We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but could do a lot better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We had a standard room which definitely had seen better days. Rather shabby but beautifully comfortable king size bed.

The public rooms are similarly faded but are very comfortable and the wood fire in the hallway was a delight.

My main point of complaint would be the seeming lack of staff training. All the staff were very polite and friendly but this bills itself as a four star hotel. The basic 'serve from the left remove from the right' was completely ignored and overall service was quite amateurish. Substituting mayonaisse for a chili dip was rather silly although the quaility of food at dinner was very good.

Not so at Breakfast - my poached egg and bacon was delivered swimming in water and the bacon was very tired with a cardboard texture - definitely cooked at least an hour before service and then kept warm- similarly the toast was soggy and not crisp. This is not 4 star standard at all!

I would stay here again mainly because there is so little good accomodation in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jazzandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Stonefield Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Thank you very much for your comments after your recent stay. We do try to make every guest feel welcome and at home and the staff do try very hard to achieve this. We have had a turn round of staff and management over the last few months therefore training is on-going at present. I was disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your breakfast as this is definitely cooked fresh to order and if you had not been happy with your breakfast we would have been more than happy to replace for something else which you may have enjoyed more.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Stonefield Castle in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for a romantic getaway weekend for our birthdays and we weren't disappointed by our first view of the castle although we didnt receive the warmest of welcomes. We were pleasantly suprised by the room which was tastefully decorated with some nice touches. Very clean and well equipt. The picture on the website of our room showed a fantastic view but infact it was a veiw of the long flat roof of the diningroom extension.
On our first night (Friday) we were put in the small lounge for dinner as there wasn't enough people to open the dining room. There was no atmosphere and felt like we were eating in a library. The breakfast on the first morning was the same and we had to wait for breakfast as they forgot our order.
The second night (Saturday) was a complete contrast to the first. The bar/restaurant staff couldnt have been more helpful. The restaurant with amazing panoramic views was open and the food was excellent. The service was attentive, although as it was low season the restaurant emptied by 10 oclock and we found ourselves dining alone. The bar was open and the barman was extremely friendly.
Breakfast on our last morning was served in the dining room. We couldn't have asked for nicer views over the loch and the breakfast was ample and prompt.
Even though we were woken by the fire alarm on both nights, due to smoke from the old boiler, (one being at 2 am and us having to evacuate the building in the rain) the staff were very accommodating, offering us free drinks. This actually added to the fun of our romantic stay.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.
Overall shower rating>>>> 9/10

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb_Steve66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed for the 4th time at this hotel. I think that says it all. We were married there and enjoy the superb location, hospitality, food and comfort. We've booked to go again this year... our 5th time. Book it and enjoy it but leave a bedroom for us!

Room Tip: Loch view rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandJWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

If your looking for a pristine contemporay hotel this is not for you, However if you are looking for a hotel with character in a stunning location and away from the commercialised loch lomond area then this is for you.
Once you drive past loch lomond the road to Tarbert and around loch fyne is simply breath taking, the hotel itself is situated in beautiful grounds sitiing on the edge of the loch, the hotel is old and it keeps with this character, we found the food exceptional especially the sea food, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and unlike previous testamonials about this hotel the Log fire was on and if not they would put it on for you all you had to do was ask, this is truly a place to get away from it!!! you will even struggle to get mobile reception (bliss) but they do have wifi for those who need to stay connected.
Overall an excellent hotel , just dnt go there and expect everything to be modern thats not what it is, but would reccomend this
otel evey time

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relax025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Our granddaughter and her husband had a magical fairytale wedding at Stonefield Castle. The weather, the food, the setting, the rooms, the staff and the service were all more than we could ever have expected.
It was just perfect and we enjoyed every minute.
As with any wedding there are always last minute glitches but Oxford Hotels and the staff at Stonefield managed to smooth them all away and catered for all of our requests. The food in praticular was memorable - the best seafood chowder ever!
The wedding took place outside with all the chairs with their fluttering seat covers shimmering in the highland sunshine with the blue loch beyond.
Just what we anted and even more. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superskierBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

What really made it worth paying the high B&B rate required was the hotel's position - as described by other reviewers, the hotel is set in a wonderful spot with views spanning across Loch Fyne (but not from our standard room), and its beautiful gardens. The actual hotel is another story. The building is beautiful and feels grand, but the rooms could do with some new furniture (the mattress in particular wasn't comfortable at all) and some more gadgets - no fridge, no safe, old and worn out bathrobes just to mention a few issues. I don't think I'm not being fussy here - just think that if one's claiming to be a 4 star establishment (and charge like it!), then they should also deliver accordingly. The real issue however was the staff's approach to guests - especially reception staff. There was a complete lack of warmth about them which made us feel rather unwelcome from the minute of our arrival. We were not welcomed or told anything about the hotel by the reception attendant (not even where the restaurant was!), or asked if we needed anything, just shown to our room and left to discover everything by ourselves. We had a real issue with the shower in the morning - it was impossible to control the water temperature of both the sink and the shower, the water was just simply coming out at about 70-80 degrees (no joking here - one couldn't stand in the bath from how hot it was). We kept trying for about 20 mins before asking the reception staff. They limited themselves to explaining that there was no maintenance work going on that day and couldn't understand what was going on, but also said that the hotel was full and that we would just have to live with it, i.e. not have a shower. After another 10mins reception phoned the room to say that they were wrong and there was one room available and if we wanted we could have a shower there... this was on another floor in another wing of the building but, still, better than no shower! These things happen, but I was disappointed by the fact that the staff never offered an apology for the inconveniences that this caused. When I settled the bill, reception staff did not mention this issue or apologise in any way, so I brought it up just to hear that yes, these things happen but I should also have been grateful that there was one free room and we were allowed to use that bathroom! This after paying £110 for one night. I am afraid, but it is not good enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Filippo_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Stonefield Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2011

I’m sorry about the problem you experienced with the hot water during your stay. We did experience temporary problems with the hot water supply during your stay but please be assured this was an isolated incident and the problem has been rectified to avoid any recurrence.

I have discussed your comments with the team as it is most unusual for any of them to be described as unhelpful or ‘lacking warmth’. We have prided ourselves on the friendliness of the team and I am sorry that this was not your experience.

If you are in the area in future please feel free to contact me directly and I am sure we can restore your faith in Stonefield castle Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Drive up to this hotel, with its extensive gardens and view of Loch Fyne and you'll want to give it five stars. The same is true of its spacious rooms. But oh dear...
We booked two rooms only to be told just one appeared in the system; mention of our second room was scrawled on the back of a piece of paper. Still at least they checked us in.
At dinner, however, the wait for food went on and on; our eight year old had to wait 105 minutes for her main (and only) course. even then, all our meals were not brought at once. At breakfast the next morning, I ordered porridge followed by a cooked breakfast; both arrived at once. As I checked out, two other parties were complaning bitterly about waiting an hour without food.
The sofa in the lounge had one broken foot wedged underneath; the place could do with a refurbish. The toilet in one of our rooms didn't work.
So why not 1 star? At least they were nice about it; we were given a free bottle of wine and the kids food was taken off the bill; there was also money knocked off for the broken loo. With a change in management, this could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buttonwoodwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
2.6 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
283 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
473 reviews
4.1 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
142 reviews
12 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
290 reviews
23.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Castle Hotel

Address: Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6YJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range: $89 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonefield Castle Hotel is an outstanding example of Scottish baronial architecture. Built in 1837, the Castle stands high on the famous Kintyre peninsula, commanding spectacular panoramic views over Loch Fyne. In keeping with its unique location and character, many of the original period furnishings have been retained to complement the timeless ambience that is Stonefield Castle. Guests can relax in the traditional elegance of wood panelled lounges with fine corniced ceilings, unwind on leisurely walks through the sixty acres of woodland grounds, or simply enjoy a leisurely pace of life far removed from the stress of city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonefield Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Castle Tarbert
Hotel Stonefield Castle
Stonefield Castle Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing