We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”
Review of West Loch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Loch Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Yesterday I had the pleasure of re-visiting the West Loch Hotel, to find that there were new owners, who had taken over only in June and what a difference!! A friendly, cheerful Hotel with food to match and guest who are enjoying their stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kachanovka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 280 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

This was an accidental find - as I was rushing last minute to get rooms for five bikers on a tour of the Lochs.
The staff/hotel owners where very helpful and welcoming, the food was great - both breakfast and evening meals - and the view from the bar was astounding.
It’s a peaceful and relaxing place to wind down after a long (sometimes wet) day in the saddle.
Rooms where clean and the beds comfortable, and the town is only 10 minutes walk away. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreezingIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We have eaten here on several occassions and the food is of good standard but it does have a limited menu.
The hotel and bar area is very cosy with a relaxed atmosphere. However, during our visits the hotel lacked life possibly due to lack of residents at the time we were there.
The restaurant has a large window affording views of the adjacent west loch.
The hotel is great to stop by for a drink, bar snack or full meal.
I cant comment on the accommodation as we have not stayed here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We visited at the beginning of July, a week or so after the new owners took over, which was some 6 years after our previous visit. The hotel was clean comfortable and the breakfast over looking the loch was excellent . The "hands on" new owners sought out our views and discussed their future plans, which will make Loch Tarbet even better than it is at the moment. We look forward to returning on our next visit to Scotland

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertTheAuditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

we recently stayed at the West Loch, we found the new oweners extremely helpful and friendly, the hotel has great views and a great chef. The hotel was always clean and tidy with a smile on all staff members faces, a great place for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Picture_perfect333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed recently as it was the nearest hotel to were we needed to be for a wedding. It's clean and tidy and very basic but I guess that is reflected in the price. It seems as if there is work to be done there to make it more welcoming and accessible, it is very confusing when you arrive as to where reception might be. It is also disconcerting to have a hatch opened to speak to you which is firmly shut and locked as soon as the conversation is over. The owners were helpful however and breakfast very good indeed, so we'd recommend the hotel for a night or two passing through on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Clean, nice room, good sleeping quality, great scottish breakfast, perfect service, perfect location if you need to catch an early ferry. We arrived quite late (10 pm), which was not an issue at all. We had an en suite room with a great view onto West Loch Tarbert. Our bathroom had only bath but no shower. I would recommend this nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farr727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnersofWESTLOCH, Owner at West Loch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Thanks for the review. We are so glad you liked our Hotel. Nice to have met you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
2.6 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
461 reviews
22.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#2 of 14 in Tarbert
265 reviews
24.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Loch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Loch Hotel

Address: West Ridge Campbeltown Road, Tarbert PA29 6YF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range: $107 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Loch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family-run establishment, the West Loch Hotel dates from around 1780, and is well known locally for having some of the best food in the area. We are well placed for guests passing through, and for those wishing to spend longer in the area, exploring Argyll & the Isles. Ideally located for people heading on the whisky trail to Islay (just minutes from the ferry), most guests find our large whisky selection the perfect start to their adventure! A charming, former coaching inn, the hotel has been sympathetically modernised over the years, retaining many of its original features. Our rooms are dog-friendly, with a choice of double or single rooms, and we have also got family rooms available for those travelling with children. Able to cater for small events, from birthday parties to weddings, we always go the extra mile to make sure your special occasion is extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your West Loch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Loch Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing