We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUT OF THIS WORLD”
Review of The Arches

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Erin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Arches
Ranked #2 of 11 Port Erin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent we were made very welcome. Fantastic views across Port Erin Port St Mary and Castletown. Great food. Excellent standard of detail to rooms, all are unique. It is a very relaxing place to stay. The only place we have stayed where we could really relax in the guest lounge. Could look at the view all day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Out of this world ! A great compliment, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 122 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

We only spent a day and night here, but felt we had spent a week in a tropical paradise! This is a truly unique bed and breakfast ran by a great couple with very good taste. The property is completed to a really high speck and all bedrooms have a great view across Bradda Head and Port Erin. You can opt to eat there too and the evening meal will not disappoint, breakfast is included and just sublime. There is a pool which is superb as you c an swim with a view. It's with feat that I write such a good review here as I'm worried everyone will find out about this little gem, and then I will not be able to get in there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequenttravellerIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip R, Manager at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to make your kind comments. It really is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

only stayed 1 night and wished could have stayed for longer and made more use of the facilities; swimming pool etc., we booked the blue room. such a luxurious place, jill and pete were lovely hosts. very chill laxed and will definately stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRoutledge, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

glad you enjoyed your quick visit to us, sometimes its hard to decide whether to swim, exercise or just chill out, sure you chose the right one.
,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Phil and Jill made are stay very welcoming. Jillis the perfect cook and Phil a perfect host. The Arches is a superior holiday accomomdation which we will definatley recommend to others. A beautiful house in a magnificant setting.

Room Tip: None. 5 star all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanbidge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your really nice review. It does take time and effort to do so and it is really helpful to both us as facility providers and future potential guests. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had promised my husband I would go the the IOM before we got married so for our 2nd anniversary booked this accommodation as a surprise on friends who had been, recommendation. Knowing it was going to be special from the great accolades and wonderful pictures on this site, believe me when I say - nothing can capture the essence of this wonderful place unless you experience it for yourself. And I really encourage you to do so.

It is not just a B & B it is like visiting friends, Both Phil & Jill make you feel so welcome and apart of their home you almost feel like you want to get up and make them a brew! Yet you have the freedom to use the infinity pool/jacquzzi or gym and peace and quite of the tearraces when required. The views are stunning in the day with many walks to discover but at night the soft lights of the gardens and the smell of the evening flowers bring the Arches to a romantic haven, just sitting and looking over the bay with the unintrusive skyline you cant help but feel indulged by the beauty.
Jill is a wonder in the kitchen serving up a three course meal (optional) to restaurant standard in an intimate setting with Phil being as attentive as ever in "front of house" roll. Nothing is too much trouble.
We were lucky enough to meet guests - see review below gill647- who were indigenous to the Isle of Man ( its always a good sign when the locals want to holiday with you) who where able to give us an interesting biography of the Island, but there is no shortage of islanders who wish to stop and regale tales of the islands history and they do so quite rightly, with such pride..

Lots to see and do, but don't take my word for it......DO IT!!

Thank you Jill & Phil, apologise for this review being late, but struggled with the dilemma of keeping the Arches gem to myself however decide that would just be too selfish and everyone should get to indulge in the experience.
Hope to see you again x

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelj62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Hiya, Thanks for overcoming your fears of not being able to book again after your wonderful review. I also must apologise for a tardy response . We were very busy over the whole of the TT period. And what a TT . Come to Erin Del Mar !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just returned from a last-minute 2 night break at The Arches. Nothing, other than a visit, can illustrate the tranquil, relaxed atmosphere from the moment we arrived until we reluctantly had to leave this morning. Very few places in the Isle of Man are dog-friendly, but here our elderly collie was as welcome as we were and we all enjoyed the sun terrace with world-class views over the bay. The swimming pool also shares the views and was a wonderful way to relax after some stunning (and quite taxing) walks. Try the Eggs Benedict for breakfast - delicious!! Phil anbd Jill made us so welcome and it really does feel like you are staying in a beautiful home with hotel facilities. This is not just a bed and breakfast it is a experience we cannot wait to repeat - we will be back.

Room Tip: There is one "dog-friendly" room which was far better than others we have stayed in, it ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRoutledge, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thanks for the great review, I don't think our dog Meg even noticed your dog was there! great to meet you both, (and your dog, such a well behaved dog)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Arches is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in. Its every bit as good as the photos show, pity the photos can't give you an idea of how great the atmosphere is here too . . This is also a brilliant place for cyclists - we had just cycled over the mountain from Peel and it was just perfect to jump in the pool to wind down, on our arrival. The soft fluffy dressing gowns and slippers are perfect for travelling cyclists like ourselves who carry little, so this was ideal to help make our stay even more comfortable.
Phil and Jill are FANTASTIC hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. We will most certainly be returning back and will stay a little longer than the one night next time, so we can enjoy all the facilities at this first class quality accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaffyDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
12.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
441 reviews
12.3 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
12.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Southfields B and B
Southfields B and B
#7 of 37 in Douglas
25 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cherry Orchard Apartments
Cherry Orchard Apartments
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches

Address: The Arches Tower Road, Isle of Man, Port Erin IM9 6PP
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Port Erin
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arches is a boutique B & B that enjoys wonderful views and faciities. It is a B & B rather than a Hotel because it is our home as opposed to the mass produced places where a guest can sleep , as opposed to a place that is worth visiting in it's own right. The indoor heated swimming pool , guest lounge and guest terraces and balconies give plenty of scope for a romantic break or simply an oportunity to rest and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Arches Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing