We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So happy to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moorings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Moorings
Ranked #1 of 14 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Hull, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So happy to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our second visit to Andrew's delightful B & B & so happy to be back. 'The Moorings' is in a fantastic location in Tarbert with amazing views over the natural harbour & Loch Fyne. I have noticed that a lot of visitors stay for just one night on the way to the 'Islay' ferry, try if you can to stay longer, explore the Mull of Kintyre or the Crinan Canal which starts just up the road at Loch Gilphead, both trips are well worth adding extra time to your holiday. Since our visit last year Andrew has had a secure brick built building put up in his garden for cyclists to leave their bikes during their stay, so not only can you sail, walk & drive to this charming area now 'get on yer bike'. Andrew is a great host, his breakfasts are legendary & his home immaculate, what more can you ask for. Looking forward to next year, Tony & Lyn

Room Tip: Two front bedrooms overlooking the loch, a very comfy double with king size bed at the side of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
212
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We arrived on Andrew's great home without a reservation. he only had the small room left. He gave us a discount becouse of smallnes (that we didnt mind) of the room. We adored the room, we had a lovely vieuw on a beautiful ruin catle on the top of a hill. Our room had all the facilities we needed, en suite! Andrew offered to keep some of out stuff in his livingroom so we had more space in our room. The bed was so great, it was the first time in Scotland that mij bones didnt hurt due to the hard beds:)
Andrew is such a great host, he is so kind, he makes you feel at home right away. Due to our long trip we didnt have any clean clothes left, Andrew offered to wash our clother (without charges), how kind is that!!
The place of his house is great, the vieuw from the house is so beautiful. And you are in like 10min at the boot to Islay. The citycentre has a couple of nice restaurant, Andrew will give you a good advice on were to go.
Andrew had a lovely garden, wich his sweet dogs Heidi and Skye are really enjoying as well.
And than the breakfast..... you eat in such a cozy diningroom. Andrew serves you a great breakfast that starts with loverly fresh fruit and fresh orangejuice. After that you get the breakfast you want, my boyfriend had the scottish breakfast an Andrew made a lovely porrige for me. It was so delicious
We absolutely loved the stay at the mooring, if you go to Scotland you really need to stay at Andrew's.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandramark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Andrew is a great host with a lot of local knowledge. He serves a mega breakfast! It was a super experience staying in his delightful B&B. The house is in a fantastic location overlooking the most picturesque harbour imaginable with own parking and is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Go for the twin overlooking the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed over at the Moorings for an evening prior to catching the ferry to Islay the following morning. We found the Moorings ideal for this. The room was cosy and comfortable and we found the owner, Andrew, very friendly and attentive during our stay. He gave us good hints and tips as to where we should eat that night.
Breakfast in the morning was very hearty with a good choice of cooked items as well as a huge bowl of fresh fruit. It set us up for the day ahead very well indeed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClovaTheWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is the first time my husband and myself have stayed at the Moorings, and it want be our last. Andrew the owner is a fantastic host very attentive. The Moorings is very cosy and very homely. Our room had a very comfortable bed, fresh towels daily which is fantastic. The rooms also has bottles of water which was a plus for myself. Andrew provides a fantastic breakfast with lots of lovely fresh fruit following a well cooked breakfast to your choice. Will being recommending to my friends ands family . Looking forward to returning to see Andrews friendly and welcoming face. Well done Andrew all your hard work shows from Stephen and Julianna x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliannamarrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Pretty fishing port of Tarbert makes for handy overnight stop-over when using the Kennacraig/Islay ferry. The Moorings B&B is located at the mouth of the harbour and there are stunning views from the front garden to be had. Especially when watching the fishing boats return in the evening. Tarbert Castle is to the rear and is well worth the short walk up the hill for a quick look round.

On each visit we've received a warm reception from Andrew and his dogs. The En Suite Rooms are of a high standard, and although not all have a TV, Room 1 has the most comfortable bed you'll have ever slept in. If you're continuing on your travels the next day, a good breakfast is provided to get you on your way - Plenty of fruit, fresh coffee and a 'Full Scottish' if you're particularly hungry.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the softest bed you'll ever have slept in. The two front rooms have great views ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The owner Andrew was great. Beautiful, clean home close to the ferry and good restaurants just down the street. Try to visit the castle just above the house, it is great. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and highly recommend it if you are taking the ferry out of Kennacraig.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardbeglily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.3 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#3 of 14 in Tarbert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Property: The Moorings
Address: Pier Road, Tarbert PA29 6UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prices from £35 per person per night bed & breakfast based on 2 Sharing. The Moorings Bed and Breakfast is a traditional stone-built fisherman's cottage situated within the quiet fishing village of Tarbert, Lochfyne, Argyll. The cottage has stunning views out across the harbour entrance and across Lochfyne and an idyllic garden were you can relax. Only a 2 minute walk to all local amenities, the village of Tarbert is host to several restaurants and pubs where fresh local seafood can be experienced. Situated at the rear of The Moorings Bed and Breakfast on the hill is the ruins of Tarbert Castle, which dates back to the 13th century and is known to have royal connections such as Robert the Bruce in 1325 and in 1494 James IV summoned Parliament to meet in Tarbert.Please note The Moorings is a traditional stone-built fishermans cottage and as such has a campsile style interior (sloping ceilings)Now with Free WiFi in rooms and secure outdoor bicycle storage area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Tarbert
The Moorings Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing