We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a castle in Scotland. How baller is that?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It's a castle in Scotland. How baller is that?”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It's a freaking castle. What's more epic than staying in a castle in Scotland? That's right, staying in the penthouse room for 130 pounds. The inside of the castle is exactly what you'd expect. Chandaliers, dark glossy wood paneling, and old bookcases that look like they should lead into hidden rooms pulled everything together.

The only down side (although it's probably not a down-side for most people) is that this place is about 2 hours West of Glasgow in a little port town called Tarbert (somewhat the middle of nowhere). The only reason we stayed here was because we had previoulsy stayed in Islay and took the 6pm ferry. It might be slightly out of the way if you're just coming here to stay the night, especially because the weather may not be as friendly as it was to us. I bet this place gets much more attention during the summer.

You'd think this whole castle thing would be cliche, but they pulled it off extremely well. I would have worn a suit if I had packed one. But even if you think it's cliche, you won't when you experience their fully stocked whisky bar. That's right, you'll be sipping whisky in a library room of a castle in Scotland. 'Ach... There was probably even a princess stuck in one of the towers. I'll definitely come here again with my parents the next time I'm in Scotland.

Room Tip: Get the penthouse on the third floor if you can afford it. If not, just drink at the bar downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemens W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    339
    112
    41
    20
See reviews for
128
651
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just back from a weekend at Stonefield castle. An excellent peaceful retreat. Staff were very welcoming and did everything possible to make your stay enjoyable.
Fantastic views from the hotel particularly the dining room which has panoramic views across Loch Fyne. I am sure it would be even more spectacular when the rhodedendrons are in bloom!
Food very good and reasonable offering a la carte or casual dining in the lounge. Breakfasts were wonderful with a wide range of local produce on offer.
No fitness centre or spa in this hotel but excellent walking and bird watching in the estate. Local town Tarbert is pretty too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hibey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Certainly stay here again, a touch of old world class & great food. What a beautiful spot, the weather did help tremendously - if only we had this more often in Scotland - no one could touch us!
Trying to be balanced: breakfast could have been slightly better and dining room a tad cold in the evening, (but then it was a very cold night) but all in all VERY good. Bar could have better provision of draught beer but I'm being picky. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a view if you're there before dark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigiefortScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked an overnight stay at Stonefield Castle with a dinner, bed & breakfast deal. The castle itself is lovely and the ground and views are stunning. The corridors are a bit dated, but the rooms themselves are nice, although the bathrooms are also a bit dated, but spotlessly clean. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the food was really good. I would recommend for a quiet break - after dinner you can simply chill out in the library or one of the public rooms with a drink.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff beautiful location with stunning views. The restaurant was lovely with excellent views over the loch. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety to chose from. Warm and comfortable rooms very cosy and clean. All in all a very nice place for a trip away

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Short two night break in sunny dry February weather (unusual) which enhanced the lovely views from our loch facing room (£20 extra per night but worth it ) and dining room . Hotel and rooms in need of some refurbishment but comfortable and friendly helpful staff . Good breakfast and dinner with langoustines and scallops from loch tarbert , just as well as most restaurants in nearby tarbert closed during the week at this time of year . Hotel gardens make for a pleasant walk . Highlight of our trip was day trip to Gigha and its Achamore gardens , regular twenty minute ferry crossing from Tayinloan

Room Tip: Old part of the building facing the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent a long weekend here at Stonefield Castle and if I started now I'd run out of superlatives to describe the beauty of the grounds and area surrounding the hotel in about a week, it's stunning!
The staff were polite, attentive and professional in every degree, from the welcome on our arrival, through every sumptuous meal in their "dining room with a view", and WHAT a view it is!!! We were treated like royalty from the second of our arrival until our reluctant departure. We'll be back in a month or so for some more recharging of the batteries. A sheer delight! Thank you

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tubista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
443 reviews
2.6 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
266 reviews
12.0 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
475 reviews
23.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,152 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Castle Hotel

Property: Stonefield Castle Hotel
Address: Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6YJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonefield Castle Hotel is an outstanding example of Scottish baronial architecture. Built in 1837, the Castle stands high on the famous Kintyre peninsula, commanding spectacular panoramic views over Loch Fyne. In keeping with its unique location and character, many of the original period furnishings have been retained to complement the timeless ambience that is Stonefield Castle. Guests can relax in the traditional elegance of wood panelled lounges with fine corniced ceilings, unwind on leisurely walks through the sixty acres of woodland grounds, or simply enjoy a leisurely pace of life far removed from the stress of city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonefield Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Castle Tarbert
Hotel Stonefield Castle
Stonefield Castle Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing