We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I expected”
Review of The Tarbert Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tarbert Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What I expected”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Tarbert Hotel is what I expected and I have stayed in plenty of places like it. Its an old style hotel, probably family run, which has been there for a very long time and is never going to change. It probably makes enough money to get by but not enough to allow any investment in upgrading. I cannot comment on price as this was prepaid by others.

Pros: all staff very friendly, helpful to our party and bent over backwards to help us. My one dinner was nice, breakfasts were very tasty. Bar was small but quiet. Room was warm. Wonderful location with other restaurants very near. Room tidy and clean and sorted every day. I slept like a log.

Cons: very tired decor. Bit of a 'House that Jack built' theme with sloping floor to door in my room. Walls very thin, thought the chef was in my bathroom preparing breakfast, whole room smelt of sausages. Windows old style sash overlooking manky courtyard.

Basically the Ramada it is not - it is a typical small village provincial hotel. If you want friendly, local, basic and clean with decent breakfasts, and do not mind 1970s artex walls, then it will do fine. If you want posh rooms and spas then you need to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NornIronBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    25
    18
    18
See reviews for
18
43
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel overnight in April. Room, although clean, was dated, very basic and overpriced at £90 a night (£10 extra for sea view). Staff friendly, breakfast good but would not stay here again at this price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tarbert hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Family of 4, had a great weekend, great value for money, rooms spotless, breakfast Delicious, and had an evening meal best fish and chips ever, Staff very helpful and friendly, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 848lindac848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

By accidence we had to take this hotel.
The village around the harbour looks ok.
Very simple rooms. Clean, that is true.
In the bar there are som locals. Some of them were drunk. Not nice.
Heating in the rooms was very bad. An electric heater is available but not sufficient.
Not our choice. Sorry.

Room Tip: Look for something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Rooms very spacious and clean. Had a lovely dinner in the restaurant. Basic menu but good quality meat and good size portions! Nice bar and staff very pleasant!
Would go back if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papasmurffsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was travelling for work and just wanted a bite to eat and a sit down in peace and quiet. I got both. I sat in the bar with a drink until my meal war ready and then swapped over to the dining room. My soup and steak pie were both really really nice. I would have them both again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Lovely family run hotel,rooms are spacious and clean,tasty and reasonably priced food,the bar at the back is great fun,thanks to the efforts of ricky and david,will be back guys,keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
437 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.2 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
265 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
472 reviews
20.8 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarbert Hotel

Property: The Tarbert Hotel
Address: Harbour Street | Loch Fyne Argyll, Tarbert PA29 6UB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarbert Hotel is a traditional harbour town hotel which faces the water. The cosy bar with log fire is popular with locals and visitors. A menu of home-made Scottish family meals is offered at lunchtime and evening with old favourites such as battered fish and chips, lasagne, steak, salads and hot home-made puddings. A friendly hotel with local charm ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tarbert
The Tarbert Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing