We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairytale wedding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonefield Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fairytale wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

Our granddaughter and her husband had a magical fairytale wedding at Stonefield Castle. The weather, the food, the setting, the rooms, the staff and the service were all more than we could ever have expected.
It was just perfect and we enjoyed every minute.
As with any wedding there are always last minute glitches but Oxford Hotels and the staff at Stonefield managed to smooth them all away and catered for all of our requests. The food in praticular was memorable - the best seafood chowder ever!
The wedding took place outside with all the chairs with their fluttering seat covers shimmering in the highland sunshine with the blue loch beyond.
Just what we anted and even more. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superskierBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    316
    96
    37
    20
See reviews for
115
611
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

What really made it worth paying the high B&B rate required was the hotel's position - as described by other reviewers, the hotel is set in a wonderful spot with views spanning across Loch Fyne (but not from our standard room), and its beautiful gardens. The actual hotel is another story. The building is beautiful and feels grand, but the rooms could do with some new furniture (the mattress in particular wasn't comfortable at all) and some more gadgets - no fridge, no safe, old and worn out bathrobes just to mention a few issues. I don't think I'm not being fussy here - just think that if one's claiming to be a 4 star establishment (and charge like it!), then they should also deliver accordingly. The real issue however was the staff's approach to guests - especially reception staff. There was a complete lack of warmth about them which made us feel rather unwelcome from the minute of our arrival. We were not welcomed or told anything about the hotel by the reception attendant (not even where the restaurant was!), or asked if we needed anything, just shown to our room and left to discover everything by ourselves. We had a real issue with the shower in the morning - it was impossible to control the water temperature of both the sink and the shower, the water was just simply coming out at about 70-80 degrees (no joking here - one couldn't stand in the bath from how hot it was). We kept trying for about 20 mins before asking the reception staff. They limited themselves to explaining that there was no maintenance work going on that day and couldn't understand what was going on, but also said that the hotel was full and that we would just have to live with it, i.e. not have a shower. After another 10mins reception phoned the room to say that they were wrong and there was one room available and if we wanted we could have a shower there... this was on another floor in another wing of the building but, still, better than no shower! These things happen, but I was disappointed by the fact that the staff never offered an apology for the inconveniences that this caused. When I settled the bill, reception staff did not mention this issue or apologise in any way, so I brought it up just to hear that yes, these things happen but I should also have been grateful that there was one free room and we were allowed to use that bathroom! This after paying £110 for one night. I am afraid, but it is not good enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Filippo_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Stonefield Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
I’m sorry about the problem you experienced with the hot water during your stay. We did experience temporary problems with the hot water supply during your stay but please be assured this was an isolated incident and the problem has been rectified to avoid any recurrence.

I have discussed your comments with the team as it is most unusual for any of them to be described as unhelpful or ‘lacking warmth’. We have prided ourselves on the friendliness of the team and I am sorry that this was not your experience.

If you are in the area in future please feel free to contact me directly and I am sure we can restore your faith in Stonefield castle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

Drive up to this hotel, with its extensive gardens and view of Loch Fyne and you'll want to give it five stars. The same is true of its spacious rooms. But oh dear...
We booked two rooms only to be told just one appeared in the system; mention of our second room was scrawled on the back of a piece of paper. Still at least they checked us in.
At dinner, however, the wait for food went on and on; our eight year old had to wait 105 minutes for her main (and only) course. even then, all our meals were not brought at once. At breakfast the next morning, I ordered porridge followed by a cooked breakfast; both arrived at once. As I checked out, two other parties were complaning bitterly about waiting an hour without food.
The sofa in the lounge had one broken foot wedged underneath; the place could do with a refurbish. The toilet in one of our rooms didn't work.
So why not 1 star? At least they were nice about it; we were given a free bottle of wine and the kids food was taken off the bill; there was also money knocked off for the broken loo. With a change in management, this could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buttonwoodwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stonefield Castle Hotel is situated in a beautiful setting and has spectacular views over Loch Fyne and beautiful garden grounds. We had a superior suite with loch and garden views but this incurred a surcharge. Quality of service disappointing due to obvious lack of management training and control, resulting in a distinctly cool atmosphere throughout our stay and not in keeping with that expected of a 4* hotel.
Decor is a bit tired looking and windows in bedrooms badly in need of painting. Shower temperature fluctuates from cool to hot. Heavy curtains in room good for cold weather but very difficult to open and close. Bed was very firm. Heating turned off during the day. Log fires in all reception rooms but they were unlit, which was disappointing for early April, and did not help the general ambience of the hotel.
Service very slow at breakfast, at least 45 minutes, by which time the coffee and toast was cold. Extensive dinner menu but it didn’t change during our 4 night stay. Also guests should be aware that there is a strict £25 limit, excluding coffee, which doesn’t go very far, particularly if you choose the seafood or steak. There is also a distinct lack of staff. Several times we had to go to reception to find someone to serve at the bar, although the barman was very polite and helpful.
Finally, checking out a disaster with inadequate system for recording extras during stay resulted in a total farce having to manually check every item on the bill.
Overall, a disappointing experience. Other similarly rated hotels provide much better quality of service and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderBlackIsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Stonefield Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
I am delighted to read that you have experienced our “beautiful setting and spectacular views” here at The Stonefield Castle.
However, I am saddened to read that our service and hotel décor has not met you expectations during you stay. Unfortunately as we approach the spring and the summer months we do not light the log fires during these months, I can only apologise if you thought this was not a compliment to the hotels ambiance. A 45 minute wait for breakfast is certainly not acceptable and again please accept my sincere apologies for the staffing challenges you experienced. I would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and hopefully restore your faith in Oxford Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

Spent a very relaxing two nights at this stunning hotel. We ate both nights in the hotel and the food lived up to its Rosette Standard! The views from the restaurant are some of the best I have ever seen in a hotel. Room was a bit on the small side but very adequate. Reception welcome was not always the friendliest, however the bar and waiting team made up for that. Would definately stay again and more importantly, anyone wanting a relaixng break, I would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davyboi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed at Stonefield Castle for a 2-night break in mid-March. When we made the booking we were advised a double room would only be available for the first night and that we would need to move to a twin for the second; however, on arrival the very helpful receptionist checked which rooms were available and, without any prompting, moved us from a garden view room to a loch view one - a great choice! We also managed to get this for both nights - even better!
To keep it short, here are the good points: location - beautiful and peaceful; staff - very helpful and polite; good rates; good food. Areas for improvement: decor could do with improvement, both in the public areas and the rooms - our room was fine but the bathroom was rather dated and tatty (although we did like the hotel's character - better than the run-of-the-mill chain hotels!); food service - generally very good, but on our first morning there was a very long wait for breakfast, apparently due to there only being one cook on duty.
All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break. We will go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottish_Traveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

What a fantastic location set on the banks of Loch Fyne. The whole atmosphere of the area and of course the hotel itself is superb. Our room was clean comfortable and warm with a more than well equiped bathroom. The dining room, lounges and bar were more than comfortable with large armchairs and settees. The whole ambiance of the hotel shouted " Scotland at its best". The food was superb, both at breakfast and dinner. The staff were more than pleasant especially the dining staff. All in all a wonderfull all too short break and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dekboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.6 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
23.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
12.1 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Castle Hotel

Property: Stonefield Castle Hotel
Address: Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6YJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonefield Castle Hotel is an outstanding example of Scottish baronial architecture. Built in 1837, the Castle stands high on the famous Kintyre peninsula, commanding spectacular panoramic views over Loch Fyne. In keeping with its unique location and character, many of the original period furnishings have been retained to complement the timeless ambience that is Stonefield Castle. Guests can relax in the traditional elegance of wood panelled lounges with fine corniced ceilings, unwind on leisurely walks through the sixty acres of woodland grounds, or simply enjoy a leisurely pace of life far removed from the stress of city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Stonefield Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Castle Tarbert
Hotel Stonefield Castle
Stonefield Castle Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing