We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The hotel is situated in a beautiful setting and really does have spectacular views however, the hotel itself is pretty average. The room we stayed in was decent enough but did not quite live up to the "luxury" experience that the tariff of the room would have suggested. We stayed on the room, dinner and breakfast tariff and were quite disappointed with the food. The dinner was OK but the breakfast was the worst that I have had in a hotel in a long time- we even found an earwig on a plate under the napkin. The view from the restaurant nonetheless was stunning. An OK place to stay but not quite up to the standards of other "luxury" hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel_1767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2010

Really enjoyed our short stay here. The walk from reception to your room up the grand staircase makes you feel really special! The room we had was in the actual castle and had a lovely loch view. The bathroom was large, great plumbing for old building and the room and bathroom were very clean.. We went for a walk in the beautiful grounds before dinner, which we and the dog enjoyed! The meal was excellent, great seafood from Loch Fyne, but a good meat choice for those not wanting fish. The meal was a bit pricey, but no more so than a similar restaurant in Glasgow, so were were pleased with that, especially as the food was better than usual hotel food! Great service too. The staff were very attentive, and courteous. The bar was cosy with an amazing selection of whisky. All in all we felt pamered relaxed and a bit special!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Had a wonderful night at Stonefield en route to the Islay ferry at Kennacraig. I thought it might be quite formal but I was delighted with the very relaxed atmosphere, attentive staff, beautiful menu and delightful grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morna76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Recently spent two night at this hotel. Thought it well appointed, magnificent scenery, set in beautiful grounds and gardens. Staff very pleasant on arrival and dining room staff very attentive and engaging. Well prepared and presented food. Thought room very spacious and properly equipped - bathroom could do with a makeover.
All in all a delightful hotel with magnificent reception rooms and bar to sit and have a quiet drink and read in.
Only thing that irked was phoning hotel before booking on-line to check price to be quoted a significantly increased price. When queried was told by reception to book on-line!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Arrived after a long drive to be greeted by very pleasant girl at reception who changed our room when I was joking with her that I would like a really nice one - were given a room in the main house with a view of the loch which was lovely. Bathroom a little tired but is an old building so not a problem - wonderful shower!!. Were there for a two night stay to chill out after what had been a stressful year. Had dinner in the restaurant on both nights and the food was really lovely - oncly critisicm may be possibly to have a wider choice for non fish eaters. Service was very good . Went home feeling much more relaxed than I had been and would stay here again when hopefully the weather may be a bit better.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

This was my second visit to the "Stonefield". I am so glad I gave it another chance, our twin room was spotless, the staff were pleasant and I did not find any 'nasty surprises' hidden in room this time.

Special mention should go the young foreign staff including Peter, who came across as being friendly and polite. His and the other foreign staff members gave professional service to both my aunt and myself. There was no snootieness or attitude with these young staff members and it was a pleasure to eat in the restaurant with them looking after us. They were also immaculate in their dress, Peter your white shirt was gleaming white and ironed to perfection, be proud young man!

I have to also mention the food as our meal was fab, well done to the chef and all in the kitchen. Breakfasts were brilliant and set us up for our days out travelling to Campbeltown etc. On our last morning, there was a new breakfast menu, this got thumbs up from us and our breakfast was very enjoyable throughout our stay.

It was so relaxing to sit in the drawing room , just off the library to just sit and read in perfect peace and quiet, enjoying a cappuccino or drink at the same time.

My only complaint on this visit was a snorer in the room next door, but this can happen in any hotel and thus is not the hotels fault.

The setting and atmospere at the Stonefield Castle is spectacular, well worth a visit.

I will definately visit again and hope it keeps to the standard I experienced this time.

Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soozi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We just got back from a 3 night break at Stonefield Castle Hotel. My husband and I went for our 10th wedding anniversary and also took our dog with us. This was the first holiday we have taken the dog on and I had been worried that the hotel may 'tolerate' dogs but not really welcome them. I had no reason to be concerned at all, the staff were lovely with our dog and gave him lots of cuddles. One of the kitchen staff even gave the dog a little first aid treatment as he'd cut his paws on the rocks in his exuberance to go swimming in the loch.
We found the hotel itself to be really nice. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Some other reviews mentioned that some rooms could do with a lick of paint. The hotel was repainting the snooker room while we were there so they are making an effort. It's not really modern, but I think it's decorated suitably for a castle, with lots of character.
The views around the hotel are stunning. The food was really good, best to reserve a window table in the restaurant to make the most of the views.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful (especially Carolynn and Mags).
There are great walks around the hotel grounds and down at the loch.
We drove into Tarbert (5 mins drive, 20 mins walk) one afternoon and had a look around the few shops there, ate chips and watched the fishing boats. We also drove to Oban (1 hour drive) one day which is a lovely little village, with a lot of shops and cafes. It's not too far to the Mull of Kintyre, and you can also get the ferry across to Arran.
The hotel also has Wi-Fi which was a huge plus for us. It's not free but it's only a very small charge. It cost us £4 for 4 days.
We had a great time at Stonefield Castle and will definitely be going back. I would recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing mini break. 3 nights seemed the perfect amount to stay, just enough so we didn't get bored.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJames78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
2.6 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
283 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
472 reviews
4.1 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
142 reviews
12 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
290 reviews
23.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Castle Hotel

Address: Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6YJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range: $90 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonefield Castle Hotel is an outstanding example of Scottish baronial architecture. Built in 1837, the Castle stands high on the famous Kintyre peninsula, commanding spectacular panoramic views over Loch Fyne. In keeping with its unique location and character, many of the original period furnishings have been retained to complement the timeless ambience that is Stonefield Castle. Guests can relax in the traditional elegance of wood panelled lounges with fine corniced ceilings, unwind on leisurely walks through the sixty acres of woodland grounds, or simply enjoy a leisurely pace of life far removed from the stress of city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stonefield Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Castle Tarbert
Hotel Stonefield Castle
Stonefield Castle Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing