We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The French Hen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stourbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The French Hen
Ranked #5 of 6 Stourbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We did not stay over night in the French Hen but, 7 friends and I had a meal here. it was a Saturday night, it was packed and we had a FANTASTIC time. The service was great considering how full it was, the atmosphere is lovely, really cosy and rustic and the food was absolutely spot on. Everyone enjoyed everything that was put in front of them. Can't wait to go back and try more dishes.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jenm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for The French Hen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 117 of 117 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2010

Went with family for Sunday lunch. Nowhere to sit whilst waiting for tables as all tables in bar full with the odd diner, but the way it is set up means there is very little room. Wine extortionate for a glass. French onion soup tasted like packet with bovril in it no crouton or cheese and it was cold had to be sent back. Pate so rich nearly inedible, very sludgy and bitter. Sunday dinner, meat comes out seperately and by the time veg arrived ( two small bowls between eight of us) it was cold. Waiters ignore you and hover near kitchen chatting to each other. Puddings could have been from iceland and £1.50 if you wanted a scoop of ice cream with it. The bill was £140 pounds wish we had gone to a Toby carvery. Never again

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Before i wrote the following comments I did email the French Hen with what i was going to say. They did not reply and a second email finally got a response. They said their emails were down for three weeks and had lost the original.
The food and the resteraunt were excellent. However Room 2 left alot to be desired. There was wallpaper coming of one wall, floors around the bed had not been vacuumed, no bedside lights and the bathroom was as dark as the Hole of Calcutta.
I finally got a reply from the hotel yesterday agreeing with alot of my comments. Aparently new owners took over in March and are working on the bedrooms and totally refurbishing them. The wallpaper problem was due to damp and this is being done in September.
I hope these changes take place as it spoils one of the nicest eating places I have been to.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The room itself had all the expected amenities (No glasses though) but did need a good clean and tidy up - peeling wallpaper is never a good look. No bath mat, unfilled holes where towel rail has been moved, cobwebs in the room and only one bedside cabinet were also little niggles.
On the plus side the restaurant was very good as was the food and service in there. Bed was clean and comfortable.
Needs a bit of TLC to make the room more appealing.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyewhyBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Its a good job we have sat nav because finding this place might have been difficult.
On arrival The French Hen advertises its French connection. French road signs, enamel signs and ephemera everywhere suggest they are Francophiles.
The room, at £48.50, was totally acceptable. Warm, clean and welcoming. Not trendy, indeed quite unfashionable, it provided what we needed. No interior designers have been used in the production of this.
Breakfast was deemed "continental" which meant there was some stuff left in a room for us to choose from. We had some fruit.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked promising.
There was Wifi bit I couldn't connect (my problem).
There is a problem with the ladies' toilet being upstairs, near the rooms. It could be quite noisy for those needing an early night. But we retired late and it was fine.
There is nothing sensational about the place, but it is an inexpensive, pleasant place to stay ~ plus its got a pub/restaurant downstairs. Big benefits in my books!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mightybighands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

This place is brilliant! It is really close to Birmingham and yet it feels like somewhere miles away in the countryside. I've stayed here three times. The food is excellent; I've tried the rabbit, mussels and the guinea fowl and not been disappointed.

They have live music every Tuesday which was enjoyable. The decor is wood floors with old French signs stuck to the walls and is very well done. The staff all seem to be mostly teenage girls but are amiable enough.

The two rooms i have stayed in are well laid out and the beds were soft and warm. Breakfast is continental style and make it yourself but for the price it is very good value for money.

The rooms are directly above the restaurant and noise could be a problem if you wanted to get to sleep early but it dies off quickly after closing time.

3  Thank Nebchadnessar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stourbridge
5.3 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
4.5 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall Hotel
Dunsley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinver
280 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Windsor Castle Inn
The Windsor Castle Inn
#2 of 6 in Stourbridge
55 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stourbridge Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Hen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Hen

Address: Bromsgrove Road | Clent, Stourbridge DY9 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Stourbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Stourbridge
Price Range: $47 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The French Hen Hotel Stourbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing