We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One should have stayed longer”
Review of Bluebell Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluebell Cottage
Ranked #3 of 14 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greve, Denmark
Level Contributor
388 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,809 helpful votes
“One should have stayed longer”
Reviewed November 10, 2010

FANTASTIC! Two Danish couple stayed one night on our way from Islay to Arran. We SHOULD have loved to have stayed some more days.
One of the best B&B we have stayed at in Scotland. The rooms were BIG, clean and with everything you need. The breakfast ... more than nice. The host were extreamly friendly. You should try it!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank springbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
57
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Very comfortable and clean. Good scottish breakfast. A good place to stay before catching the ferry to Arran. Ferry terminal only 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksman0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting Tarbert Seafood Festival and the Crinan Classic Boats Festival. The cottage is newly built, very clean and comfortable. The owners were welcoming and hospitable. Rooms, food, and amenities all first class and in a leafy rural setting. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Bluebell Cottage after returning from the 2010 Feis Ile on Islay. We arrived late in the day, and hungry but Graham made a suggestion for dinner that turned out very well. He even called ahead, to The West Loch Hotel, to make certain we would be able to have a meal. What made our stay doubly enjoyable is that despite having no room for us the night before we departed for Islay, they found accomodations for us. This was completely unexpected but very much appreciated. The room was bright, clean, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was delicious and filling. We highly recommend Bluebell Cottage.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RMSJLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaddesley Corbett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We made fully welcome when visiting Bluebell Cottage. A great venue and conveniently located near to the ferry port at Kennacraig. We only the light breakfast for which there was lesser charge but it was still great.

The rooms were very clean and the little finishing touches were great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dead_Sheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Excellent B&B, as close to Kennacraig ferry terminal as you can get, just few miles to restaurants in Tarbert, lovely & quiet just a few birds singing in the morning once window open. Excellent welcome, rooms spotless, breakfast just right before getting on the morning ferry. Shame I had already booked on Arran for return as I would definitely have stayed on way back.
My next visit to Islay will include this B&B both ways.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlynnOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

A friend and I recently stayed at the Bluebell Cottage before catching the morning ferry to Islay. It is one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed in. Very new construction, you could eat off the floors, wonderfully modern bathroom with great shower, beds and bedding were comfortable, location was dead quiet, and they put on a terrific breakfast in the morning. The owner even came and picked us up at a restaurant in town so that we could drink and not worry about driving. Incredible service. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lownote-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
5.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
425 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
4.2 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
135 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
264 reviews
5.0 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#2 of 14 in Tarbert
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebell Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebell Cottage

Property: Bluebell Cottage
Address: Bluebell Cottage Skipness Road, Tarbert PA29 6YX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Bluebell Cottage Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing