We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

Starfish Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fresh Scottish Seafood, simply cooked and presented, reasonably priced, served in a relaxed atmosphere. Hearty soups, homemade bread, delicious coffee and tasty homebaking.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great find fabulous quality seafood. Well cared for, nice atmosphere, attentive staff. You probably will need to book but if your in the area it's so worth a visit. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goose100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    75
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best meal we've had in a long time :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I can only echo the positive comments on here already. We called up last minute on a Saturday and managed to book a table - we were very lucky as it was incredibly busy for such a sleepy little town! Brilliant service by friendly, helpful staff - warm and inviting yet relaxed atmosphere (I love the local artwork that adorns the walls :) ). The menu is fantastic with something for everyone and an amazing choice of specials on the blackboard. The food is fresh and delicious and the portions generous. We shared a haggis starter (specials) then had a main course each - but kept stealing forkfuls of each others! Very full and happy bellies in a lovely place with lovely people - couldn't be happier!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hev24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great value quality seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stopped off here on the way to Machrahanish with friends and we were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great Service, Great Food...Great, Great, Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went here last weekend after a long days sailing through the Crinan Canal. Once there one of our party became ill and had to leave. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. They were willing to scrap (the already cooked order, cooked by the under staffed kitchen!) free of charge or simply wrap up the food to take away. That in itself was unbeatable service in my eyes. The food was devine accompanied by lovely wine. We couldn't recommend this a restaurant more! What a find! Thank you and we will be back :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzieGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best in Tarbert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent food - especially if you like seafood!
Great meal in lovely surroundings - cater for children - friendly staff and great service.
Will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starfish Restaurant also viewed

Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Been to Starfish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing