We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“omg wow”
Review of The Arches

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Arches
Ranked #2 of 11 Port Erin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peel
2 reviews
“omg wow”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

i dont know how to begin to try and describe this absolutly fabulous place, we only stayed 1 night as a birthday surprise but the place is out of this world, the views are stunning so spectacular a fabulous way to wake up. the room was to a very high standard best nights sleep iv had for a long time, the pool is fantastic you feel like you are swimming in mid air across the bay, after a swim we relaxed in the luxurious robes provided with a glass of wine looking out across the bay.we chose an evening meal which was fabulous, Jill and Phil were fantastic hosts, so friendly and made us most welcome. a real gem of a place. cant wait till my next visit, when i shall be staying longer

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank manxjane363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
96
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent we were made very welcome. Fantastic views across Port Erin Port St Mary and Castletown. Great food. Excellent standard of detail to rooms, all are unique. It is a very relaxing place to stay. The only place we have stayed where we could really relax in the guest lounge. Could look at the view all day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Out of this world ! A great compliment, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We only spent a day and night here, but felt we had spent a week in a tropical paradise! This is a truly unique bed and breakfast ran by a great couple with very good taste. The property is completed to a really high speck and all bedrooms have a great view across Bradda Head and Port Erin. You can opt to eat there too and the evening meal will not disappoint, breakfast is included and just sublime. There is a pool which is superb as you c an swim with a view. It's with feat that I write such a good review here as I'm worried everyone will find out about this little gem, and then I will not be able to get in there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequenttravellerIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip R, Manager at The Arches, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to make your kind comments. It really is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

only stayed 1 night and wished could have stayed for longer and made more use of the facilities; swimming pool etc., we booked the blue room. such a luxurious place, jill and pete were lovely hosts. very chill laxed and will definately stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRoutledge, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
glad you enjoyed your quick visit to us, sometimes its hard to decide whether to swim, exercise or just chill out, sure you chose the right one.
,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Man
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Phil and Jill made are stay very welcoming. Jillis the perfect cook and Phil a perfect host. The Arches is a superior holiday accomomdation which we will definatley recommend to others. A beautiful house in a magnificant setting.

Room Tip: None. 5 star all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanbidge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your really nice review. It does take time and effort to do so and it is really helpful to both us as facility providers and future potential guests. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had promised my husband I would go the the IOM before we got married so for our 2nd anniversary booked this accommodation as a surprise on friends who had been, recommendation. Knowing it was going to be special from the great accolades and wonderful pictures on this site, believe me when I say - nothing can capture the essence of this wonderful place unless you experience it for yourself. And I really encourage you to do so.

It is not just a B & B it is like visiting friends, Both Phil & Jill make you feel so welcome and apart of their home you almost feel like you want to get up and make them a brew! Yet you have the freedom to use the infinity pool/jacquzzi or gym and peace and quite of the tearraces when required. The views are stunning in the day with many walks to discover but at night the soft lights of the gardens and the smell of the evening flowers bring the Arches to a romantic haven, just sitting and looking over the bay with the unintrusive skyline you cant help but feel indulged by the beauty.
Jill is a wonder in the kitchen serving up a three course meal (optional) to restaurant standard in an intimate setting with Phil being as attentive as ever in "front of house" roll. Nothing is too much trouble.
We were lucky enough to meet guests - see review below gill647- who were indigenous to the Isle of Man ( its always a good sign when the locals want to holiday with you) who where able to give us an interesting biography of the Island, but there is no shortage of islanders who wish to stop and regale tales of the islands history and they do so quite rightly, with such pride..

Lots to see and do, but don't take my word for it......DO IT!!

Thank you Jill & Phil, apologise for this review being late, but struggled with the dilemma of keeping the Arches gem to myself however decide that would just be too selfish and everyone should get to indulge in the experience.
Hope to see you again x

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelj62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hiya, Thanks for overcoming your fears of not being able to book again after your wonderful review. I also must apologise for a tardy response . We were very busy over the whole of the TT period. And what a TT . Come to Erin Del Mar !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Isle of Man
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just returned from a last-minute 2 night break at The Arches. Nothing, other than a visit, can illustrate the tranquil, relaxed atmosphere from the moment we arrived until we reluctantly had to leave this morning. Very few places in the Isle of Man are dog-friendly, but here our elderly collie was as welcome as we were and we all enjoyed the sun terrace with world-class views over the bay. The swimming pool also shares the views and was a wonderful way to relax after some stunning (and quite taxing) walks. Try the Eggs Benedict for breakfast - delicious!! Phil anbd Jill made us so welcome and it really does feel like you are staying in a beautiful home with hotel facilities. This is not just a bed and breakfast it is a experience we cannot wait to repeat - we will be back.

Room Tip: There is one "dog-friendly" room which was far better than others we have stayed in, it ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRoutledge, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks for the great review, I don't think our dog Meg even noticed your dog was there! great to meet you both, (and your dog, such a well behaved dog)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
0.7 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
239 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
368 reviews
22.4 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
609 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 17 in Douglas
387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cherry Orchard Apartments
Cherry Orchard Apartments
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches

Property: The Arches
Address: The Arches Tower Road, Isle of Man, Port Erin IM9 6PP
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Port Erin
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arches is a boutique B & B that enjoys wonderful views and faciities. It is a B & B rather than a Hotel because it is our home as opposed to the mass produced places where a guest can sleep , as opposed to a place that is worth visiting in it's own right. The indoor heated swimming pool , guest lounge and guest terraces and balconies give plenty of scope for a romantic break or simply an oportunity to rest and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arches Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing