We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anchor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Restaurent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

While staying in Tarbert we choose to dine in the Sea Bed Restaurant at the Anchor Hotel. Obviously from the name the speciality is fish and we were spoilt for what to choose. Would it be the huge home made fish cakes or the fish pie. In the end I went for the scallops with a delightful salad, it was delicious if we are ever in this part of the country again we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishroyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    101
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
227
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Surprise stay for my birthday ! Lovely family room overlooking harbour Even on a wet grey day/night it was lovely to look out over the boats and the xmas lights. Room comfortable and warm. Meal at night was delicious and plentiful. Scallops were superb with good priced bubbly to go with meal. next morning had well cooked leisurely breakfast with good friendly service from young man who served us before enjoying some last minute xmas shopping in the lovely local gift shops/galleries . Would definitely recommend for a weekend break.

Room Tip: Harbour view on upper floors the best if you can manage stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishkiwi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We went here on a groupon so it was good value for money. Really great home cooked food, all bread and deserts baked on premises. Great breakfast with quality ingredients. Only slight down side was our bathroom was not as clean as it could have been, the toilet seat was dirty. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Tarbert again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This wonderful hotel and it's staff saved our wedding day. We had been let down by the man we hired to chef for us - Ryan Glen - on the day of our wedding he didn't show. Leaving us 6 hours to organize food for 25 people. Thankfully James at the Anchor was willing to help and really did an amazing job. Everyone was so helpful and the food was brilliant - everything was so nicely cooked and the staff were so friendly.
We cannot thank James and the staff at The Anchor enough for rescuing our day and turning a negative into a huge positive. We plan to stay at The Anchor any time we are up travelling up that way - truly wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anniep0ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg
Level Contributor
276 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had room 1, with a nice view over the bay, but rather cramped ... and with almost no sound insulation: you hear every word in the next room ..
BUT: dinner in the restaurant was perfect, with excellent Fyne Seafood.
And both pubs (on the right and left side of the hotel) are worth the visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonsieurCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

On reading the review below, I was on the same night out and disagree. We are all entitled to our opinion, however Amanda seems to have been on a different night out. The food was lovely, and the service was satisfactory. The staff were very busy as they were catering for Christmas Nights out. All in all it was a really nice night out. I thought we all ate drank and were very merry. I would recommend the Anchor for good food and a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GDStuart90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level Contributor
155 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Just home from a three night stay and would highly recommend this small comfortable hotel with an excellent restaurant.

The room was small but very comfortable, very comfy bed, nice bathroom with good toiletries and big towels. Great view of the harbour and although it was a bit noisy when the Christmas nights out finished we had been warned about this and didn't find it a problem.

Great breakfast and the two meals we ate in the restaurant were excellent. All in all a great weekend and one we hope to repeat.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank city_ambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.2 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
9.9 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#3 of 14 in Tarbert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
3.8 mi away
Portavadie
Portavadie
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Hotel

Property: Anchor Hotel
Address: Harbour Street, Tarbert PA29 6UD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently fully refurbished to a very high standard, with interior design by Gilded interiors, Edinburgh. We offer 12 en-suite bedrooms, with Hypnos beds, wi-fi, flat screen tvs and most with fantastic harbour views. We have an extensive all day menu, including home made lunches, afternoon teas and fine dining all prepared to a high standard with fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible, seafood a speciality. We offer Scottish hospitality in the 21st Century and will endeavour to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and the first of many. Situated in the heart of the picturesque village harbour setting over looking Loch Fyne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing