing about the stay. It was brilliant!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel overlook a rubbish tip. Book one at the front if you have to stay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline Susa... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Only stayed here for two nights whilst exploring the wider area. Hotel is just on the outskirts of town and is in quite a quiet location, don't be put off by the industrial area nearby! Porthmadog town a 10-15 min walk away, is in a great location for people if they want to go and do walking on the local mountainous terrain!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevegillett92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Turned up last Friday night at about 10, desperate for a comfy bed after a difficult drive, only to be told they have overbooked, and I was to be sent some miles away to another hotel. I stood my ground, politely, and eventually was placed in a disabled room. This had a cot in it which was removed so heaven help the family with a baby who turned up after me! Talk about no room at the inn!

The next morning, upon checking out, the girl said that overbooking was common.

This is disgusting. After all, if I don't turn up, they still keep my money.

Shame on you, Travelodge.

Room Tip: make sure it's at the front - odd numbers Get there early to bags your room as they regularly o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.4 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
4.0 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel

Property: Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Address: Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Porthmadog
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing