We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Erin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Erin Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 11 Port Erin B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The weather wasn't exactly what we would have wished but Mont-y-mer was everything we could have hoped for! Wonderful view from our bedroom window of the bay, beautifully furnished and decorated rooms, excellent food, and an extremely warm welcome. Superbly convenient for restaurants, pubs, beach, steam railway, cliff walks, shops. Loved it!

Room Tip: There is one room which has windows on three sides with excellent views on every side of the bay and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mistermond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

We visited Port Erin to celebrate a family birthday and were really pleased to stay at Mont-y-mer. Everything said previously is spot on, the place was superb, and David & Susan could not do enough for us. They even got the sun to shine for 5 days! The sea view from the bedroom was wonderful and the breakfasts were probably the best we have ever had! We will certainly return there when we visit the Isle of Man again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard-Viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mont-y-Mer B & B for a week in the summer. The accommodation was fabulous. Woke up every morning to a beautiful ocean view. The hosts David and Susan could not do enough for us. Breakfast in the morning was anything from fesh fruit and cereal to full English breakfast! Room was modern and very clean. The location is literally a 2 minute walk to the beach and pubs. Easy transit to Douglas. Fantastic walkways/paths along the ocean. My husband and I have never walked so much and thoroughly enjoyed every minute! I highly recommend the Mont-y-Mer! Brian and Moya Bailey.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
5  Thank Moya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

My husband and I spent a few days at Mont Y Mer in Port Erin this summer and it was absolutly delightful. Not only did we chose one of the prettiest places to stay on the Ilse of Man, Port Erin B@B was amazing. Every morning we woke up to see the ocean through our window and then went down stairs to one of the best breakfasts we have had in years. From fresh fruit and cereals to hot cooked English breakfasts or tasty Manx kippers nothing was too much trouble for the owners Susan and David.
Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable with a modern ensuite bathroom, tea and coffee and fresh towels daily. Without a doubt one of the best B@Bs we have stayed in.
Thank You Susan and David we will certainly be returning.
Two very satisfied customers from Canada

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank louisepen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

A beautiful home with lovely furnishings, all first rate. The property is located in a very quiet residential neighborhood just five minutes walk from good restaurants, the beach, shops, and the bus and steam train stations.

Port Erin is a gem. There are spectacular hiking opportunities in several directions: A Neolithic stone circle, Cregneash national folk museum village, the sound between the Calf of Man, The Chasms, Milner Tower, Bradda Head, the coastal path… The hosts are avid hikers and possess a wealth of information. The hosts had thoroughly researched some local features that we had casually mentioned before we arrived.

We did not rent a car and did not suffer. The host will transport you from/to the ferry terminal or airport. He also has information on lower cost car rental options than what you will find on the internet.

The only problem we had on our trip was no fault of the B & B. When we departed the airport was closed due to “bad weather”; it is not instrumented for landings other than Visual Flight Rules. When we finally took off for Dublin, the last flights to the USA had left Dublin. The “bad weather” would not have interrupted operations at any other commercial airport I am familiar with. Use the ferry only.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j_mesick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We received helpful instructions about travel from Douglas to Port Erin and the location of Mont-y-Mer and a very friendly welcome when we arrived. Our comfortable room had a fabulous view of the bay. The breakfasts were excellent including a very early breakfast on the last morning enabling us to catch the ferry.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kronah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

The Mont y' Mer accomodation in Port Erin was absolutely fantastic. The host and hostess were lovely; they were welcoming, friendly and could not do enough for us. The accomodation was comfortable and spotlessly clean and the standard of breakfast was exceptionally high, offering us a traditional 'taste of the Isle of Man' every morning with fresh and local produce. The location of Mont y' Mer is also excellent as it is literally a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque beach. Port Erin itself is also not too uncomfortably busy, so you can enjoy a traditional Isle of Man town at your own pace without the hastle of jostling with heaving crowds of people to get a spot on the beach or a seat at the lovely coffee bar on the beach. There are beautiful views from the accomodation itself as it overlooks the beach and Bradda Head and so some wonderful sunsets can be enjoyed. However, it is easy to get around the rest of the island from Port Erin so this makes a good base for your holiday. Overall, I cannot recommend this accomodation enough!

Room Tip: A great base for your holiday in the Isle of Man
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh_Bond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Port Erin Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Erin Bed & Breakfast

Address: Mont y Mer St. Georges Crescent, St Georges Crescent, Port Erin IM9 6HR
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Port Erin
Price Range: $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to Port Erin Beach with panoramic views over Bradda head. Port Erin Bed & Breakfast is a detached house surrounded by its own gardens with ample off street parking. We are only a few minutes from Port Erin village with its steam railway, buses, shops,& golf course. The Calf of Man can be reached from the harbour in summer which offers peace,tranquillity & bird watching, If you like walking their is a network of coastal & inland footpaths to explore. We offer two en-suite bedrooms with double beds with all the usual facilities including WI-FI. An excellent breakfast is served in the guest dinning room using the best Manx produce, the dinning room has views over the beach & Bradda Head. Sorry we cannot accept pets & are a non-smoking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Port Erin Bed & Breakfast Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing