We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, well located B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 14 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I visited Southcliffe on the way to Islay but only had one night to enjoy our B & B and the village of Tarbert. The B & B is nicely decorated, very convenient both to the port of Askaig and within Tarbert. Our stay was too short but after a very nice breakfast we continued on to Islay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csg1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 83 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Travelled to Tarbert, Argyll and Bute, with 3 nutty pals to visit our friends who live just outside the town and booked into the Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast overnight.
Lovely clean, beautifully furnished rooms - we were in the twin and family rooms (sparkling white bed linen on comfy and well-researched matresses!) - with fab en-suite facilities. So nice, we all took ideas away for our own homes!
Agree with all other reviewers about the level of comfort - breakfast orders were taken on arrival and we weren't disappointed, the full Scottish breakfast was fantastic, together with cereals, toast, fruit juice and a platter of fresh fruit to maintain the balance!
Wouldn't hesitate to return - thanks Margaret and Mike, from Lesley, Louise, Lesley and Jane!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitten9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I thought this place was a delightful place to stay, the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful, they made you whatever you wanted.
The rooms have plenty of amenities including shampoo,shower gel, tea,coffee, hot chocolate,and biscuits.
The hotel is just two minutes from the Harbour.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I just wanted to type up a quick review of my experoence with the Southcliffe Bed & Breakfast.

I had booked up to stay here for just one night as i planned to work over on Islay and then stay over in Tarbert overnight before heading back to my home in Glasgow.

However, it turned out that i was unable to travel over to Islay - I couldnt get a phone signal to call the B&B, i managed to get an email over to the couple who run the B&B, and to let them know i had to cancel my plans. They got back to me really quickly and where very understanding.

The next time im in town i will be staying here due to the customer service i have recieved.

Great attitude towards the way they run the place. Thanks again for your understanding.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightfireuk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent a wonderful night at Southcliffe. The room was absolutely gorgeous - very clean, and fresh feeling, and the ensuite was spacious. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and all of the facilities were top quality. Margaret recommended a walk to Skipness (9.5 miles), and it did not disappoint. The fish breakfast was delicious, as was the fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebekahAndNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed for two nights in early July, all areas and bedrooms are well appointed and really clean. Breakfast was a large plate of gorgeous soft fruits following by a huge Scottish breakfast with haggis and black pudding or a lovely kipper. This was followed by freshly brewed filter coffee, great start to a morning and a holiday in Kintyre. Thank you Mike and Margaret.

C. Burrows

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank standishwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Spent two nights at Southcliffe. A wonderful bed and breakfast. Delicious breakfast with a plate of fresh mixed fruit and huge scottish breakfast and an alternative if wanted. Dont think we have been in a bathroom which sparkled so much should have asked Margaret what she uses to clean it! Will definitely stay here again, Tarbert is a beautiful little place with some good eateries.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarbert hotels
0.2 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
455 reviews
1.2 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
277 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#1 of 14 in Tarbert
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#2 of 14 in Tarbert
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Struan House
Struan House
#4 of 14 in Tarbert
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast

Address: Southcliffe Ileene Road, Tarbert PA29 6TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range: $91 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well proportioned, turn of the century stone built property (reportedly from the walls of the Castle of Robert the Bruce), modernised to include all rooms with en-suites, internet access and satalite TV's.The house is situated just a few minutes from the centre of Tarbert and within easy reach of local ferries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southcliffe Bed And Breakfast Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing