We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, greasy, brand deep fried, nuked or not cooked”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Mere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stopped for late lunch, childrens menu offered home made chips, straight from the frezzer, sausages, cheap mush just about cooked and beans. Yuck all for £5.00. My meal was chewy steak over cooked, nuked potatoes(cold in places) mushrooms cooked in butter, greasy, tomato cut in half and heated on one side, side salad covered in dressing and un washed leafs.... refused to eat it or pay for such discussing food. The cook (warmer upper) left as soon as served, no time it seems gor cleaning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossym14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_The_George_Mere, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Response:
Thank you for taking the time and effort to type a review, we always welcome feedback no matter how negative; however I would like to respond to some of the issues you have raised.
I will take them in the order in which you raised them:
we do not offer homemade chips on any of our menus. We have an excellent reputation for the chips that we serve and this is the first complaint that we've had in the 2½ years that we have been running our business at the George Inn, Mere: however tastes are subjective and we can’t expect to please everyone all the time.
Our sausages on the, Younger Persons’ Menu, are indeed of a lesser quality that those we serve on our breakfast menu and in our made-to-order baguettes: however they are supplied by the same local butcher (Wincanton) that we buy the majority of our meat from (we buy the gammon that we cook for ham; bacon and eggs from the butcher in the village, a stone’s throw from the pub), but we rarely have visits from under 14 year old, food critics.
By “cheap mush” I assume you are referring to the mashed potato that you daughter’s sausages were served with? Our mash potato is homemade and due to the exceptionally wet winter, the Maris Piper potatoes that we use (again supplied by a local greengrocer) have been affected to point where they are difficult to prepare due to the problems of drying the potatoes after they have been pulled from the ground. That said, if there was a problem with the production, I will address theses with our Head Chef when she returns from her days off tomorrow (Friday).
As I understand it, you ordered your steak, medium well to well done: it is possible that the Chef may not have left the steak long enough to stage (relax) after cooking prior to serving. This might have been due to the Chef wanting to save my wage bill by not going over her hours, and this too, needs to be addressed; however the more a steak is cooked, especially the high quality local beef that we use, does have a tendency to become ‘tough’ if cooked ‘well done’.
The problem with your new potatoes is, I have to agree is unacceptable and does need to be address when the Head Chef returns tomorrow, and for that I apologise sincerely.
Our mushrooms are sautéed in a mixture of oil and butter and, as such, will appear glistening. The standard presentation for a steak garni in the classic French cuisine is: sautéed mushrooms; grilled halved tomato; and a dressed salad of washed baby leaves (again locally sourced, pre-washed, and always, washed again by us) – with vinaigrette, possibly we should have this stated on the menu to allow for customers to make their personal amendments.
You are, of course, entitled to your opinion, but I must say that berating the bar staff and upsetting other customers is, not acceptable. If you had sort out a senior member of our team (our Head Chef in this incidence) the matter could be dealt without resorting to a diatribe in the public domain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 149 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Thank you so much for some lovely food during our visit at the weekend. Our Belgian visitors enjoyed it as well and also the lovely old english pub atmosphere.
A little confused about the accommodation, we were told it was full but we were the only people having breakfast at 8am the next day, think any double room would have been available not just the family room?

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Father's 80th Birthday with six guests. Friendly, helpful staff serving generous portions of lovely fresh food. Really couldn't fault it, other than service was a bit slow which didn't matter on this occasion as we were there for a long chat anyway. When the bill arrived we were very pleasantly surprised with the good value we had received. Definitely a place we shall return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63Beanteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great lunch break yesterday on a round trip from London to Falmouth and back. Nice choices, good food served with a smile. Only fault? One of the dominoes was missing. But, I still beat my undergraduate son. Twice. We'll be back - for food as well as pub games.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Visited the George during January for lunch. Bar Lady very friendly and helpful, food mediocre; Fish and Chips, soggy batter and grey coloured fish, no at all pleasant, chips ok. However, on paying there was a lady, who I presume was the owner/manager who was, in a loud vice bemoaning the house-keeping staff to other members of staff, not what I or other wanted or needed to hear, most unprofessional. Will not return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank brutontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just come back from a 2 night stay. I would agree with most of what Donnytone has said, bags of charm, character and qualities such as real oak beams and ceilings that aren't even, the odd window that doesn't sit exactly straight. Doors that you have to bend down to go through and a magical staircase and landing that is uneven and creaks like a good old floor should. Bedrooms were very clean and of an acceptable standard for the price. We ate both nights in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Breakfast was also excellent, good choice and plenty of it. Staff we came into contact with were helpful and cheerfull, never did meet the owners even though we had an issue with the room. They moved us no questions asked but we were a little surprised the owners offered no explanation and never make themselves known to us. But this small hitch would not stop us coming here again it's a lovely building and I would recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stopped off and had the soup of the day: parsnip and apple. It came with a really really good hand baked (I guess) roll. The service was perfect - interested but not too pushy. Location is ideal, just off the A303. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric_the_Bish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mere
0.1 mi away
Castleton House
Castleton House
#1 of 2 in Mere
220 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spread Eagle Inn
Spread Eagle Inn
#1 of 2 in Stourton
221 reviews
6.3 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Address: The Square, Mere BA12 6DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Mere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mere
Price Range: $87 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Inn offers high quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation in 8 en suite letting rooms. Our meals are based on traditional British cuisine our Main menu offer Everything from sandwiches to Prime Steaks taking in items like Ham, Egg and Chips and Warm Seafood Platters to share, a long the way. We also offer a traditional, platted Sunday Lunch, using joints supplied by our local butchers. Food orders are taken at either side of the bar or by a waitress at your table. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn Mere, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing