We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful nights sleep and a friendly host!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moorings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Moorings
Ranked #1 of 14 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful nights sleep and a friendly host!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My mum and dad and I stayed here last night on our way to Islay first thing in the morning. From the moment we parked the car Andrew was in the garden asking if we needed any help with bags! The garden is full of ceramic creature and wind chimes which give the place a magical feel! Both bedrooms were immaculate, the facilities good and the beds the most comfortable I have ever slept in! We didn't get to stay for breakfast as the ferry was leaving at 7am and so we had to be up early but I'm sure we will return to try the famous fruit bowl!

From one cleaning enthusiast to another thank you very much!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
212
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were greeted by hooting owls, herons, frogs and the other ceramic creatures populating the garden of this charming cottage as we made our way to the door. We received an even warmer welcome from our host Andrew and his dogs, who instantly made us feel at home. The interior is just as packed with curiosities, from bejewelled globes to carved wooden birds, as the garden. Our room was spotlessly clean and offered a delightful view over the picturesque harbour. It had a large shower, TV and everything else you could want. The highlight of our stay was the amazing breakfast, which included haggis on one morning and set us up perfectly for the day.

The village itself has some lovely restaurants and art shops. It looked like a great base for exploring by foot, though, being there for a wedding, we didn't make it much further than the castle at the top of the hill (once, briefly home to Robert the Bruce, but now in ruins, having been ransacked to build the village). On our travels by car, we did spot seals, a stag and an otter, so I imagine it would be a great place for some nature-spotting. We would highly recommend both The Moorings and Tarbert for a stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HounslowBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was another return trip to stay at the Moorings. Although early in the year Andrew was a welcoming as ever. Room 1 is by far the best bed I have ever slept in at a B&B. Wi Fi arrived whilst we were there and this is a definite improvement. Excellent breakfast with finest sausages far better than any hotel we have stayed in. Tarbert was a beautiful as ever and a lovely meal at the Anchor Hotel made the visit even more special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenann62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was dark when I arrived and as I walked up the path I saw so many photo opportunities for the morning, I wasn't disappointed. I was warmly greeted by Andrew who showed me up to a very warm clean room. I woke in the morning with a view of the castle and then went down for a fabulous breakfast rhen took my photo.s. Andrew was a great host and I would willingly visit again.

ps when I was looking for somewhere to stay in Tarbert I looked at the Starfish holiday lettings site an it looks as though someone has been causing mischief because when I clicked on the picture of The Moorings it directed me to a totally different site so beware as this could be a dangerous site to visit.

Room Tip: Over the loch at the front or up to the castle at the back both good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We planned to be in Tarbert in 2013, but a little good luck found us returning this year.
Andrew deserves all the praise he receives for The Moorings. His recent house and garden makeover are a great success and he is always the most amiable of landlords. Note: the piano is in the guest dining room and Andrew loves the opportunity listen, learn and play.
The spacious double room with ensuite we had at the front of the house overlooks the garden, and I think Andrew must have nocturnal help from some of the resident gnomes to ensure there are always flowers and shrubs in bloom. Then, when you’ve quite finished marvelling at the way Andrew accessorises the house and garden, there is the ever-changing sensational view of the harbour just across the road.
Breakfast on holiday should always be special and Andrew makes sure that his guests do not leave the table disappointed or hungry. Together with the usual cereals and yoghurt, there are fresh berries followed by a truly indulgent full Scottish cooked breakfast. It’s worth travelling 12,000 miles just for that.
Roll on September 2013 and we will again be making tracks for Tarbert and The Moorings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fhgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Andrew is the friendliest, kindest, most welcoming B&B host in Scotland, nay, the UK. We've been back to beautiful Tarbert twice now and I'm 100% sure that we'll be back again. Our host remembers all his guests and remembered exactly what we enjoyed and what he had recommended in the local area a year and clearly many many guests later! With the newly landscaped garden and remodelled rooms Andrew has been able to stamp his mark on the 19th century Victorian villa with the most serene views over Tarbert Harbour and loch Fyne. Andrew is an incredibly houseproud host and, whatever the weather, he can be found tending his garden which is a real joy. Cyclist friendly (even when wet and muddy!), take it from Meg and James, this is the place to book! See you next year Andrew!

Room Tip: Ask for the 'Fyne facing' rooms - tremendous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We came to Tabert mid-sept. for The Festival. From our perspective this turned out to be something of an anti-climax.
Inspite of this our enjoyment of our time in Tabert was superlative; all down to our extended* stay at The Moorings & the service & friendship extended to us both by our host, Andrew.
Add our vote to the 176 Excellents. Previous guests have nearly said it all.
I'll just add my personal appreciation of the Beautiful Bowl of Scots Berries which greeted us each morning, as we took our places at the table. It's consumption amply & pleasurably passed the time while Andrew cooked our breakfasts' to a 'T'.
I now think the 'Bowl of Berries' is the perfect companion to the 'Great Scots breakfast'! I usually struggle to walk on a cooked breakfast & many is the time I've sworn not to have the cooked breakfast more than once whilst on a walking-break & staying in B&Bs. This time I wasn't aware of my feet fighting my stomach all morning! Though as usual the cooked breakfast saw us through until our evening dinner.
*Very wet weather caused us to abandon our plans to camp, so we were able to have another night with Andrew & to experience the delights of another of his small'ish, but perfectly appointed rooms.

Room Tip: If travelling by car with large suitcases, decant enough into a smaller bag for your overnight stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bheribrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.3 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#3 of 14 in Tarbert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Property: The Moorings
Address: Pier Road, Tarbert PA29 6UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prices from £35 per person per night bed & breakfast based on 2 Sharing. The Moorings Bed and Breakfast is a traditional stone-built fisherman's cottage situated within the quiet fishing village of Tarbert, Lochfyne, Argyll. The cottage has stunning views out across the harbour entrance and across Lochfyne and an idyllic garden were you can relax. Only a 2 minute walk to all local amenities, the village of Tarbert is host to several restaurants and pubs where fresh local seafood can be experienced. Situated at the rear of The Moorings Bed and Breakfast on the hill is the ruins of Tarbert Castle, which dates back to the 13th century and is known to have royal connections such as Robert the Bruce in 1325 and in 1494 James IV summoned Parliament to meet in Tarbert.Please note The Moorings is a traditional stone-built fishermans cottage and as such has a campsile style interior (sloping ceilings)Now with Free WiFi in rooms and secure outdoor bicycle storage area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Tarbert
The Moorings Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing