We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and people and dog friendly!”
Review of The Cuillins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cuillins
Ranked #7 of 14 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Eaglesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming and people and dog friendly!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We are just back from two nights at The Cuillans B&B and felt we had to write a review. We were made extremely welcome and comfortable. Isobel even checked on our dog for us when we were out for dinner the first night! The room was spotless and cosy with a lovely ensuite. The sitting room was like a home from home and we felt very comfortable sitting having a drink and watching the television later at night. The breakfast was immense, so much so we only needed soup at lunchtime as we were still full. Isobel is a lovely, warm hearted person who deserves to make a success of her business. She had a box of chocolates and a birthday card waiting in our room for me also a bottle of Prosecco. Thanks again Isobel for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The front room is a double with the large ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    13
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
60
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We are staying with Isa over Christmas 2013. She has been a fantastic host, made us feel really welcome.
Bedrooms all have en suites, are all kept warm, clean and cosy. Breakfast menu is a choice of cooked meals, cereals, porridge and pastries.
She has welcomed our two dogs so nicely and really made us feel at home. This is a dog friendly b&b but don't think that place isn't clean - it's spotless! It's also a short walk from the shops in Tarbert.
Would highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks in November and a cant fault it 1 bit,,,great host great rooms n probably the comfiest beds ever,,was working in the area and it got recommended from a friend and a must say wee weren't let down...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smid79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed for one night at The Cuillins on our way to Islay. Wish we could have stayed longer. The room was comfortable, the breakfast was magnificent. Isabel is a perfect host. Ideal location for driving to the ferry and also exploring the area which we will do on a longer trip. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Isobell has done it again. Fruit bowl to start with strawberries, raspberries, melon, banana. Then smoked salmon, baked salmon, scallops and scrambled eggs. Enough to feed an army. Sooooo good! Home from home only better. Thanks Isobell. No.1 in Tarbert ;)

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sunnywhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here only one night before getting the ferry early next morning. A very friendly and helpful host. The room was clean, tidy and the bed was very comfy. I would highly recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night, Isabel rescued from a disastrous booking elsewhere. The owner (Isabel) was so hospitable & welcoming we thought we were staying with family. Also we were greeted by her lovely dogs, our choice to do so, who too were so friendly! Nothing is too much trouble and the house is homely & inviting. The rooms are clean and cosy, the bathrooms are pristine, as is all the linen, you can tell how loved the business is. She cooks a killer breakfast fresh to order so tasty & served with much charm & a great smile. Nothing is to much bother in this home from home little gem, we loved it! I will definatley stay again when in the area. And don't forget Isabel I have a promise from you of a signed copy of that book! Good luck to you & thank you for your care.

Stayed October 2013

Room Tip: I don't think you would be disappointed with any room in this establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goose100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.1 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
9.9 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#3 of 14 in Tarbert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuillins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuillins

Property: The Cuillins
Address: Cuillins Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Cuillins Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing