We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Loch Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Anchor Hotel(Tarbert)
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonefield Castle Hotel(Tarbert)(Great Value!)
$180
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Kames Hotel(Tighnabruaich)
$175
$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal an Lochan(Tighnabruaich)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilfinan Hotel(Kilfinan)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Allt-Na-Craig(Ardrishaig)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grey Gull Inn(Ardrishaig)
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colintraive Hotel(Colintraive)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Argyll Inn(Lochgilphead)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
182
76
21
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
76
21
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperb lunchfamily mealmacaroni cheesenew ownersprawnssmoked haddockwell stocked barwork commitmentsreal highlighten route to islaydog friendly hotelcomfortable roomwarm welcomeearly ferryvaried menufeel very welcomestaff could not have been more
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 288 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We only stayed for one night before catching the ferry to Islay and we couldn't fault a thing........ Very much made to feel welcome by the owners, the room was clean with a large ensuite and the food was divine and cooked to perfection using locally sourced produce. Would definitely recommend a stay at West Loch!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belindam50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosaline R, Owner at West Loch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

It was a pleasure having you at our hotel We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

stayed for 2 nights very nice spacious room, hotel was clean throughout. restaurant food was good ate well both nights :) Reading the reviews below me seem very surprising, i found the staff and owners to be very friendly and very helpful. Will defifinate stay again on my next travels

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ally186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosaline R, Owner at West Loch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks for the lovely words. It was great having you as a guest. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night which was one night too many. Hotel has been taken over by Americans who were exceptionally rude. They haven't spent any money on it and its in desperate need of upgrading. The bathroom in our room was a disgrace and the waste system was horrendously noisy.

We ate in the restaurant and both of us ordered fish and chips. There was loads of bones in the fish so we complained and were met with a response of "everyone else is eating it and we've sold loads"! And your point is? We had the bones on our plate to prove it and its just not acceptable! No money was even taken off our bill.

The cost of the stay was disgraceful and we certainly won't be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juicylucy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosaline R, Owner at West Loch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

The reviewer makes a point of saying that we are “Americans”, indicating specifically directed xenophobia. West Loch Hotel has no American owners – all four of us are UK born and UK citizens.
We are accused of being rude by a woman who said on arrival: “Our friends said why on earth would you want to stay there, we were there
10 years ago and it was awful”. They were piqued because I asked other guests if they were enjoying the fish and one replied “It’s outstanding”. The reviewer asks “And their point is?” The point is that our fish is world class, beautifully fresh from the waters of Loch Fyne and people travel miles to come and eat it. Most of them, I am sure, appreciate that filleting is not an exact science and occasionally a few small bones do remain – even fish fingers can be risky – and these bones were miniscule. Clearly these women were angling for a discount, which they were surprised not to receive.
Among her several "poor" and "terrible" reviews of other hotels, this woman with the unfortunate nom de plume slates one hotel for having the bad luck to sited on the edge of town involving “rip off taxis and buses” to reach the city centre, so not someone who accepts that people have to make a living and fuel is not cheap.
The room she and her companion occupied is not one of our most spacious, nor does it have the best view, but that is reflected in the price. We do not agree that the bathroom is a disgrace. It has a bath and a good powerful shower, and an eco toilet. It we have to be slightly noisy to be green, then so be it.
To say that no money has been spent on the hotel is simply incorrect.
Our regulars tell us that we have transformed the place into a welcoming, cosy hotel. We have spent on new carpeting, new restaurant chairs, remodelling the bar, and a total redecoration programme that is already more than halfway completed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My friend and i enjoyed a week long stay at this lovely hotel.
I found the owners to be most welcoming and very accommodating. We were made to feel comfortable straight away.
There was always a lovely friendly atmosphere within the hotel, especially in the afternoon & evenings in the lounge area.
The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard.
The food was delicious and presented beautifully.
I would definitely recommend the West Loch hotel and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed on Saturday the 12th of January 2013.

The stay started reasonably well but was absolutely ruined when I noticed a pile of dog vomit behind the couch in our room (Room 1).
I complained immediately - my wife had to leave the room feeling nauseous, and the waiter who had previously served our meal turned up to clear it up "It's not fresh!" he said "It must have been here for about a week, it had mould on it"

There was no offer of a change of room and I explained that I would like to speak to someone after breakfast.

In the morning I spoke with one of the the co-owners who agreed that this was totally unacceptable and apologised profusely she also agreed to waive the fee and give us another stay free of charge in future, by way of recompense "It's the least we can do!" she said.

I sent an email requesting availability the week after Easter reminding them of my previous experience and the conversation the following morning.

Today I recveived an email message stating that they feel they have done all they need to by waiving the fee first time around and the offer of a further stay was no longer on offer....

....Proof that their customer care skills are akin to their standards of cleanliness. Enough said!

Room Tip: Don't take room 1 if sickly dogs have been resident the week before!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosaline R, Owner at West Loch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

This review is entirely at odds with the long run of four and five star ones we have enjoyed over the past two years since we took over the West Loch Hotel. Our housekeeper is adamant that she pulled the couch out from the wall and hoovered all around it before this stay and that she saw no trace of dog vomit. This leads me to pose three questions: If the offending item was covered in mould, how did the guests recognise it as dog vomit as opposed to, say, baby sick or something else altogether?
How would any creature manage to be sick at the base of the back of a couch set hard against two walls? How did the guests happen to "notice" the pile in the room when it was entirely hidden from view behind a heavy, double bed futon couch, and, according to our waiter, did not smell?
However, when the guests complained, we set about putting matters to rights. Room 1 is our best room, so we did not want to offer another room, which would be a downgrade, so the offending item was removed, the area scrubbed and then treated with anti-bacterial spray.
In recompense for what had allegedly happened, we did not just waive the charge for the room, but also the entire cost of the guests’ dinner, drinks and breakfast. Thus their stay did not cost them a single penny.
When they were told “we hope you will try us again”, they took it as an opportunity to seek a second, entirely free stay. This worst-possible review is clearly mean-spirited and written as a reprisal because we did not acquiesce to the request for another free stay.
We leave the reader to decide whether our compensation was insufficient or whether the guests’ demand for a second free stay was beyond reasonable.
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews