We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recharged our batteries ready for Christmas”
Review of Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Recharged our batteries ready for Christmas”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Just home from a three night stay and would highly recommend this small comfortable hotel with an excellent restaurant.

The room was small but very comfortable, very comfy bed, nice bathroom with good toiletries and big towels. Great view of the harbour and although it was a bit noisy when the Christmas nights out finished we had been warned about this and didn't find it a problem.

Great breakfast and the two meals we ate in the restaurant were excellent. All in all a great weekend and one we hope to repeat.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank city_ambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    108
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
55
239
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed for one night this week at the hotel. I was due to have a working dinner with 4 Norwegians who were also staying. We ordered our dinner at about 1920 and at 1930 the electricity went off before our meal was ready. We decided to wait until 2000 to see if the lights came back on before we made a decision as to what to do. At 1950 we took up the offer of a seafood platter and a selection of Scottish cheeses. This was all prepared by candlelight and was truly delicious. We all agreed that if this item had been on the menu then we all would have eaten it. Ironically I can recommend a power cut to other guests as the service was wonderful.

Room Tip: Choose one over looking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean_Reynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

First visit since makeover several years ago - what a difference. Rooms nicely decorated but on small side although they can't do anything about that. Breakfast very good and service throughout stay was good. Would have given five stars but for some basic housekeeping issues in both bedrooms our party stayed in. Would be happy to return.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Birk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Heartfelt thanks and gratitude to the Manager, James, and all the lovely staff at The Anchor Hotel in Tarbert for saving my Daughters wedding day after a local caterer failed to turn up, leaving her, her new husband and all their happy guests without a Wedding meal. With very short notice James and the staff rallied round and prepared a memorable meal for twenty six. James's kindness cannot go unnoticed, nor unannounced. If you are ever in Tarbert, please do make sure you take a visit to this perfect wee hotel. It, and the staff will warm your heart. Thanks again for making 23rd November 2013 a very special day to remember.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed last night cannot fault it, lovely room, excellent food and very friendly and helpful staff. You can be assured we will return and after visiting Tarbert for many years this will now always be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed recently pre ferry trip to Islay. Apart from it appearing deserted when I arrived!, I loved this hotel, just perfect mix of modern and comfort. Very clean and full of quality. Will definitely stay again when in the area. Ate at the Seabed Restaurant too, which was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in mid Feb 2013 on an Itison deal, which offered excellent value. Our room was very nice with a lovely large and comfy bed. There were a few minor things needed fixed in the room. This included broken floor tiles in the bathroom, which I thought was dangerous to bare feet.

We ate in the Hotel's Seabed restaurant. My Seafood stew was amazing. My husband was very impressed with his steak. Food was seriously good. Several different types of home made bread were on offer were incredibly moreish. The Restaurant was quiet during our stay, despite it being St Valentine's weekend. All the better for us as the chef obviously put a huge effort into our meal. We are going back round again to stay in November and our table's already booked!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.1 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#3 of 14 in Tarbert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Hotel

Property: Anchor Hotel
Address: Harbour Street, Tarbert PA29 6UD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently fully refurbished to a very high standard, with interior design by Gilded interiors, Edinburgh. We offer 12 en-suite bedrooms, with Hypnos beds, wi-fi, flat screen tvs and most with fantastic harbour views. We have an extensive all day menu, including home made lunches, afternoon teas and fine dining all prepared to a high standard with fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible, seafood a speciality. We offer Scottish hospitality in the 21st Century and will endeavour to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and the first of many. Situated in the heart of the picturesque village harbour setting over looking Loch Fyne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing