We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Indian restaurant experiences we've had!”

Blakey's Eastern Promise
Ranked #18 of 139 Restaurants in Stourbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
York
Level Contributor
1 review
“One of the best Indian restaurant experiences we've had!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Went here with 2 friends on Friday night. Recommended by the staff at the Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill where we were staying. The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. The menu was extensive and included some more unusual dishes. When I asked the waiter to recommend a dish he checked what sort of thing I liked and then suggested 2 things and offered to bring me a half portion of each - perfect! Both were delicious and my friends' choices were equally tasty. The waiter also brought us a selection of "chef's treats" to try, including a sweet water fish dish which was superb.
Altogether a perfect dining experience and really inexpensive too. Highly recommended. We will certainly be going back here next time we visit the area!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandinkaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    31
    12
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best balti around!!!!!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ive been going to Blakey's now for the past 12 years and i have never been disappointed. you are always made very welcome no matter how busy it is and nothing is to much trouble. Its always best to book if your going on a weekend as it gets very busy. My fave is chicken dansank and garlic and mushroom nann bread,but you only have to ask and he will reccomend something everyone ive taken has loved it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have a trip to Blakey's most Tuesday nights and we are never disappointed with the food or the service, Blakey and his staff are very friendly and they make sure everything is right to make your visit to them a good one.

Thanks Blakey, Carol, Michael, Jude and Nick.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GarnerWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We decided to go to Blakeys after a rather average takeaway from an alternative establishment the previous week. You are always gauranteed an excellent meal here. We booked a table for 21.00 on a Saturday night, which was handled politely and efficiently. As the night progressed I realised we were running late, so decided to telephone the restaurant to advise them. "Not a problem!" they said. Poppadoms arrived as soon as we were seated and were not charged on the final bill. The menu is extensive with some great specials including Deem Bahar (Egg) for my vegetarian other half. Chicken Tikka Pathia (Madras Hot) arrived just as I like it. Veg rice was excellent. Saag Paneer side-dish was great but a little small. We prefer to dine slightly out of peak times as it does get VERY busy. Blakeys is first choice for me in Lye, and will not hesitate to go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_Cadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, West Mids
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Customer Service”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A friend and I went here after reading positive reviews, but our experience was thoroughly disappointing.

The food was good and the restaurant a pleasant enough setting. However, the service was appalling.

We arrived around 11pm and received the 'drunk's service' (we were anything but, BTW). Unfortunately, whilst we were offered a table, we were made to feel that we were a pain and they were doing us a favour. As soon as we'd sat down, the main guy said to us "five minutes", to which we replied we had come for a meal and were quite happy to go elsewhere if they wished. Throughout the meal, the service was poor. Twice we had to ask for paper serviettes, insisted on the provision of a glass to drink a coke and when I asked for water, I was the only one in our party to receive a small glass. To top it all, when remarking that we would be reviewing this restaurant on Tripadvisor, we were told that we ought to have booked! (Probably because all of the other tables bar two were empty!) I'm sorry, but Blakey's has to learn that treating customers like this is unacceptable. They may be good, but they are not unique. Service is as important as the meal and customers are there to be served and waited on, not made to feel as if they are receiving some kind of favour!

We will not be back and would not recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blakey's Eastern Promise also viewed

Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 

Been to Blakey's Eastern Promise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing