We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed visit” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Stourbridge B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

4 of us recently stayed at this hotel and we were all of the same view;.....we won't bother coming back!
When you first arrive you think; oh this is quirky! then you go to your upgraded!!!! room and wow, it all goes downhill, the more you look the more you find to disappoint. The furniture in our room was very tired and not fit for purpose, the large screen tv had a constant buzz, the curtains were grubby and did not fit the window, the dressing table chair would collapse if you leaned back,the bathroom was adequate, but could do with tiles cleaning and the toilet brush was grim!
Early evening we were surprised by water dripping through our ceiling, when contacting reception we were told; yes we know about that, the person above will not have put the curtain in the bath!! If they know, why not put a solid screen in place, surely cheaper than a new ceiling.
Our other room wasn't quite as bad but did have fungus growing in the bathroom.
Down in the bar things were a bit of a mixed bag, we decided to eat there, a steak meal for 2 with a bottle of wine for £25 was very good, but the other two meals; one lasagne was inedible due to the ingredients being burnt, when telling the waiter of this he did say sorry but then laughed and that was the end of it as far as he was concerned, the other meal was served ten minutes after the others ,when asked where it was the waiter said; there was a problem in the kitchen! Surprisingly when the food came it was very good.
The next morning we all wished each other luck...... and ventured down to breakfast, we needn't have worried, it was very good.
The management of this hotel obviously don't take any notice of tripadvisor reviews, because most are saying the same thing. This could be a good hotel if they tidied it up and trained their staff better.
I won't be going back to find out!

Room Tip: Several night clubs close by,rooms on the main street are noisy until 3am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    57
    63
    56
    86
See reviews for
45
111
26
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked this hotel for night following a day at local brewery tour. We had a great time their. Shame about the hotel. We had read the reviews on Trip Advisor and then viewed the hotels website. It looked quite nice. We thought how bad can it be!!
When we arrived we were greeted at reception by a man who was not particularly welcoming. Very direct, no real welcome to speak of. We had to pay for the room up front. We had booked a feature room as they looked nicer on the website. I was told we were in the bridal suite!! We thought that sounds OK. When we first walked into the room we thought it was lovely. Then we began to look around. The bed was OK. At least the sheets smelt clean and fresh and so did the towels. Some of the furniture should have been thrown out. Very stained and scratched. The bathroom was tiny. The shower hose was broken and didn't fit on the bracket so you could not stand under it. The shower was full of mould and so was the ceiling. The chandelier had a collection of different bulbs it looked awful. The curtains didn't pull across and they were on a collection of different hooks. No one should have to suffer this on their wedding night.
I must admit the bed was very comfy and we had a good nights sleep.
The room rate also included breakfast. We went into the breakfast room and again it seemed quite nice. Again on closer inspection it wasn't. The carpet was covered in crumbs. The table clothes stained. My partner looked at the buffet and chose a couple of muffins and some fruit loaf. You could bang the muffins on the plate they were solid!! The loaf was stale!! They must have been there a few days. For some strange reason we both ordered a cooked breakfast. Yet another mistake. You'd have thought we would have learnt by now. When it arrived the bacon was burnt and the egg over cooked and it was still frozen inside the hash brown. The food was so bad we decided to check the Food standards agency website and found that the hotel scored a zero on their last visit. This made us both feel very queasy.
I have never stayed in such an awful hotel. The building from the outside looks OK and the inside is nice with exposed beams. It's the quality of what's on offer. We were really disappointed by the whole experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stourbridge hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Lovely place, really done up nicely, superb looking bedrooms! Amazing lobby, really old fashion!!! Very nice furniture: wardrobe, bedside table!!!!!!!!!!!! just the bathroom was a bit small, but was fine. Nice views from rooms. Great cafe bar downstairs in the same building, excellent food, really nice staff, spent most of our meals there! Very handy.

Room Tip: Ask for a feature room, mine was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 601peterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Arrival at the hotel wasn't a great start as parking was terrible, but this cant really be helped. The check in process was terrible, the receptionist spoke very poor English and just stared at me for ages if i asked a question. I was shown to by room, which i cannot describe properly.

It was freezing, the windows were all rusty, the curtains were ripped, the wallpaper was falling of the walls, the bed was tiny, the room smelled of wee, the TV was tiny and had barely any sound and there was stains in the ceiling.

I was booked for 4 nights i stayed 1. i asked for a refund for the above reason and was refused, i have now started to claim the money back through my CC company.

Just avoid this place, there is no reason to stay here. Go to the Premier in in Hagley.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donal_sharkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely old building with the quirks of not a straight wall or level floor in site. The beams are proudly on display and the use of antique furniture adds to the character and atmosphere in the reception area. Unfortunately, apart for the availability of alcohol at the bar (eventually) this is all that was pleasant. In summary: no hot water, no heating, dirty, unclean, bad food, worse nights sleep outside of the home ever and thankfully only 1 night. A travel lodge is the height of luxury in comparison and this hotel puts shame upon period property hotels and B&Bs.

Upon arrival on Easter Saturday, it took the barely speaking English receptionist a while to find our booking. They eventually found it with a nudge from the email confirmation we received. We had a lot of baggage, nobody advised us where our room was nor offered to help carry our bags to the room. We found ourselves on the second floor which was Baltic in temperature, with a door with a door lock which was half hanging out of the door, into a room which would not have been out of place in a comedy show. It again, was Baltic in temperature and considering was a double room for two adults, you could barely swing a cat in. As we later found out however, the size of the room would be our saving grace from not getting hypothermia! The wallpaper was shabby, the carpet dirty, windows dirty and mouldy both inside and out, the furniture was a mismatch of 60s laminated plastic wood to cheap pine - one of the bedside tables was actually at the foot of the bed at a 45 degree angle so you had to climb over the bed to 1) close the curtains and 2) get into the left hand side of the bed. The bathroom floor was dirty, the windows mouldy and the toilet seat chipped. The major flaw of the bathroom however was a distinct lack of hot water - this remained true for Saturday and until departure on the Sunday. Luckily, I carry hand gel at all times. The central heating radiators were stone cold too for the duration of our stay. The wardrobe had its facade ripped off exposing bare plaster, inside the wardrobe was dirty and fitted with bodged shelving - it did however provide the essential tools to warmth later that evening, 3 blankets and a miniature oil radiator. We put the radiator on and ventured out for 3 hours to seek warmth and food downstairs. We presumed as a wedding and function venue we would be dining in house after a long drive. The selection of food available at the hotel is diabolical - no healthy options and chicken only present in a wing starter or coronation chicken sandwich. Surprisingly, not even burger and chips is available. We had ordered a drink under the presumption we would be dining at the hotel - another mistake we would make. The glasses were dirty and not just dishwasher splashes, they were truly unclean. It took three attempts to get a Tia Maria on ice and a glass of Pepsi with no ice - another language barrier issue. After realising the menu, we finished our drinks quickly to seek food. After a wander about Stourbridge, we found a delightful Indian restaurant instead and as it turned out, was the best Indian meal we had eaten in a long time. We returned to our room to find it still bitterly cold and no sign of central heating. The internal lock for the door was a chain only - no lock for the bolt mechanism nor the top lock. We used our blanket discovery to attempt to make at least the bed warm for us - we found them to be old, dusty and dirty but we bit the bullet out of desperation. For a double bed, the duvet size was comical - to match the room at least. Both myself and partner are slim people and we had to huddle in the middle of the bed together to both be under the duvet with nothing hanging out. The mattress was shocking as we're the pillows, we did not sleep very well with a combination of the uncomfortable bed and the cold. In the morning, we had no hot water still, the shower runs off the bath taps so it was a case of boiling the kettle a number of times to get hot water to make a shallow bath for us to share and at least have a wash. The breakfast room was cold too - when the single waiter was not looking, we relocated an old gas cylinder fire to near our table and that of an elderly couple sitting behind us (much to their gratitude) to make it bearable at least. The filter coffee was disgusting and tasted dirty so we swapped to make your own tea. There was a small selection of fruit, some fresh, some tinned, a few yoghurts and a small selection of cereals. The toast was make your own with cheap thin bread - the right hand side of the toaster was broken, the temperature knob had broken off and put back on with little effect. By the look of the wear on the broken part it had been this way a while. The cooked breakfast matched our experience, it was cheap, nasty and over all not nice. My partner opted for a full English - the bacon was fatty and greasy, the sausage cheap and overcooked, the hash brown was of the reheated frozen variety, cheap E number beans and a fried eggs that had been cooked a while ago and kept warm. I had scrambled eggs and bacon - the bacon again was fatty and greasy. I got excited for a fraction of a second when I saw the eggs were proper old fashioned scrambled eggs - this too was greasy, sickly and unpleasant after a few mouthfuls. We decided to cut our losses and hope to find a drive thru en route to the zoo. When we returned to our room to collect our belongings and check out - we found the clean bed linen and the new towels for the next occupants on the corridor floor by our door - how nice for them and made us wonder if this was true for the linen and towels we had used during our stay. We waited to check out for 15minutes and it will be the last time we step foot on the premises. We spent the day with the heating on in the car to get warm again and feeling generally dirty. When we got home that evening, the first thing we did was have a long hot shower.

Room Tip: If its the last place with a room and you have no choice? Bring your own bed linen, towels and blank...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gruffalo_Child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Well - first of all there was no-one on reception when we arrived - when someone did talk to us, he insisted I pay for the room straight away. When I asked for a receipt he didn't understand me, he fetched someone else who said that I would get a receipt in the morning when I checked out. The guy (really nice to be honest) walked us to our room - it was huge, I'd only booked a twin room and we got a room with a double bed and 2 singles. It was absolutely freezing, very grotty and a lot of noise from the main road outside. The best 'noise' however was when the toilet was flushed! - it was a saniflow loo and it whistled - the first time it happened I thought a drill was going off in the next room! The beds were comfortable - however, there was blood on one pillow (which I threw on the floor) and when I got a blanket out of the wardrobe it was covered in stains. Over night the noise from the main street was dreadful - it's an old hotel and the windows are old, but I truly believe it would have been no louder had there been no glazing at all! I know it's a budget hotel and I really didn't expect too much - just for it to be clean and servicable - places like this give the UK a bad name.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

22 February 2013 - a very cold day.
The room was bitterly cold and had not been aired, heated or cleaned for some time. I had to go out for a walk to get warm • The bathroom ceiling was extremely mouldy (pictures available) • The bathroom window frame was mouldy • Windows were filthy • Bathroom taps were mobile – were not securely attached • The ancient shower head had to lie in the tray because it leaked • We were insulted by being told that this was a free upgrade to the ‘bridal suite’ and therefore lied to. • The photos on the website do not reflect what you actually get – very disappointing.

Room Tip: I really cannot recomment that anyone stays here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stourbridge
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stourbridge Town Centre Hotel
2.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
4.9 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dudley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
4.7 mi away
Himley House Hotel
Himley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Himley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Property: Talbot Hotel
Address: High Street, Stourbridge DY8 1DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Stourbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Stourbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Talbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing