We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel & room but no shower available!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Erin
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK hotel & room but no shower available!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed for one night, was given a double room instead of my booked single room, but found out late in the evening that due to very low water pressure in the pubbling leading to my room, it wasn't possible to operate the shower. After travelling all day, it was one of the things you looked forward to. Talking to the people in reception the following morning didn't bring any satisfaction, one man saying "what do you expect, its the age of the building" and "well, you've been upgraded to a more expensive room". I should have been given the option, and told it was a non-shower room. Breakfast was OK, but had been cooked in one mass effort, and after 30 mins much of the hot cooked items had either gone hard or were no longer hot. Staggered cooking in smaller batches would have been better.

Room Tip: Try not to get room over bar entrance, midnight revellers come and go. Also, make sure you have a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rinkydink22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    93
    43
    15
    10
See reviews for
44
99
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed the first of our three night break in Douglas and took a ride around the island which has a very laid back relaxed atmosphere far removed from TT period. Although I was here for a week during the TT fortnight the wife had never been, so it was a nice surprise for her with an almost "step back in time" feeling including steam trains, old electric trams and even horse driven trams on the front in Douglas. We had initially booked the third night in the Falcons Nest, but as my wife loved the location we booked two nights, first night with un prompted assistance carrying our luggage was room 1 boasting a very comfortable four poster bed and huge bathroom with large bath and separate shower. The second night we had room 3 as room 1 was unavailable, this has a more basic en suite but was again clean and comfortable, both had a lovely sea view. The hotel is rated as two star and makes no pretensions to be flash or sophisticated, the breakfast service was fine with plenty of choice. We left with worstening weather (staff logged on to ferry tracker for us) We arrived at Douglas and found the return ferry had been cancelled last minute so..... back to Port Erin for another warm welcome at Falcons Nest. The Island is a gem too... go see for yourself !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Although a couple of 'oldies' my husband and I were having a few days motor biking on the island and decided on Port Erin as we prefer smaller places.
The hotel is beautifully sited overlooking the bay and across to the Mountains of Morne. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was very clean with coffee making facilities.
We dined there a couple of nights and the food was excellent especially the 'queenies' scallops which I love. Good wine completed the experience and we'd go back again.
Forgot to mention the fantastic Manx Kippers for breakfast, but for non fishies there's a great selection of bacon eggs etc all cooked quickly and not left lying around.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

First time back to the Island in over 18 years, used to spend all our Holidays in Port Erin as a Child. First time I have stayed in the Falcons Nest although my Dad who we travelled with has stayed here several times in the past! I thought this was a lovely Hotel, Our room was clean, with a beautiful view of the Bay, large bathroom and clean towels as often as you wanted them. The breakfasts were great, everthing from cereal, & Fruit to a Full English, plus you only had to ask if you wanted Kippers. The evening meals were also delicious and the staff were wonderful. I would deffo go back to this Hotel and my only advice would be to ring to enquire about prices as I feel you get a far better deal and room rate etc when you speak to them direct rather than try to book over the internet!
On the whole we had a wonderful Holiday with my Hubbie & my dad, Port Erin is a lovely relaxed place with a beautiful beach that is safe for children and I feel that families with young children would love this place!!!

Room Tip: Room 1 & Room 2 are lovely rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JollyholsMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

a good bolt hole when visiting the island. hotel /pub so can be noisy with disco next door. good local food. decor a bit jaded but friendly staff.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ole12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

The Falcon's Nest Hotel is a lovely place to stay in a very picturesque town. The rooms are nice and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Brilliant food (the Manx Queenies are yummy!) and room service is top-notch.

S Johnson

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercuryrapids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights, Fri and Sat. We had room 8 which had a view of the lovely bay. No complaints at all. Staff from the moment we arrived till the morning we left, could not have been more professional, as well as being friendly. Had all our meals in the hotel. Bar food great and reasonably priced, as were all the drinks. For cost and quality it must be one of the best we have stayed in, and that's said after over 40 years of enjoying hospitality world wide. Well done Falcons Nest, see you again soon.

Room Tip: Near the beach, steam railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRDWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
12.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherry Orchard Apartments
Cherry Orchard Apartments
#2 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
12.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sefton Express
Sefton Express
#1 of 1 in Ballasalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon's Nest Hotel

Property: Falcon's Nest Hotel
Address: Station Road, Port Erin IM9 6AF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Erin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Falcon's Nest Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Falcon's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon's Nest Hotel Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing