We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No more than average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Castle Inn

Windsor Castle Inn
Ranked #6 of 137 Restaurants in Stourbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Bar, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
513 reviews
464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“No more than average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Being generous here. Called for lunch with a friend, certainly not busy we were the only ones eating but waited for 50mins for a less than average sandwich of bacon brie and cranberry, bacon rind still on and could have broken teeth on it. Friends coffee sent back quite cold and then took another 10mins to return. Atmosphere zilch certainly neither of us would rush back or recommend

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rosie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    114
    34
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Beer and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

A great pub serving outstanding beers. (It is the brewery tap for Sadlers). The food was well presented, tasty and served efficiently by welcoming staff. It is best to book if you are going on Fridays or at the weekend. The bar does get crammed witness to the quality of the beers! The restaurant is quieter. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reynard999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A great local English Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Another visit and again not disappointed.
We visited over the Xmas period for a spot of lunch. We intended to have a lite bite but opted for mains of the main menu.
The mixed grill is excellent and well worth the 15 pound price tag. My partner opted for the lasagne which was fresh and had that home made cooked taste.

The staff are first class and very attentive and friendly.

We had booked for a Saturday night a week previous which had unfortunately been double booked. When the manager released she was extremely apologetic and did everything to accommodate. This is a busy and popular place so make sure you book early, this is a great place to eat with a great English menu and fine beers and locally produced ales to choose from.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chamone83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beer cannot be beaten!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great venue for either dining or drinking with seperate areas for both. Bar is mostly standing only but there are plenty of places to leave drinks. The range of beer is tremendous with something to suit everybody. PLEASE try something new and don't just order a pint of Carling :-( The staff will let you try a little before you buy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Cadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not so good!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My friends and I chose Windsor castle inn to go for our christmas night out, we thought good food, local to home perfect place for a ggod night out. We booked the table for 8pm, when we arrived (we were a little late) about 8.10pm, we told the staff we were here, A very nice waitress took us to our table, only to find a party of 4 sat at our table (our table had got an 8pm reservation notice on the table with our name on it), they seemed in no hurry to move and the waitress said nothing to them to encourage them to move, she asked us to wait. When the other group finally moved , she quickly relaid our table and brought us the menus and took our drinks order, After a while she came to get our food order and asked if we wanted any drinks, we had to explain that we had ordered our drinks a while ago, We all opted for the £24.95 Christmas menu, which sounded delicious, One of our party does not like Turkey, she opted for the chicken in a creamy leek sauce, she does not eat red meat and asked if the chicken was accompanied by any red meat as it is in some resturants topped with bacon, the girl assured her it was not, so she happily ordered it. The drinks arrived and so did the starters, 2 of the party had garlic prawns (very nice) 2 had soup, only one bowl arrived (they had forgotten the other one) I had the chicken liver pate (very bitter, i hardly touched it), when our starters were nearly finished the missing bowl of soup appeared. The main meals were served quite quickly, 3 traditional xmas meals and 2 chicken in sauce meals, 2 bowls of veg between 5 ( veg not too good!!) The chicken came with a lovely bacon topping on the skin, when my friend explained to the waitress that she had specifically asked before ordering if there was any other meat, the waitress, said "sorry, what do you want me to do?" "Sorry, I will change it for something else straight away" would have been more appropriate. We opted for the cheese board for our sweet, (very nice, no cooking involved!!!!). we asked for the bill, the waitress brought it over, we were a little confused, they had charged us for 5 christmas meals ( 3 courses) and charged us for the cheese boards, which hwere on the christmas special menu. A male member of staff came over to collect the money, we explained to him about the bill, no problem he was back in a couple on minutes with the correct bill, as he handed the bill to one of my friends then asked us to be as quick as we could as they we trying to cash the till up. as we are all too polite to say "if we had not had to wait half an hour to be seated, our food and drinks had all been served quickly and effeciently, we would have been out of your resturant a while ago!!!) not an experience i will be putting myself through again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank popeye890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windsor Castle Inn also viewed

 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 
Clent, Stourbridge
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 

Been to Windsor Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing