We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have slept in better gutters!”
Review of The Tarbert Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tarbert Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Have slept in better gutters!”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

we booked this hotel for somewhere to stay for my brothers wedding for 3 nights,not having ever been up that end of the woods we had to trust the website,after travelling 280 miles we arrived in the lovely but very quiet village,our pub/hotel overlooking the harbour looked run down and desperate in need of some work,not the bright white pristine exterior it shows on website,we checked in and were given our keys and were left to drag our cases up narrow staircase and corridors to room 23,we walked in and my stomach turned,tiny,shabby,dirty,ancient,wallpaper missing round the door,creaky floor etc,i opened the 1960s curtains to look at the view and found we overlooked a side street,i then went into the bathroom,oh my god! pink pre 1960 cracked sink and shower,dirty mouldy mastic and tiles and an electric shower which was absolutely useless,but they had installed a fairly recent toilet but you could see where the old systern had been as they hadnt bothered decorating,infact they hadnt bothered anywhere for 50 yrs,my partner said i cant stay here its disgusting for 60 pound a night so we asked for a harbour view,the woman on reception said they had one but they wanted 100 pound a night,i said no way!!! the breakfast is ok and breakfast staff are friendly but i would avoid it at all costs,my sister stayed in a b and b down road called the dunnivaig and said it was lovely and clean,ive seen the pics and it is.also there is a new hotel 50 yds down road which is being built at the moment and it look superb. anyway rant over,youve been warned,it wants shutting down!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sidmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    32
    24
    17
    18
See reviews for
17
42
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Having stayed in this hotel in the past we booked it again for 1 night room only as we needed to get up early for the Islay ferry the next morning. When I called to book I was told the price would be £30 for the room for 2 people. When we arrived the staff said it was £60 when I queried the price I was told that the girl who had taken the booking had made a mistake, I reluctantly paid the £60 as it was to late to start looking for another room. When we went into the lounge bar we discovered that the coal fire had been replaced with electric fire which wasn't on instead there was oscillating heater which didn't give out much heat and all the flags and sailing memorabillia had been taken down , there wasn't much of a atmosphere in the lounge so we went into another bar along the road where it was busy with locals said it all really.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda-Tollan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tarbert hotels

x
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Hotel room was poor, my room had no curtains and no light bulbs! The sink is in the bedroom next to your bed, whilst the tolet and shower are in tiny room/cuboard.

Good breakfast - good value.. £35 a room a night with breakfast, can't really complain

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sausage_cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We recently stayed for two nights and what lets this hotel down is the attention to detail.
The room was large but the sofa had a grubby cover and scatter cushions which were shabby. Also the tablecloth was disposable but left on in a dirty state. The shower had been refurbished but was broken. The drawer front fell off when it was opened! However the location is great and the staff very friendly and hard working. We did not try the food but the locals ate there. Had this hotel been a lot cheaper it might be forgiven some of its short comings.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourerbycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-tyne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Having read some of the other reviews here, I was expecting a tiny, dirty room and threadbare towels. In fact, my single room was a perfectly adequate size (small, but not London small) and was clean enough that I didn't notice anything. The towels weren't fluffy, but did the job! The hotel is slightly shabby and run-down and has lots of stairs, but that's true of nearly any small hotel, anywhere. Plenty of free parking in the public car-park along the harbourfront. The breakfast was fine; I didn't sample the restaurant but it seemed busy. The location was good, only 5 miles from the Kennacraig/Islay ferry. Just right for the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhysPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Convenient to the ferry to Jura and Islay. Reasonable room rates, clean, smallish room. Food was great, worth stopping by just for that. Very friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank notreallymyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2010

My husband, myself and my dog came to stay at The Tarbert Hotel for one night so I could attend an interview in the area. We stayed in a clean room with plenty of space, even enough room for a big dog to sleep with comfort! The bed was comfortable and there were tea and coffee making facilities available. The shower was good and there were plenty of clean towels. Overall we could not fault the cleanliness of the room. The service was good, the staff obviously work hard. The food and atmosphere were also good and if we are in the area we would call in again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskies45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.2 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarbert Hotel

Property: The Tarbert Hotel
Address: Harbour Street | Loch Fyne Argyll, Tarbert PA29 6UB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarbert Hotel is a traditional harbour town hotel which faces the water. The cosy bar with log fire is popular with locals and visitors. A menu of home-made Scottish family meals is offered at lunchtime and evening with old favourites such as battered fish and chips, lasagne, steak, salads and hot home-made puddings. A friendly hotel with local charm ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tarbert
The Tarbert Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing