We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porthmadoc”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Excellent reception staff, given a warm welcome and on our departure, genuine interest in our opinions of the new upgraded room. We appreciated the automatic reception doors, helpful if you have your hands full.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Marjorie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 538 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3weeks with work my room was brand new with a really comfy bed.
Like other reviews say place was full every night and didn't hear a thing
Shower and bath was always hot.
Just a bit of a walk to the local town for a meal and a drink etc.
but would definitely use again and just wish all the tavelodges were of this standard.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Shelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and found it quite easily, as it is just down from the Texaco station, off the town centre ( you go past an Aldi store and a Lidl store, then the petrol station and turn right into the business park ( there is not a sign pointing to the Travelodge, which would be a real help especially at night) The place is surrounded by builders yards, skip hire etc and we were a bit worried at first, that as other reviewers had said, it might be noisy.Excellent parking out front of hotel,well lit.Welcomed by Emanuel, such a lovely friendly receptionist, who showed us 2 rooms, as I am disabled and he wanted to give me a choice of bed sizes and bathroom.I chose the disabled room, which was on the front, facing the carpark.Had 2 single beds and a wet room/bathroom, with a seat and plenty of 'grab rails'
.Emanuel gave us an insight as to what Travelodge offered, and he said they had a microwave, if we wanted to buy food and heat it up on site..what a nice thing to offer.Room was spotless, and the beds were new, and very very comfortable, infact, you can order the beds and get them delivered to your home, which I would certainly do when I need a new bed.Nice big fluffy towels, and plump pillows, flat screen Tv, and kettle etc. Standard Travelodge set up, but this one is only 5 years old.Car park filled up and place was full, but we heard nothing...very quiet and the next morning we woke to find the car park nearly empty, and no one had disturbed us and we were facing the carpark...we were astounded.Looks like a lot of business people use this place, but we wanted to tour round, and it was an excellent place to stay, for Snowdonia, the Ffestiniog railway, Porthmerion was just down the road, everywhere to the North was easily reached, and fantastic roads.Great to have a Lidl and an Aldi next door, as well as a large Outdoor/camping shop.Porthmadog is a sweet town, with lots of independent shops, a few restaurants, pubs.Nice and flat, easy to walk, and good parking.Large Wilkinson shop there.All in all, it is a place I would go back to again, and certainly I would recommend this Travelodge, no complaints at all...I think maybe the noise comes from the back of the building, if at all, as we were at the front and nobody disturbed us.Many thanks to all the staff, but especially Emanuel.

Room Tip: maybe the rooms at the back are not as quiet, but we were at the front and we heard no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa776033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I thought the room was very clean, we weren't able to book in after 3pm - as we were going to a rock event (all day), but I advised the receptionist of our names so they were aware we were coming back before 1am, as we did ! This has got to be the best Travelodge we have stayed in, we have had bad experiences before and I was a bit worried about it, but I shouldn't have been. The staff were friendly enough, we needed some extra coffee in the morning and my husband was on his way to the reception when a Housekeeper offered him some more coffee, which I thought was very nice - he must have looked rough :)

Room Tip: as the hotel is situated away from a road we didn't hear any traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josiebobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived the day the refit was finished. No smell of the work so that was good. Impressed with New room. The best bed in a Travelodge I've slept on. Pillows very plump, too much for me but then you can't please everyone! The only draw back was they havent changed the settee so the older one still there and covers look worn out. Very happy with price, location and staff very pleasant and helpful. Defiantly will return.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank PA7DA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Habitaciones que den a la fachada delantera
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LleidaLleida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.4 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
724 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,541 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
44 reviews
15.8 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
12.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel

Address: Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range: $59 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Expedia so you can book your Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Porthmadog
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing