We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally friendly and welcoming with high standards in a beautiful location.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stourbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Laurels Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Stourbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A superb guest house with lovely rooms and a pool to boot. The proprietor could not have been more hospitable or accommodating. Breakfast, which is included was delicious and our 3 year old daughter was made to feel at home.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSD1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrived three hours late and frazzled after our satnav had taken us on miles of tiny lanes - but nothing was too much trouble for Josie - tea and scones at nearly 9.00 p.m. and the lovely warm swimming pool re-opened just for us. From other reviews you will see how popular Josie and George are and we can only endorse every word said.
Friendly, warm, cosy, spotless, great breakfast - what more could you ask. Just don't tell too many other people !!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mowblow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

With a limited business budget of just £30 I did not expect much but was surprised and very happy to find The Laurels.
Clean, comfortable, quiet plenty of parking space, free WiFi and charming helpful hosts. Could not ask for more. Added bonus of a good 2 course evening meal for just £6 extra. Only one small negative of no Orange mobile phone coverage but the host did offer their landline to use. Apparently, Vodaphone is OK.
Would defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I say again what a B&B. Stayed 3 nights and I defy anyone to find a fault. Josie & George are great hosts. The rooms, grounds are lovely and clean and well kept. Do not stay here if you are on or intending to go on a diet. J&G have plenty of info on the surrounding area, walks, eating out etc. Managed to get one swim in the pool, great after a day out. Great value. This B&B comes highly recommended. Book very early.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

When you arrive at The Laurels & are asked if you would like a pot of tea & scones & jam, you know you are on to a winner. The hosts, Josie & George deserve all success which comes their way as they go to great lengths to make guests welcome and maintain the gardens & property immaculately. The property is in a rural location roughly 10 miles from Stourbridge. There are plenty of pubs within a reasonable distance for meals, Josie will also cook for you. We stayed in one of the semi detached lodges in the grounds. A very comfortable king size bed, settee & flat screen TV. Plenty of tea & coffee making items & biscuits. The ensuite shower room was really clean & beautifully tiled. We heard no noise at all, either from local traffic, or our attached neighbours in the lodge. Fresh fruit salad & a wonderful cooked breakfast is served in the conservatory. Mobile phone coverage is non existent but there is FREE Wifi coverage (take note all you expensive rip off hotels) which is best in the conservatory. We planned to use the pool but sadly ran out of time. We visited some of the local glass making places in Stourbridge, well worth a visit. On one occasion we left our car for free at Stourbridge Junction station & caught the train into Birmingham. Trains go every 10 mins and take about 1/2 hour for a very reasonable £4.90 each. There are also plenty of lovely walks nearby. We would definitely return and thoroughly recommend The Laurels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FerringFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

A wonderful, warm welcome - we stayed with our 3 children and nothing was too much trouble! The food was amazing and very generous portions. The swimming pool is a fabulous added bonus - especially on wet days when the children are bored, or at the end of a day to tire them out! We would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The standard and value of this establishment are so high that one almost hesitates at writing the review it deserves in case it will become so full that one never gets in again, The site is ideal for businessmen travelling in the Midlands, for those touring the area and for a stopover on a longer journey. It comprises self contained en-suite double rooms set out in its own grounds, rather motel-style with an ample off-road car park. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed and spotlessly clean The owners were away at the time of our stay but we were met by their charming daughter who made us welcome and ensured that our stay was most enjoyable. One often hears the phrase "nothing was too much trouble" and in her case this was truly so. We were able to have our evening meals at the main house, by arrangement and the daughter's home cooking was excellent. The main road is close but no traffic noise was evident in one's room. Peace & quiet, comfortable bed, good cooking and an excellent breakfast and all at the modest price of £65 per room, including our evening meal for 2 ! We will definitely be hoping to visit again. Oh ,I forgot to mention that there is also a private indoor pool which looked inviting but which we didn't try [this time!]

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulnPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stourbridge hotels
4.3 mi away
The Windsor Castle Inn
The Windsor Castle Inn
#2 of 6 in Stourbridge
60 reviews
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
Rawsons' Retreat
#3 of 6 in Stourbridge
6 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stourbridge Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurels Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels Bed and Breakfast

Address: Laurels Broad Oak | Six Ashes, Stourbridge WV15 6EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Stourbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Stourbridge
Price Range: $41 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laurels started life as a family home but over the years has grown into a high standard B&B. Two of the rooms are in the main house, one an ensuite room and the other has a private bathroom across the hallway. Outside, the stables and garage have been converted to provide five ensuite bedrooms. Breakfast is served each morning in the conservatory where you have the options of a freshly cooked breakfast, cereal and a fresh fruit salad. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing