We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent two nights at Stonefield Castle last week and enjoyed it very much. The building itself is beautiful and the location stunning. The interior is quite dark - wood panelling, dark carpets and quite sombre curtains, but it all works very well together and when a myriad candles are lit after dark, it is quite magical. The open log fires are always a nice sight. The staff were very very good, most helpful and always pleasant. We had our Golden Retriever with us and he was welcomed everywhere except the restaurant. The Castle is set is quite substantial grounds and there are some very nice walks including one round their own little island which is attached to the mainland by a causeway. When we went it was very muddy, following all the rain we had been having, and in one place it was a bit of a scramble over rocks which are obviously covered at high tide. Nonetheless, it was a lovely walk and we didn't even mind the rain which was very soft and blew over quickly. There are just one or two points. Our room was in an extension at the back of the castle unfortunately put up in the 1960s which was a heyday of ugly buildings. It had a view of Loch Fyne and was very pleasant, with a nice big bed and a modern bathroom with a shower over the bath. However the sound proofing left a lot to be desired and you could hear the television in the next room quite clearly. The other thing was the cheeseboard at dinner. It came with 3 pieces of cheese on the small side and 4 mini oatcakes and cost £9! I think at that price one would have expected a more generous helping. However, apart from that the food was very good, especially the langoustines and salmon. My only criticism is that the main courses lacked any sort of green vegetables, but that is true of most restaurants these days. We will certainly return as it is a very nice hotel in a lovely area but I will make sure we get a room in the main part of the house.

Room Tip: The soundproofing in the rooms in the extension was not very good so if you had noisy neighbours you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    335
    102
    39
    20
See reviews for
121
638
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and it must have been the most relaxing two night we've had to date. The location is outstanding and the views stunning. The food was good but not great. Having eaten in many a restaurant, I felt the food could have been improved with us being served dry chicken and what must have been the smallest £5 dessert in the world. I must however highlight the excellence of the staff. They were friendly, polite and very helpful. Will definetly be back for the service and location. Good work Bespoke.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollywood1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed overnight ant stone field castle and it was out of this world. Was last here in 1975 and the old world ambience is still there. The public areas were beautiful and so relaxing with the log fires burning at night. Our evening meal was exceptional and service very good. The servers were a credit to your hotel. Breakfast was also very good. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cab23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have stayed here quite a few times and novelty has never worn off. It is a touch of the past with all that entails.Character and charm ooze from the paneled walls and open fires and matched by the old fashioned sense of service and quality that is so sadly lacking today. The food is excellent and hats off to the new chef who had a hard act to follow. The staff are always happy and friendly and epitomize the phrase "service with a smile". With beautiful grounds and equally beautiful scenery our attraction to this place never wanes and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful and pampered retreat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

My partner & I stayed 1 night as a stop over on way to Islay. Loved the hotel, couldn't fault anything. Staff lovely & friendly, food delicious, idyllic location, stunning views, room was excellent, great shower.
Great selection & knowledge of whisky
Panoramic views from the restaurant for breakfast were sublime
We will definitely be making a return visit as soon as we're able!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our last visit was nearly 12 years ago for my fiftieth birthday after spending our honeymoon there the previous January. The place has a special place in my heart so time for a revisit. So whats's changed ? Not a lot really ... it was as I remembered. Beautiful views, peace & quiet, good food. Just a couple of problems, the room was very hot, soon solved by opening the window, my husbands meal on the first night was poor, reheated lamb from Sunday lunch we think. When we mentioned it an apology would have been nice but the member of staff on duty that night didn't seem to know how to re-act. Yes the hotel could benefit from some TLC but that's part of it's charm, I'll definitely return but not in 12 years time

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view and an extra pillow
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1952uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

stayed two nights in this castle yes castle the interior has not been touch huge rooms real fires no gym just excellent food and drink all game and fish is local to area . The staff are really friendly and helpful The view from our window was of loch fyne they have thier own island which has a lovely walk the gardens are beautiful The area is so relaxing and peaceful The decor looks a bit tried but I think that just adds to the atmosphere the housekeeping cannot be faulted the place was spotless we will be returning to this hotel later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
425 reviews
2.6 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
254 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
264 reviews
12.0 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
270 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Castle Hotel

Property: Stonefield Castle Hotel
Address: Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6YJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonefield Castle Hotel is an outstanding example of Scottish baronial architecture. Built in 1837, the Castle stands high on the famous Kintyre peninsula, commanding spectacular panoramic views over Loch Fyne. In keeping with its unique location and character, many of the original period furnishings have been retained to complement the timeless ambience that is Stonefield Castle. Guests can relax in the traditional elegance of wood panelled lounges with fine corniced ceilings, unwind on leisurely walks through the sixty acres of woodland grounds, or simply enjoy a leisurely pace of life far removed from the stress of city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Stonefield Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Castle Tarbert
Hotel Stonefield Castle
Stonefield Castle Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing