We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh la la”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of French Connection

French Connection
Ranked #17 of 138 Restaurants in Stourbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $45
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family run Bistro serving quality food at a fair price. Seats up to 50 persons in a typically French Provincial Bistro setting.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Oh la la”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Lovely little French restuarant in the middle of Stourbridge. All food is freshly cooked and all tasted are catered for. Very good value meals in the week with a two or three course meal being very well priced. Al a carte at the weekend - excellent food but can be a bit pricey. Owners have been there for years and know there customers really well. Not a place I would take children.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kn0wlsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    80
    30
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went on the "Chill out Tuesday" menu.
The food and service were very good and although not very full the light music provided by the pianist and singer made for a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saintstim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Owner at French Connection, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed our "Chill out Tuesday" and the menu on offer. The last couple of Tuesdays have been a bit quiet, due I think to the holiday period, but hopefully if you visit us again it will be a little busier and more lively, there will be a new menu too after we return from our annual holiday in early September. Thanks again for your kind words, we all appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best food for miles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I recently made a booking for a friends birthday and although we were a large group everyone was served on time with fantastic food, I have since been back as part of a couple and the food was again outstanding. The three course menu is fantastic value and I particularly love the vegetables they serve. For the price I think this restaurant is a great find, especially considering the price you pay in many chains for very average food. Only thing I would like is more vegetarian choices in the starters but there is a great dessert menu if I have any room left.

Helpful?
Thank Gemma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Owner at French Connection, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We try to find dishes to suit as many of our customers as we can with a selection of vegetarian and gluten free dishes, but I accept that sometimes we don't have quite as many variations as we could. We will try to do better with our NEW AUTUMN Menu when it comes out in September. I hope you will give us another try then. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Never been disappointed . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I don't usually write reviews, this is my first for Trip Advisor. My wife and I recently booked in for the new Tuesday evening menu. I had the Steak Haché and it was absolutely superb, excellently cooked and presented. My wife also thoroughly enjoyed the scallops. The service was friendly and professional. The atmosphere and ambience was spot on. I would recommend the FC for a romantic evening meal for two, or a great place for a group to celebrate, or even if you pop in for breakfast on your own, there is always a warm welcome. The chef obviously takes great pride in his dishes, the menu is always varied, interesting and well thought out.
Mr T - Stourbridge

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReviewAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Owner at French Connection, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It is great to have positive feedback, aal of us at FC really appreciate knowing when our efforts are appreciated. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

A little 'cafe' style (so not my ideal setting), but we ended up here accidently - but will probably revisit!! The service was just right and so was the food - it was HOT too! (unfortunately, one dessert was not available). I must add, the staff were wonderful, and the atmosphere was just right.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Midwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher H, Owner at French Connection, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. Occasionally we have to withdraw an item from the menu, sometimes because of supply difficulties, sometimes because we have been caught out by demand, so I am sorry that we were short on the night you visited, we will try to do better in future. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Connection also viewed

 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 

Been to French Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing