We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and service”
Review of West Loch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Loch Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Went for food to the West Loch hotel this afternoon with a party of 5 and our wee dog. As soon as we were in the hotel we were treated as if we were staying. The staff were so helpful to ourselves and our wee dog. The food on offer was varied enough (for the meat eaters anyway), but there was only one main vegetarian dish on offer which was the tried and tested macaroni cheese with chips. We ordered the food an waited for it to arrive. During the wait, one of the members of staff brought out a 'doggy chew stick' on a plate for our wee dug, but because our wee dug is gluten intolerant she couldn't eat it. We thought this gesture was priceless and such a lovely touch. The food did take a while to arrive but it did not bother us as wee were sitting enjoying the chat. When the food arrived it looked totally amazing and so well presented. The macaroni cheese, chips with micro salad was the nicest I've ever tasted and the tomatoes were so so tasty (none of your crappy mega market rubbish here). Everyone in our group said the food was fantastic.

The manager (we think it was) gave a great run down of all the drinks and beers they had and was so helpful and knowledgeable.

This is a brilliant, brilliant place. The food was amazing and the price was not to bad at all. The staff were fantastic, so helpful and had a good laugh with them. Great place, great food, great staff, great inside. Thanks very much for your immaculate hospitality and I reckon we will be along later tonight for the dessert. :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallaceScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    68
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
108
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We visited at the beginning of May. Having just missed the Kennacraig to Islay ferry we continued driving up the A83 for a couple of miles and found this lovely hotel for a spot of lunch. Our friendly, helpful and interesting hostess gave us a very warm welcome, and lunch was great. This was a quiet time of year so we more or less had the place to ourselves, and thoroughly enjoyed our brief stop.

Don't be put off by the exterior. We visited on a sunny day but I can imagine, if it's raining, the hotel looks a bit bleak. What's important is what goes on inside, and we'd certainly go back if we ever miss the ferry again! I've given 4 rather than 5 stars because I cannot comment on the rooms as we didn't stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acoustic_willi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Upon arrival at the West Loch hotel, we parked out front where there was lots of parking. The hotel itself was beautifully presented and looking out over the loch. We went through a lounge to reception and it was beautiful. It was lit with dim lighting and candles. The receptionist was the owner himself, a lovely man who was very helpful. We were allocated room 6 as this was the baby friendly room. The room was on the second floor and it looked out over the loch. The travel cot was set up for us already and the room was gorgeous. After bringing everything to our room we went down to have dinner in the restaurant. Wow! Again, beautiful. What a wonderful place to eat dinner. The stone and wood set a cosy feel. A high chair was set up for the baby already. My mother had the fish and I had macaroni cheese which I shared with my one year old. It was absolutely Devine. We were served a complementary starter too which was lovely. My daughter was bought out a Disney plate and cup for her meal which she loved. The staff in the restaurant were so friendly and talkative. We were made very welcome and they attended our every need. The price of the food was very reasonable considering the quality was extremely high. We went back to our room. The beds were so comfy and the sheets and duvet were of good quality. We all had a very good sleep. The next morning we came down for breakfast and the high chair was set up at our table over looking the loch. There was a very wide selection of breakfast foods available. My mother had egg and salmon. I had fruit and toast.
The whole ambience of the hotel was on point and the owners had such good attention to detail through out. They were very involved in the running of the hotel which was lovely.
Most importantly when I left behind my daughters favourite toy, I called them and they sent it back to us with no charge. Also with a note on the packaging "VIP giraffe. Urgent!"
Thank you very much for such a wonderful stay. We will be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel is convenient to both the Arran and Islay ferries. The evening meal was excellent but they struggled with breakfast due to staff shortages. The bedroom was basic and in need of decoration. Did not enjoy dogs flying around the lounge areas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stopped by this Hotel while on the Campeltown to Oban cycle route. There were 15 of us and the hotel staff were fantastic, great friendly service and the open sandwiches were the best I've ever had,. Smoked venison and pear chutney, truly outstanding. The whole group were full of praise for every option chosen. I very rarely write reviews but felt compelled to write this. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Called in here for Lunch on holiday Monday with my wife, daughter and son in law. Absolutely amazed by the quality and presentation of the food here. Slightly pricier than other places in the area but worth every penny. Don't know who the chef is but the standard of food, presentation etc. Was excellent. Well done! We'll definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night prior to trip to Islay. Very welcoming owner and efficient staff. It really is a beautiful location. Food is of a very high standard. Emphasis on local produce, which is great to see.
Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broadhug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
437 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
265 reviews
14.3 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#2 of 14 in Tarbert
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Loch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Loch Hotel

Property: West Loch Hotel
Address: Campbeltown Road, Tarbert PA296YF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Loch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family-run establishment, the West Loch Hotel dates from around 1780, and is well known locally for having some of the best food in the area. We are well placed for guests passing through, and for those wishing to spend longer in the area, exploring Argyll & the Isles. Ideally located for people heading on the whisky trail to Islay (just minutes from the ferry), most guests find our large whisky selection the perfect start to their adventure! A charming, former coaching inn, the hotel has been sympathetically modernised over the years, retaining many of its original features. Our rooms are dog-friendly, with a choice of double or single rooms, and we have also got family rooms available for those travelling with children. Able to cater for small events, from birthday parties to weddings, we always go the extra mile to make sure your special occasion is extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your West Loch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Loch Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing