We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ca Dora Cafe

Ca Dora Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Paisley
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were in Tarbert for the day and had lunch at the CaDoro. Loch Fyne is well known for fish and seafood so we had high expectations. We both had fish and chips and were not disappointed. It was excellent! The fish was very fresh and was beautifully cooked. Service was good and friendly and the CaDoro is very clean and smartly decorated. They have quite a wide menu with lots of choice.
You know a place is good when the locals use it. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesandrewmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    102
    26
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good service but food below par”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner with my fiancé recently after recommendations from the local tourist office.

The cafe has a table license so we took a bottle of wine, which was great. I ordered a burger with bacon and cheese and my other half ordered the macaroni cheese. Service was quick and friendly despite the cafe being busy. The food was brought out after not long and was nicely presented, however it was all down hill from there. My burger was burnt on the outside meaning it was black and had a crust on it. The cheese was a single square of 'plastic cheese', which is sacrilege on a £7+ burger. My fiancé's macaroni was basically a roux white sauce with pasta. It had no seasoning and little to no cheese so it tasted very bland. The chips and salad were nice though.

The waitress (Abbie) asked how our meal was and I was very honest. She was very polite and apologetic, taking the most expensive item off our bill. I cant fault her customer service but the chefs are needing changed! I would maybe give this place a miss as there are nicer, more highly reviewed places in Tarbert

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank steevo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant, bright cafe which would happily visit again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Went here for lunch on a Wednesday in March and it was busy with a good atmosphere. The food was delicious and complimented by everyone in the party. The service was excellent and the girl even apologised that my milkshake would take bit longer because she was making fresh ice cream to put in it! Needless to say it was worth the wait. Topped off with coffee and cake, a good lunch had by all!
Will definitely visit again the next time we are in Tarbert.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bazxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This cafe never fails to impress me with fantastic food , piping hot and in generous portions. No " large plates and small portions" here. It's the first place we aim for when we visit Tarbert.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fabulous fish teas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Excellent little cafe. Warm and welcoming on a very cold night. Friendly and helpful young staff who served with a smile. Fish tea really top quality.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ewenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ca Dora Cafe also viewed

Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Been to Ca Dora Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing