We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond perfection”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rookery Nook B&B Shere
Ranked #1 of 3 Shere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sortland, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beyond perfection”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent 6 nights at the lovely Rookery Nook in July/August 2013, and we cannot find the words to fully describe how much we enjoyed our stay. Everything was perfect, it felt like visiting friends! From the beginning of our stay, Jill and Chris made us feel very much at home in their wonderful 15th century house. We got a warm welcome with tea, coffee and homemade bisquits in the beautiful kitchen, and the joy continued when we were shown our rooms. Both of which are tastefully decorated with a very personal touch; Chris' excellent photos on the walls, fresh flowers in used balsamic bottles, decorative china, chairs with comfortable pillows, a lovely wooden tray with a kettle, teacups, assorted teas, coffee and hot chocolate, a jar of homemade bisquits and a jar of peppermint bonbons, a wooden bookshelf full of interesting books and decorative items (Downs View, but there is a bookshelf in the hallway between the rooms as well), woolen blankets and hot water bottles for cold nights and super-comfortable beds. The shared bathroom is also tastefully decorated in light blue and white.
The breakfasts were truly superb, everything was delicious! Every morning we got freshly made fruit salad, a selection of yoghurts, muesli and corn flakes, brown and white toast, coffee, tea, juice and milk. The full English breakfast was delightful and so were the scrambled eggs.
Jill and Chris were very helpful in all regards, nothing was too much trouble. They gave us valuable advice on what to do and see in and around the idyllic village, lovely walks, where to eat, how to get from place to place, and before we left, they helped us finding the right train tickets.
We loved staying at the Rookery Nook, we loved Shere, and we would love to return one day!
Dagfinn, Siri and Thea

Room Tip: Both rooms are charming, beautiful and very cosy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

this was the first time we have stayed with Jill and Chris , but it felt like we had known them for years . over a nice cup of tea on arrival Jill and Chris made us feel at home , they gave us tips on where to visit and the best place to eat then showed us to our lovely room . there home is beautiful , the room is comfortable , the breakfast is first class and the village is stunning . we would book again .

Room Tip: All rooms are good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This lovely old cottage in picturesque Shere, is a memorable place to stay. Well fitted room, comfortable bed. (Bathroom is shared)
Great walks and scenery abound, nice places to eat. Jill and Chris make you feel very welcome in their homely kitchen.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyOssendorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

It was my first trip alone. I know nearly 60 - How sad is that! Chris and Jill made me feel so very welcome Instant friends! The house is beautiful and so comfortable. The views and setting quintessentially english village. Church bells peeling and the sound of hooves outside on the road. Oh! Did I mention the silence at night.........Just the hall clock, plus friend signalling the hour. Breakfast was delicious and there are plenty of places to have dinner in the village. The walks from Shere are amazing and I believe, but I have to return to investigate..there is an open air pool by the church! Go and discover for yourselves. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Room Tip: I am sure both rooms are delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Nook 2 months ago and instantly rebooked. It's the perfect escape from the city and Chris and Jill were once again the perfect hosts. The Nook is a special place and perfect for anyone wanting to explore the beautiful village of Shere. This time I brought my parents along for the experience and they loved it too. Make sure you get yourself to William IV in Albury for a pint of Shere Drop ale and definitely book in to Kinghams restaurant in Shere for dinner. The village is wonderful and the Nook is the only place worth staying in. We'll be coming back for sure, make sure you do the same! See you soon Chris and Jill!

Room Tip: Both the rooms in the Nook are wonderful, so don't worry which one you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were lucky enough to be able book in with Chris & Jill at the very last minute and we were not disappointed...

What a fabulous part of the world...stunning scenery, cool bike trails and the warmest welcome. From the delightful bedroom & homemade cookies we scoffed to the yummiest breakfast to get us going in the mornings, we couldn't have asked for more. Jill very kindly saved my rear end from permanent pain with a pair of padded cycle shorts!

Thanks for a perfect weekend and we will be back!!!

Kat & Nick

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bondsy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Rookery Nook is wonderful. Chris and Jill were the perfect hosts, they made us feel very welcome and looked after us throughout - from the amazing breakfasts to providing us with waterproof trousers for our walks, they really do make the stay special. There aren't enough positive words in the English language to describe the village of Shere and we wouldn't want to stay anywhere other than the Rookery Nook. Perfectly located, beautiful bedrooms and great company. We arrived on the Friday night and by the Sunday morning we'd already booked to come again.

Room Tip: The Downs View room has a beautiful view and a bookcase full of literary wonders!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shere
3.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
135 reviews
2.1 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
818 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
471 reviews
3.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
556 reviews
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Nook B&B Shere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Nook B&B Shere

Property: Rookery Nook B&B Shere
Address: | The Square, Shere, Guildford GU5 9HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Shere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shere
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15th century B&B situated in the centre of this vibrant village in the heart of the Surrey Hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rookery Nook B&B Shere Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing