We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - Beautiful Location”
Review of West Loch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Loch Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great 3 night stay as the middle part of our tour of the Clyde. Hotel was easy to find with plenty of parking in front .Owners were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. An outside cigar immediately brought forth cushions for the garden furniture. Passing through the entrance hall, the restaurant was on the left and on the right a couple of lounges and the bar. One of the lounges was a conservatory with views looking out over the loch. It was great fun watching motorists speeding towards Kennacraig to make a ferry deadline.

The bedrooms were comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities, but a little cramped for two people - bit of juggle to open the door carrying very much. Shower room was in comparison reletively spacious with plenty of toiletries. Food was excellent with a varied menu - particularly enjoyable was the smoked salmon on the breakfast menu. Bar was well stocked with a great range of whiskies - but watch the prices - I was slightly shocked at the cost of three measures of a wooded expression of the Springbank Longrow !

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a rear facing room which was very quiet and away from the main room, though we did miss out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bearair52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 283 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were welcomed by the friendly and helpful Canadian hotel keepers. The room was nice, although not specially spacious.

The only real problem was the bathroom: the taps need some serious repair, as it was impossible to regulate the water temperature and the flow of water. The shower had to be taken in the bath, which was positioned underneath the slanted roof, meaning you had to kneel to take a shower.

Otherwise, our stay was very pleasant indeed. The hotels keepers went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The bar offered a plentiful assortment of whiskeys and gins, the restaurant staff was very helpful and the chef's food was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivanover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is my 3rd visit and every time it just gets better............. My dog, "Fly" recognises the hotel and excitement takes over not sure if the treats have some influence over this? She is allowed everywhere except the dining room and settles as if at home because of the wonderful atmosphere. The food was fantastic with a menu of variety using local produce, served by friendly staff with just the right amount of attention. The room was clean with beautiful views over the loch. The bar is now stocking an impressive range of malt whiskies which I would have loved to have had more time to sample, sadly I was only there for 2 nights. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Many thanks for serving us at the last minute, just turned up looking for a meal at 8.30pm. Lovely menu, a bit too hign brow for 2 youngsters with MacD's palates, ;-( The burgers were wasted on them sorry, they loved the hand made chips, though. The adults were very pleased with their choices, plentiful and filling. Wouldn't mind returning to stay in the hotel (without children in tow)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckielugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

At the time of booking this was the only hotel in the area with vacancies. It was conveniently situated close to the ferry terminal so we arrived with no great expectations. The reception staff were lovely and our room was on the second floor but that was alright, it was clean and comfortable with the most amazing views over the loch. We could simply have enjoyed the view all night. We went down to the restaurant expecting an average meal. We were welcomed with a smile and invited to sit by the window overlooking the beautiful loch. As it was the food was amazing. The starter was a beautiful crab concoction on bruschetta and the main meal beautifully fresh Langoustine cooked and presented to perfection with a gorgeous salad and a side dish of chips. There was an excellent selection of wine; an incredible selection of locally produced Gin and a whole book of single malts to choose from. The furnishings and art work downstairs were excellent and the rooms although good are probably a work in progress but the friendly staff and exquisite food more than compensated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had to make a last minute rush for the Islay ferry, and were looking for 1 nights accommodation in or near Tarbert Loch Fynne.
The only problem was that the weekend in question was the busiest weekend of the year, with the Scottish Series being on.
But we were given a last minute cancellation. We couldn't arrive until close to 9:00pm but they still managed to provide a lovely dinner.
The owners and staff are very friendly, and the bar has a simply fabulous selection of whisky's and gins!
The current owners have been incumbent for only years, and radually making improvements to all the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have views over the West Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRW1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was an impromptu one night stay, the result of missing our ferry due to a puncture on one of our motorbikes!
We popped in on the off chance of a room for the night, arriving at the busiest time! We received a lovely warm welcome from Katie, who couldn't have been more helpful and charming.
There are wonderful views over the loch. Plenty of nooks and crannies to unwind with a drink or two! The food was absolutely superb. The Iron Bru Ice Cream was amazing!
After an awful day, this was an absolute haven! We had a great evening.
The genuine hospitality and warmth shown was very much appreciated. We will definitely be back. If we can't stay at the Hotel, we'll certainly come to the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CazzMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
2.6 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
472 reviews
5 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
142 reviews
22.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,792 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Loch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Loch Hotel

Address: West Ridge Campbeltown Road, Tarbert PA29 6YF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range: $123 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Loch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family-run establishment, the West Loch Hotel dates from around 1780, and is well known locally for having some of the best food in the area. We are well placed for guests passing through, and for those wishing to spend longer in the area, exploring Argyll & the Isles. Ideally located for people heading on the whisky trail to Islay (just minutes from the ferry), most guests find our large whisky selection the perfect start to their adventure! A charming, former coaching inn, the hotel has been sympathetically modernised over the years, retaining many of its original features. Our rooms are dog-friendly, with a choice of double or single rooms, and we have also got family rooms available for those travelling with children. Able to cater for small events, from birthday parties to weddings, we always go the extra mile to make sure your special occasion is extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your West Loch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Loch Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing