We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Erin
Reviewed April 25, 2012

For a weekend mix of walking and sightseeing the Falcon's Nest in Port Erin is perfect. Situated close to the beach, railway station and bus terminus, the location is just right and they have a good sized car park across the road.

The staff are friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was spacious and well appointed with a view of the sea and the bay.

The food was excellent and was available either in the restaurant or in the bars.

Free WiFi was a big plus. Technical just for bar and reception it reached our room on 2nd floor.

First time on the Isle of Man and loved every minute. Must get back again and will definitely stay at the Folcon's Nest in Port Erin.

Room Tip: We paid a bit extra for a sea view and had the bonus of a very spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_in_Formby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 250 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

What a magical place Port Erin is, absolutely delightful. We took the family suite at the top of the Falcon's Nest Hotel overlooking the beautiful bay.

First impressions? Well, the 1980s decor could do with a hefty update, the pineclad ceiling made the rooms a little dark, and the duvet could be better with lighter bedlinen. BUT, this is just nitpicking because the family suite was very clean and very private, not to mention spacious.

The highlight for us at The Falcon's Nest was where many hotels let guests down. The breakfast. Wow! There was the 'buffet' full English breakfast, moreish pastries, as well as as much toast as you could eat, cereals, fruit juices, the tea and coffee just kept coming at us from the attentive staff, but the piece de resistance were the Manx kippers.... absolutely gorgeous!

My 15 year old son had two kippers for breakfast for the entire week we stayed there! In fact, we all had a kipper or two for breakfast every day!

The evening meals taken in the bar and conservatory overlooking the bay were faultless too.

Compliments to the chef and cooking staff.... we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in the apartments across the road from the Falcon Nest hotel which are owned by the hotel. The Apartment was very clean, modern and well equipped with 2 bedrooms and a sofa bed in the living room. Tea, coffee, milk,cleaning products and toiletries were provided which is a nice touch. The apartments are literally a minute from the beach and are centrally appointed near to shops and restarants. I would definatley recomend the apartments to anyone looking for a break in Port Erin. My only negative is I felt that £50 was a little excessive for taking one small dog for 3 days.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phoebebeanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The weeks are flying by and it will soon be time for us to make our annual pilgrimage to the Falcon's Nest Hotel, Port Erin. We first stayed in 2009 for the TT Race week - we loved it so much we have returned each year since. The rooms are excellent - the beds are so comfortable, the showers powerful and hot and all so clean. Breakfasts are filling with a great choice. I love to have boiled eggs which are always cooked to perfection. Some days I have poached eggs to order - again cooked just right. We eat regularly in the conservatory, enjoying the lovely food. the atmosphere and soaking in the views. Falcon's Nest is a hit! Bring it on!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Visited Falcons Nest just for food. We were staying elsewhere in Port Erin. Falcons Nest, what a gem? We had excellent food, going back three nights in a row and the choice of beer and its quality excellent, Well done.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJB1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We had a really relaxing 6 day break staying at the Falcons Nest. Port Erin is a lovely seaside resort in the south west corner od the Isle of Man. Ideal for families with young children & more mature folk. We had a room overlooking the bay with a spectacular view of Bradda Head. The hotel is right on the front and is very clean and comfortable. The staff were really friendly and helpful. On arrival we were given a homely welcome and plenty of information to make the most of our stay. The restaurant serves really excellent meals at very reasonable prices and they don't charge the earth foor wine. The chef must be complimented on the quality and variety of the menu, it really was very tasty. So good in fact we decided to eat in every night.
We will definitely stay here again. Many thanks to Loretto & Bob and all the staff at the Falcons Nest for helping to make our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Best rooms are 2, 3, & 4 for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed in an enormous room (or rooms!) with sea view. Myself and 3 children. Excellent room - 2 huge bedrooms, both with fantastic sea views and bathroom. Very helpful and friendly staff. Great for kids as they can take themselves down to breakfast, off to the beach, to nearby shops etc and there is absolutely no worrying about them! It's great that they can have some independence here. I would say that this is a traditional british family hotel. It retains a traditional British holiday feel so is not the smartest place - don't expect swish bathrooms etc - but it has a welcoming atmosphere and it is great value! Fantastic beach right by hotel (down a steep path/steps in case you are not so mobile) and beautiful sunsets. Room rates are excellent value (book direct rather than through a website booking). The one meal we ate in the restaurant was absolutely fine for a family meal and good value. Great location for exploring the incredible scenery and steam railway only 2 mins from hotel. Would return if going to Isle of Man again.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizzier17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
13 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
230 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
396 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
12.8 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
12.3 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon's Nest Hotel

Address: Station Road, Port Erin IM9 6AF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Erin
Price Range: $124 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Falcon's Nest Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Falcon's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon's Nest Hotel Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing