We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone in this lovely gallery!”
Review of Loch Fyne Gallery

Loch Fyne Gallery
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Tarbert
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Tarbert's friendly and relaxing shopping experience."Loch Fyne Gallery occupies a distinctive 1880s building beside Tarbert harbour. The fresh smart frontage opens up into the original ornate interior, and a spectacle of colour welcomes you. Eye-catching Scottish paintings and prints are the backdrop to beautiful jewellery, quality gifts, and books for all ages. Handmade greetings cards, maps & charts, art materials, stationery, and Scottish music complete the eclectic ever changing displays. A relaxed ambience, with friendly service and free-gift wrapping complete this must-visit shopping experience. Drop in and savour the warmth of this West Coast gallery. Open all year.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This attractive gallery and shop has a vast array of items, including beautiful paintings of local coastal scenes, jewellery, books, CDs, home furnishings, cards, toiletries, many of which have a Scottish theme and all at reasonable prices. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we were delighted with the offer to gift wrap our purchases beautifully at no extra cost. We always visit the shop when we are in Tarbert and never fail to find something to tempt us. Well worth a visit.

Thank sendmeanowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Owner at Loch Fyne Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear reviewer, thank you very much for taking the time to post this excellent review. It is gratifying to know that what we do is appreciated by you as a returning customer. The free gift wrapping is something we pride ourselves on, as we know it makes life easier for the customer to receive their purchase "ready to go." Thanks again and we look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Loch Fyne Gallery
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 85 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is a typical gift shop come gallery with some interesting print, posters etc and the general bric-a-brac one would expect to find in a general stationary shop. It is worth visiting if you want to by a memento from the area and to spend a few minutes in a typical Scottish rainy afternoon. However, I would certainly not rate it as the top attraction in Tarbet as it is nothing special and provides no insights in the area. It is a typical tourist shop.
I quite liked the bright colours and the friendly servers.

2  Thank Scotscouple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Owner at Loch Fyne Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear reviewer, I am struggling to know how to respond to your review as I do not recognise our business. We are in Tarbert not Tarbet, which is 60 miles away albeit, on the same road. We do not sell posters or "bric a brac", your description of our goods. We do sell a small amount of stationery, a tiny amount of our overall range. If you indeed visited our three trading areas and were in and out in a few minutes, then maybe you missed the wide range of quality gifts, jewellery, paintings and prints, not to mention the extensive section of Scottish books, local guides and information, or the Greetings Cards, Bargain Books and Childrens books. On your way out you may also have missed the Scottish music section. We do not cater for the tourist market but for everyone who enters the Gallery, many of whom continue to come back time after time since we opened in 2000. We do not rate ourselves the top attraction in Tarbert our customers do. If you have inadvertently confused us with another business please remove your review. If not, then I, and I am glad to say our customers disagree with your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a lovely shop and gallery. The pictures are modestly priced, with a good choice of framed and unframed prints. There is a great choice of greetings cards. The jewellery is very unique and is reasonably price. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. If you are in Tarbert- do not pass it by. Go inside I am sure that you will find something that you have seen elsewhere. I did.

Thank Sela-48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Owner at Loch Fyne Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear reviewer, many thanks for your positive review it is much appreciated. We are pleased that you found items on your visit that you had not seen elsewhere, this is basically what we are about, "something different at reasonable prices". I will pass on your comments about the staff who we are very lucky to have. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Good range of quality local art, not at all naff. Many decent seascapes to choose from & very reflective of the local landscape .

Thank YorkMillymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Owner at Loch Fyne Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear reviewer, many thanks for your positive review of the quality of the artwork displayed in the Gallery. We try hard to source images that as you say are reflective of the area and complement our other products. Thanks for taking the time to post a review it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Spotted some paintings on a day trip to the gallery and 6 months later emailed Steve who couldn't have been more helpful to get them to us. Can't say how good the service was and the paintings are even more beautiful in our home.
Thanks Steve.

Thank DanielF696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Owner at Loch Fyne Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear reviewer, so glad you are delighted with the prints you purchased from us and the service we provided for you. We are always pleased to mail out our products to customers who contact us after their visit to the Gallery. Thanks again for your custom, your support and for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne Gallery also viewed

Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Been to Loch Fyne Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing