We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing start to our week on Islay”
Review of Springside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springside B&B
Ranked #6 of 14 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Myself and my partner were travelling with our one year old daughter Dora, and it as our first stay in a B&B with her- Alison and Donald made us feel so welcome and were happy for her to sit at the breakfast table with the grownups in the morning! Springside is a beautiful house with wall decorations and ornaments that you could look at for hours. The cafe Ca Dora is a great place to have an evening meal (and they provided a high chair for the little one).

We had a lovely big clean and spacious room at Springside and a delicious vegetarian breakfast. The view from our window over the Tarbert sunset was a joy to behold. Thanks Donald and Alison for the perfect start to a week on lovely Islay :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mifster1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Springside B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 47 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed with Donald and Alison for four nights and could not fault their warm welcome and hospitality. Breakfast each morning was delicious and all our tastes were catered for, from amazing kippers to delicious scrambled egg with oak smoked salmon.
Donald was a mine of information about the local area and his suggestion for a tour of the Kintyre peninsular was just fantastic - he and Alison even conjured up some warm, balmy weather for us.
We arrived as strangers and left as friends.
Just one thing to be aware of, there is no shower in the single room private bathroom - but it wasn't a problem for us as we had two rooms and did nothing to detract from the enjoyment of our stay - oh and I must mention the cleanest windows in Tarbert!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIll7Gloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is a great BnB - rooms are spacious and warm and with everything you need - such a friendly welcome from Donald and Alison and a very warm welcome to also use the guest lounge - which was well stocked with books, games etc. For our pre dinner drinks Alison quickly provided glasses and bottle opener - thank you Alison. Donald's recommendations for eating were spot on - the Harbour Inn (fantastic, newly done up and beautiful food and view) and the Anchorage (new chef and great risotto !) We had a car and Donald with terrific with the time required to drive to Campbeltown or when and where we had to catch various ferries. This BnB is wonderful value for money - we have paid heaps more for much much less. The view is gorgeous also.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Springside is a fantastic B&B.

Donald and Alison could not do enough for us and it made for a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and looked out on to Tarbert Harbour. The amenities of the town only being a couple of minutes walk away. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. We walked the first leg of the Kintyre Way whilst there and i'd firmly recommend it.

Springside is a great example of how a B and B should be run.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapnBison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I phoned the Guest House to check on availability and when I asked for directions from the busstop Mr Marshall immediatley offered to come in the car to meet my sister and i from the bus if the weather wasn't too good. As the weather was great for the three days we were there this wasn't needed, but what a lovely thought. The B&B is in a perfect location with stunning views.The twin room we had overlooked the bay, was clean and spacious with fresh flowers. On the second day of our stay we were getting the ferry to Islay for a day trip.and Mr Marshall [Donald] arranged a lift for us to the ferry terminal [about 5 miles away] and he,himself, collected us in the evening! I only had tea and toast for breakfast, but my sister had a cooked breakfast both mornings and was happy with it.
I would recommend Springside to anyone, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank issydissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

I'd never visited the West Coast of Scotland before and wasn't quite sure what to expect, especially as the journey across from Edinburgh was filled with ruminations (from Scots men and women I hasten to add) as to whether the village would have a cash machine and other such new fangled items. My stay at Springside was for my friend's wedding, and the bride and groom also ended up staying there. The B&B itself is charming, with a view over the water, and intriguingly decorated with accoutrements of the owners time in Rhodesia. I had several full and well presented breakfasts, with very good coffee, and attentive but not overpowering service. Upon checking in I was also given a thorough "lay of the land" explantion as to where to eat that evening should I so wish. On wedding morning the man of the house was kind enough tolet me leave some of the reception booze in their fridge, and also, when he saw my dress and shoes, offered to drive me to the hairdresser where the bride was waiting for me. My ensuite room was very clean, warm enough, and again, nicely but not cheesily decorated, with a good shower.
The cost was £35/night (for a twin room but by myself), a price you just couldn't pay in England and expect to get this level of service and comfort. You actually feel that you're staying wth relatives that you don't know that well; the owners are friendly and interested, but leave you to yourself too. I would be happy to recommend this, quiet, gentle,polished little place, and the owners should be proud of themselves.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatOx4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hyppo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.3 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
451 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#2 of 14 in Tarbert
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Struan House
Struan House
#4 of 14 in Tarbert
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springside B&B

Address: Springside Pier Road | Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range: $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a fisherman''s home. Bedrooms upstairs. Lounge for guests downstairs for their sole use. Unbelievable views from front bedroom windows. Ensuite rooms. Breakfast made to your own requests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Springside B&B Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing