We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class”

Starfish Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fresh Scottish Seafood, simply cooked and presented, reasonably priced, served in a relaxed atmosphere. Hearty soups, homemade bread, delicious coffee and tasty homebaking.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

A week later we are still talking and savouring the meal at the Starfish. It was faultless. Truly incredible to have such food accessible to us. Better still that the chef and make it even more delicious. Having arrived by sailing boat I can honestly say it would be worth battling through a storm to have a meal at this restaurant. A special mention should also go to the staff who are very welcoming and have a great sense of humour.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    75
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A seafood lovers hevean!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

I can't compliment this restaurant enough. The unique and special ambience was created by merriment from relaxed tables; beautiful local paintings displayed on the restaurant walls and the wonderful smells being created by the talented kitchen staff. I would highly recommend the stafish stew and homemade bread. We will definilty be coming back to Tarbert not only for the wonderful walks but mainly to visit this special find. Thanks to all the team at Starfish.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bananatop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't by pass this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Tarbert has many places to chose from for an evening meal however this place is a must.
It's situated just behind the Corner House Bar so not it's not one of the first ones you notice. The food is outstanding and although it is a seafood restaurant they also cater for people who don't enjoy fish and shellfish.
I would recomend booking a table as they are always very busy.
The staff are friendly and polite and the atmosphere is great.
The last time I ate here I was with a party of around15. We each had 2 courses and numerous bottles of wine and fizz and the price was very resonable at £30 each.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Easy to see why this is number one in Tarbert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

My wife and I ate here on two consecutive evenings and could have easily had more meals here. The menu choice was such that it was difficult to choose. There was an a la carte menu together with a large blackboard detailing the specials of the day and the catches of the day.

We were not disappointed with our chosen dishes. The food quality was excellent and the service was great. If you are spending just one night in Tarbert this is a restaurant not to miss.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Humphrey_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top stars for the Starfish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

A chance peek in the door by our skipper got the thumbs up - "it has a nice aroma and looks homely" All six of our party were very pleased with the quality of the food and caring service. Fish pie, Seafood Stroganoff, Dougal's Smoked Haddock, King Scallops - all cooked to perfection. If we are ever back in Tarbert we will definitely eat at the Starfish again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rupertsona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starfish Restaurant also viewed

Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Been to Starfish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing