We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold rooms, unfriendly service”
Review of The Tarbert Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tarbert Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cold rooms, unfriendly service”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very basic hotel. The room was freezing when we arrived, and the guy at the desk clearly couldn't be bothered being there. Wifi is only available in the bar, as well, which is a pain. Apparently there are loads of nicer places to stay in town - will go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulamae_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    24
    18
    18
See reviews for
18
43
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Tarbert Hotel Staff are really excellent. They are friendly, helpful and approachable. The food was really very good with surprisingly good choices for vegetarians and the bar had a lovely ambience, being full of friendly locals and having a nice fire too. As a pub I want to give it an excellent rating. However, in reviewing it as an hotel it fares less well. I was travelling with a friend and we had a twin room with a harbour view. The Beds were comfy and the linen was crisp and clean but my pillow was heavily stained. The carpet was also stained and poorly fitted and the furnishings were cheap and mismatched. The en-suite was very basic and generally shabby with yellowing paint and an efficient but small shower and there was nowhere to hang a towel to dry or to hang clothes whilst showering. In summary, this hotel is great if you are happy with basic, quite shabby décor but don't assume that basic also means cheap. It was worth the extra £10 per night for the harbour view but this hotel cost the same as other, much smarter ones we stayed in last week. I would certainly visit the pub again but I would not book the rooms again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1. We did not view any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Visited the Tarbert Hotel in September 2013. Great location overlooking the harbour. Great food with wide choice of sea food. Special offer was a two course lunch for £6.50 i.e. soup and main course or main course and sweet. Unbelievably good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just coming to the end of our stay at this hotel and I can say we will be back, it was very friendly welcoming, clean, and the food was excellent, it has a good friendly atmosphere, even the locals were nice to us!! The staff would have done anything we asked for! Most recommended !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie7742013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have just spent two nights at this Hotel along with three friends on a Caledonian Tour. Was a bit disappointed that both our twin rooms were at the back of the Hotel overlooking the car park, despite having requested a front facing room. However, that was our only complaint. Both our twin rooms were spacious and spotless. We had a problem with the sockets in our room and it was fixed immediately. The food and dining room staff were fantastic. They were very pleasant to talk to, and were extremely professional. The entertainment on both nights was good also. The location was amazing. There are seats and benches outside the Hotel for people to just watch the world go by. Please note that you are unable to check in to the Hotel until after 3pm. Daily newspapers are available at reception alo.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the loch, the view is tremendous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beith
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Tarbert Hotel looks great from outside apart from no signage, but we were "greeted " by an extremely unpleasant man on reception, who not only ignored us for ages he also reeked of cigarettes as did the entrance. The room was tiny no way was this a double but we were charged the same as our friends in a larger /nicer room. Beware room 4. the bed lumpy bathroom door wouldn't shut tv needed batteries .We liked that its old and that its shabby chic, but that creepy guy (Ronnie?) was rude, unhelpful, and needs a shower. This place has so much potential, let down by staff (him) and meanness. We went along the road for a drink because he was serving at the hotel bar, and it put us off. However pleasant wee waitress at breakfast, and the breakfast itself was very good.

Room Tip: only choose room 4 if you're a borrower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carolyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tarbert hotels

Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night and was very pleased. Room was clean, light and was very quiet at night. Ate in their dining room and very pleased with their menu. One of us is a vegetarian and they certainly catered well. Very busy in bar and restaurant which is used by locals who were very friendly. Would definitely stay here again and ask for a sea view though. We were made to feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Ask fr a sea view although the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
423 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.2 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
465 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
262 reviews
20.8 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarbert Hotel

Property: The Tarbert Hotel
Address: Harbour Street | Loch Fyne Argyll, Tarbert PA29 6UB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarbert Hotel is a traditional harbour town hotel which faces the water. The cosy bar with log fire is popular with locals and visitors. A menu of home-made Scottish family meals is offered at lunchtime and evening with old favourites such as battered fish and chips, lasagne, steak, salads and hot home-made puddings. A friendly hotel with local charm ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tarbert
The Tarbert Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing