We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK as a last resort”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tarbert Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tarbert Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“OK as a last resort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

I had just finished walking the 'kintyre way' and was in desperate need of a dry bed, a warm room and a hot shower. This hotel provided it, which was jut what I needed. However, it is a very old hotel that needs gutting and a complete overhaul. Bathroom was straight from 1940, and everything was very tired and old. Staff were friendly, room was clean, breakfast was nice, Slightly overpriced for what it provides. I wouldn't stay here again but it was ok if all you needed was a bed for the night

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZedAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    32
    24
    17
    18
See reviews for
17
42
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed in this hotel a few years ago when it was beginning to look a but tired. It has been done up but we felt it could have had more done to it. Had a single and double room, the double room overlooked the harbour and was quite large, the single was roomy although small however the wash basin in the ensuite shower room was so small it was difficult to get two hands in it to wash. The hotel is in a good position overlooking the harbour with a friendly local bar and the food was good pub food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Food shocking. Service slow at best. I will never stay here or eat here again. Truly dreadful.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DougieRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tarbert hotels

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

we booked this hotel for somewhere to stay for my brothers wedding for 3 nights,not having ever been up that end of the woods we had to trust the website,after travelling 280 miles we arrived in the lovely but very quiet village,our pub/hotel overlooking the harbour looked run down and desperate in need of some work,not the bright white pristine exterior it shows on website,we checked in and were given our keys and were left to drag our cases up narrow staircase and corridors to room 23,we walked in and my stomach turned,tiny,shabby,dirty,ancient,wallpaper missing round the door,creaky floor etc,i opened the 1960s curtains to look at the view and found we overlooked a side street,i then went into the bathroom,oh my god! pink pre 1960 cracked sink and shower,dirty mouldy mastic and tiles and an electric shower which was absolutely useless,but they had installed a fairly recent toilet but you could see where the old systern had been as they hadnt bothered decorating,infact they hadnt bothered anywhere for 50 yrs,my partner said i cant stay here its disgusting for 60 pound a night so we asked for a harbour view,the woman on reception said they had one but they wanted 100 pound a night,i said no way!!! the breakfast is ok and breakfast staff are friendly but i would avoid it at all costs,my sister stayed in a b and b down road called the dunnivaig and said it was lovely and clean,ive seen the pics and it is.also there is a new hotel 50 yds down road which is being built at the moment and it look superb. anyway rant over,youve been warned,it wants shutting down!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sidmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

Having stayed in this hotel in the past we booked it again for 1 night room only as we needed to get up early for the Islay ferry the next morning. When I called to book I was told the price would be £30 for the room for 2 people. When we arrived the staff said it was £60 when I queried the price I was told that the girl who had taken the booking had made a mistake, I reluctantly paid the £60 as it was to late to start looking for another room. When we went into the lounge bar we discovered that the coal fire had been replaced with electric fire which wasn't on instead there was oscillating heater which didn't give out much heat and all the flags and sailing memorabillia had been taken down , there wasn't much of a atmosphere in the lounge so we went into another bar along the road where it was busy with locals said it all really.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda-Tollan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
x
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

Hotel room was poor, my room had no curtains and no light bulbs! The sink is in the bedroom next to your bed, whilst the tolet and shower are in tiny room/cuboard.

Good breakfast - good value.. £35 a room a night with breakfast, can't really complain

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sausage_cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We recently stayed for two nights and what lets this hotel down is the attention to detail.
The room was large but the sofa had a grubby cover and scatter cushions which were shabby. Also the tablecloth was disposable but left on in a dirty state. The shower had been refurbished but was broken. The drawer front fell off when it was opened! However the location is great and the staff very friendly and hard working. We did not try the food but the locals ate there. Had this hotel been a lot cheaper it might be forgiven some of its short comings.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourerbycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.2 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarbert Hotel

Property: The Tarbert Hotel
Address: Harbour Street | Loch Fyne Argyll, Tarbert PA29 6UB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarbert Hotel is a traditional harbour town hotel which faces the water. The cosy bar with log fire is popular with locals and visitors. A menu of home-made Scottish family meals is offered at lunchtime and evening with old favourites such as battered fish and chips, lasagne, steak, salads and hot home-made puddings. A friendly hotel with local charm ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tarbert
The Tarbert Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing