We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“21st birthday meal with the family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry's of Lye

Harry's of Lye
Ranked #74 of 137 Restaurants in Stourbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“21st birthday meal with the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I live in Australia and came back to the uk for my son's 21st birthday. My son loves Indian food so we decided to hold the family meal at Harry's in lye Stourbridge, the staff were more than accommodating by letting us put photos and 21 celebrations all over the wall and dressing the table. The food was 1st class fresh and we would recommend this restaurant to anyone, very friendly atmosphere...thankyou Harrys

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    41
    20
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best in Lye”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Been to Harry's on numerous occasions new had a bad dish. Lots of flavour in the dishes and a wide variety of choice.

Can often be very busy and therefore probably be best to book (especially at weekends). When really busy, service can be a bit slow but the staff will normally try to make amends (offering free coffees, reduction in bill etc).

The quality of the food outshines everything else

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeyp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Owners changed?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Been visiting and using the take away service for a while and seems the food quality has gone down and down.

Chicken balti more like chicken in gravy and cold chips. 1.5hrs for delivery. Used to be one of the best in Lye but now will be using another.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ColleyGateMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We are steadily working our way through the vast number of Indian restaurants in Lye. Our fall back guy is always Kamrans which we have never been disappointed with. However, on Saturday we went wild and tried Harry's for the first time.
First of all the food was OK, not brilliant all round but OK.
I had the Chicken Tikka Rushani - Very garlicky but quite nice, my husband had the Chicken Balti Ceylon which he said was lovely.
Service - WOW! It took over 20 minutes to get served, no poppadoms, no attention what so ever. When the waiter came over to take our orders, he was pretty abrupt. Maybe that is his generally demeanour but after waiting for over 20 minutes to even start the ball rolling it doesn't make a fantastic first impression.
Also, when food finally did come out, 2 of our party got served their meals in silver serving dishes, mine came on a plate.
We then had to physically go and ask for additional plates and cutlery so we can share. To be honest this isn’t the first time this has happened to us but we’ve never had to go up to the service area to ask for additional plates!

Would I return? No. To many other restaurants that offer much better service

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmoingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

food ok ,very noisey could not hold a conversation unless you shouted, rear car park a joke came away my ears are still ringing will not go again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank donny d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's of Lye also viewed

Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 

Been to Harry's of Lye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing